We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great HOtel with Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saratoga County, NY
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great HOtel with Excellent Service”
Reviewed December 21, 2010

This Marriott is similar in quality to other full service Marriott hotels. It is very close to SFO and has airport transportation, which is why I almost always stay here before a morning flight home. However, the service I received on this trip was outstanding - with one small exception.

I arrived to find that I did not have a reservation. What happened is that I had printed the reservation page from the Marriott web site right BEFORE I confirmed my reservation, and had never confirmed the reservation. I was able to get a room, and the desk clerk gave me the rate on the page I printed from the Marriott web site, even though it was lower than the best rate she had available at the time I checked in.

I was also able to eat dinner in the restaurant, and order items from the lounge menu. This should always be possible because the hotel has only one kitchen, but now all hotels are so flexible.

Also on the plus side, the Internet service is free for Marriott Gold and Platinum members.

On the down side, I found that I could not print a boarding pass I had stored in PDF format on a USB stick. The hotel does have a business center. They charge all guests for using the center, which is quite unusual, but only after the first 10 minutes. So, after giving the system my credit card number I discovered that their computers do not have Adobe or any other application that can print PDFs. This is amazing, especially because all the lower cost Marriott brands have computers, with Adobe Reader and a printer, available to guests at no charge. So I went to the front desk, and the desk clerk did agree to print my boarding pass, but his printer was in dire need of maintenance and the pages came out covered with extra black toner.

In fairness to the hotel, they do have machines in their lobby that are designed to print boarding passes at no charge. However, these connect to the airlines reservation systems and require your confirmation number or frequent flier number, both of which were still in my room, since I had come down only with the USB memory stick expecting to find a computer and printer.

The other issue, albeit minor, is that the bus that takes guests to the airport is far too small and not designed for the large bags that people often travel with. And the bus first goes to a nearby Hyatt that is further away from the airport than the Marriott, before going to the airport.

But, overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highcountrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    704
    233
    83
    46
See reviews for
282
370
118
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly, PA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

I've stayed here 6 or 7 times this year and each time I was impressed by the service that I received. The staff are willing to go out of their way to help you in any way they can.
Restaurants are above average with great service.
For business travelers, I highly recommend the airport marriott.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

The Marriott San Francisco Airport hotel is what you expect of a hotel that caters to people traveling on business. Comfortable room and bed but nothing to write home about. Starbucks is in the lobby and the restaurant served decent food. The only thing unusual about this hotel is that the room service menu had lower prices than the restaurant for the same dish. For example, the All-American breakfast on the room service menu included juice and coffee but the restaurant had the same price for this breakfast but did not include juice or coffee.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaiaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2010

The free shuttle makes it a decent value at the right price. Typical full service marriott. The building is old but well maintained and clean. The breakfast area in the concierge floor is way too small. Not much else to say. This hotel is built to serve a functional need for the business traveler and nothing more.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelnFamily725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Exhausted. Stay wasn't planned; caused by arrival delays to SFO. Arrived at 1am. Nobody else was coming in. Whatever rooms were left wouldn't have sold. So they assigned me the max extreme price. That was funny how that got assigned. Front desk agent informed me she had to ask what the price would be. She went to manager who was walking between the door to the back office. Manager laughed and said $219 ($250 with taxes) without getting any details. Rest of staff laughed since this was funny and I was told $219. Ordinarily would have left, but was there because I was too tired to drive so I was committed to the first shuttle pick-up and drop off destination. Got a coke at the bar in the lobby- mostly ice. That was $3.98. Got to room. Key took a while but finally worked. Wanted to check out what the rate could have been and got online. Internet fee is $12.95, but you can browse the hotel site for free. So the low end was $109 for that night. I was surprised how soft the bed was because I sat down and sank down pretty far, so that was unexpected. It was comfortable though. The lobby area looks nice and it's near the airport with good views. I travel about 2-3 weeks a month. For my $250 total cost for 6 hours, I'd rate the value at about $140. So it's about $110 overpriced. There are plenty of other higher value hotels nearby. Avoid this one unless your into low service and high costs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelterDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

I live in San Francisco, like to take the 6 am flight, so will stay at this Marriott the night before the flight because they have a good shuttle to and fro the airport. I can take Bart from the city for $8, get a free shuttle to the hotel on the Marriott shuttle, and then take the free shuttle again in the morning fromt he Marriott to SFO. So, what would be a $50 cab ride, ends up being only an 8 dollar affair (the Bart, which is the Bay Area Rapid Transit, which is the train from downtown San Francisco to the airport doesn't leave downtown till 4:59 am, so you can't make a 6 am flight). So, if I can get a reasonable fare at the Marriott, which sometimes is as low as $99 on an off night, it is worth it.

The other reviews sum this up pretty good. It is impersonal, a very big place, but the staff is very good, very helpful for all the little glitches that go on in this place. I stayed there in August and will stay again the night before Thanksgiving. They gave me a free wireless internet upgrade for some reason which I forgot, and it worked pretty well in the room.

My only problem with this place is the expensive restaurant there in the back against the glass wall. The staff, again, was excellent, but it was very OVERPRICED for what they offier. The food is decent, maybe a little above the average, but really exhorbitant prices for the area, the general class of the place, etc....there are very good restaurants in downtown SF that have a nicer place and cheaper food, so it seems like there is a little bit of a gimmick going on, like they know it is the only place there and if you want a decent meal, you have to go there.

Other than the restaurant, the place is good for what it is, a big Marriott at an airport meant for a room around flight situations.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EdwardSanFranciscoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Went to a 1-day conference flying in from Seattle at 6pm on a Thursday and checking out on a Friday, paid $246.13 for the room.

Since I was paying the rac rate, I asked for an complimentary upgrade and/or view--neither were available. Walked to the room (4098), it ended up being the furthest away from the lobby adjacent to the ice machine. The room overlooked a roof and air conditioners.

The company putting on the conference didn't bother to block out any rooms given it was just a 1-day conference, so there was no "special pricing"...but I found out another attendee paid $140.00/night, really?

OK, then when I went to go to dinner having looked up which restaurant I wanted to go to....it wasn't there, the name changed 4 years ago!...huh? Wouldn't you think you'd want you hotel information to be accurate. The hotel book about the area, "The Pennisula" was written in 2007, again, out of date.

The bed was really really soft (like the equivalent of 4 pillow tops), probably wouldn't work for a lot of people.

The airport shuttle was a nice feature and allowed quick travel to and from the airport.
The food in the lounge was quite good, albeit over-priced, the wait staff nice, but understaffed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNOHOMOJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlingame
0.3 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
0.3 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront

Property: San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Address: 1800 Bayshore Hwy, Burlingame, CA 94010-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Burlingame
#2 Business Hotel in Burlingame
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burlingame
#3 Family Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 684
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Burlingame
Burlingame Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing