We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place and staff!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Great place to stay. The staff were very kind and offered great hospitality. Jackie (front desk) was extremely helpful and understanding!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Handrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdodaro, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you so much for the positive review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that Jackie was able to take care of you. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Steve Dodaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    186
    99
    41
    34
See reviews for
138
114
45
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed here only one night on a layover before continuing my trip. The shuttle service from the airport was prompt and easy to find, the front desk personnel were friendly and efficient on check-in. The furnishings are a little dated but everything was spotlessly clean. For being so close to the airport it was very quiet and restful. The free breakfast was definitely a plus in my decision to stay here, and it did not disappoint. There was a good selection of fresh items.
The location is not convenient to the city. I didn't check out the public transportation but I did find that a cab ride into the city was about $70.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalCalendarGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Perfect hotel to stay at to be close to the airport. Free airport shuttle, breakfast and close to the CalTrain line. Good value for the money if you do not need to stay in the city or if you need to travel any where between SF and San Jose.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Just stayed one night in this hotel. I would say, it's an average, typical Holiday Inn Express Hotel, nothing fancy, but okay for a place to stay the night, comfortable, safe and clean. We stayed on the 4th floor. I enjoyed the big screen tv and the Bath and Body Works shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Washroom was small, but had a nice shower, though tiny, fixtures were updated, with nice vanity and granite countertop. 2 bottles of water were complimentary. In the room was a bar fridge and a coffee maker. Room service was prompt. There were also extra pillows, labelled according to softness, either firm or soft. Parking was hard to find when we came back late that night, and I noticed, too, that the individual parking spots were narrower than usual, rather quite a tight squeeze I would say. The worst part I could comment about the room were the very sheer curtains which provided no privacy at all, there were decorative but permanent drapes on each side, but not functional, and couldn't be pulled. We booked our reservation through Hotwire.com, and paid a very affordable and inexpensive price for it. Will definitely come back, good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jovet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisVegas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Had issues with our flt to Honolulu. We had to stay close to the airport to catch a flight to LA the next day. This hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast, use of the business centre and airport shuttle. This is the third Holiday Inn we have stayed in the US. By far the more modern of the ones we have stayed in. The lobby was full of tourists. This chain of hotels is GREAT value.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietraveller035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

There is one rant at the end of the review- BAD Customer Service from only one employee who needs to GROW UP.
My husband and I stayed here two nights-Friday and Saturday. (We flew in and out of SFO) We arrived at 6:30AM and of course, no room was available- but one was available by 9AM. That is very cool!
They did take our luggage for the day while we goofed around in San Francisco at no extra charge.
The room was average with a clean comfortable bed. They had the two extra pillows I requested in advance in the room- that was a nice touch.
They also supplied two small bottles of water with the room and the local water is good-tasting, so we refilled them each night from the tap. There was one 'regular' pack of coffee...not replaced for the second day, but with delicious fresh free coffee downstairs, I only suffered a little. (I can't even talk to my husband in the morning if I haven't had a cup of coffee)
Loved the big screen TV, although, we didn't watch it much since we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The view of the bay was beautiful. Very serene!
We loved the free Wi-fi since my husband plays fantasy football and he had to set up teams...that was also a nice touch for a $140 a night room.
The bathroom is very small- but the shower has a rainforest shower head and a swooping shower curtain rod so it was roomy. The towels were horrible- harsh, scrapy and small- but very clean. This is a pretty clean place, which is important. No luxury, though. Functional is the word for the rooms. The shampoo and conditioner were the worst I've ever encountered. They smelled strongly of cinnamon and the shampoo had no foam...and my hair didn't feel clean after. Oh, well, I did bring my own since I always have a back up in case the hotel cheaps out.
The free breakfast was AWESOME! Plenty of shaved bacon, round breakfast sausage, lots of decent scrambled eggs, lots of fruit, several choices of sweet rolls, several choices of cereal, toast and juice. Coffee was hot, fresh and plentiful even at 5AM! We were impressed with the excellent service from the kitchen staff, too- they were helpful, fast and very thoughtful in quickly cleaning and replacing breakfast items and coffee.
Most of the staff were helpful and welcoming.
I asked one of the desk personnel if they had asprin in a vending machine or for sale in the hotel Saturday night. Jackie (she gave me her name when I requested it) said they were not allowed to give it to guests. I told her I was asking if it was for sale and many hotels have a vending machine or a small area with toiletries and OTC meds for sale. She said NO very loudly.
I thanked her, and as my husband and I ascended the stairs to our room, she started to 'mock me' and make fun of my request, giggling and laughing and saying , "Oh! If you want you can walk down to the gas station and BUY some" in a very loud voice. Patel, another worker at the front desk, who before this incident, was actually polite, started laughing at her comments.
Jackie needs to GROW UP and remember that hotels are dependent on their customer service. If I wanted to walk 4 blocks to the gas station, I would not have stopped to ask if she had a VENDING MACHINE or Aspirin for sale at the counter. At least, she should have the courtesy to wait until the guest is out of the lobby area and not able to hear her obnoxious, sarcastic comments. I was not impressed.
This might be trivial to another guest, but since Jackie is extremely young, and very inexperienced in dealing with customers, perhaps this will be a wake up call for her to learn about the service industry. I could have chosen another hotel in the area for this trip, and next time, I will.
Our son moved to the Bay area, so we will be visiting several times a year. JACKIE just lost Holiday Inn Express our business. Now, that may not be very significant, but, the owners/managers will have to make that decision. My husband and I are not used to being mocked by hotel staff within earshot when we are paying $140 a night for a room.

Room Tip: Bay side gets you a view of the Bay...the other side overlooks the freeway and main drag in the area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

With our home located about two hours from the San Francisco Airport we find it better to spend the night at a hotel close to SFO. This has two benefits, the first benefit is that we can sleep for one extra hour and the second benefit is that by using a “Sleep, Park, and Stay” hotel we pay about the same price to stay and park as we would pay just to park. This means that we can stay at the hotel for almost free. As an example if we just parked our car in the SFO long term parking lot we would need to pay a total of $165.00. The cost of spending one night at the hotel and leaving my car parked at the hotel for the entire trip was $159.73 plus tips for the hotel shuttle driver. We had three bags so at one dollar per bag we will spend $6.00 on tips. The room cost us $.73. Wow what a deal! I just love good deals.
We had a good night at the hotel with a solid six hours of sleep. I was awake at 3:00 am and Marti was awake at 3:30 am. We were in the lobby at 4:00 am and on the bus at 4:10 am. We arrived at the airport, checked our luggage and we arrived at the gate by 4:45 am. We board the plane and soon we are heading to Miami for our connecting flight to Quito, Ecuador.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burlingame hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
0.5 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
981 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
0.8 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
Address: 1250 Bayshore Hwy, Burlingame, CA 94010-1805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Francisco Airport South, a San Francisco Airport hotel, is centrally located to all the Bay area attractions in beautiful Burlingame, CA. It is just a short ride from our hotel to The Golden Gate Bridge, China Town, and Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel features views of the San Francisco Bay and double-paned windows for a quiet stay. Find complete relaxation at this intimate hotel with just the right location, services and amenities to suit the most discriminating client. The hotel offers 146 spacious guest rooms and suites. Begin each day with our deluxe Hot Express Start Breakfast at this contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the airport. Enjoy our outdoor pool, fitness center, 24-hour business center, free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves & refrigerators in each guest room, complimentary parking, and complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to and from San Francisco International Airport. Ask about one of our special packages like our Park, Stay, & Go Package. Don't forget to try Max's Bar and Grill adjacent to the hotel, a Bay Area favorite. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, comfortable and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South Hotel Burlingame
Holiday Inn Express Burlingame
Holiday Inn Burlingame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing