We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel on the waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
USA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel on the waterfront”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel to be close to airport for an early morning flight after staying at the Marriott downtown. This is a nice modern hotel with beautiful views of the waterfront. The lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The lobby bar was busy. Enjoyed the hot wings as well as the atmosphere. The room was bright and clean. I had a view of the waterfront from my room and could see planes landing across the bay. I could hear planes taking off on occasion but it did not bother me at all. I will definitely stay at this hotel again if I need to stay near the airport.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bertha55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us! We appreciate your positive feedback on the Christmas decorations in the lobby, the hot wings and general atmosphere of Flights 101 Lounge, as well as the waterfront and airplane views. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to be able to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    696
    231
    82
    45
See reviews for
275
364
118
722
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Really beautiful hotel outside the airport. They have shuttle service to the airport. What I really liked was the trolly service they have that takes you to the small quaint town of burlingame. Its free and they have shops and restaurants there. I was their over thanksgiving, and the meal they put together was just like your mother cooked at home. They had everything. The bar overlooks the airport runway. I would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: All rooms are good, if you want a view of the planes taking off, request rooms facing the runway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpecialOps56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel! Thank you for your positive feedback on our shuttle service, the trolley experience, our Thanksgiving dinner, and the views! The chef will be pleased to hear your comments. We appreciate the time you took to write a review and we hope to be able to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Very nice hotel and comfortable rooms.

Some of the specialities are:
- Restaurant and bar overlooking the bay
- Jogging track alongside the water front
- Excellent view of flights landing at SFO airport
- Very good breakfast

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naresh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the jogging track, comfortable rooms, our breakfast, as well as the waterfront and airplane views! We appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for choosing the Marriott for your stay in San Francisco and we hope you will join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel is exactly what you'd expect from an airport Marriott, and the rates are average. What stood out for me was the staff, who were all exceptionally friendly and pleasant. That makes a big difference after 24 solid hours of travel. Check in and check out were very quick as well, and it's a couple minutes by shuttle from SFO. The entire staff rally deserves kudos for their customer service skills.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dephal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you had the opportunity to experience our exceptional staff, as we take great pride in our guest services! We look forward to sharing your feedback with our team. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

If you are not committed to the city centre - we were not - the Marriott Waterfront is a welcome haven close to SFO airport. Its location allows access to both San Francisco itself and points south such as San Jose and beyond. For me the location was ideal for watching comings and goings at the airport - a busmans holiday for an air traffic controller - and enjoying the beauty of the bay. A short walk from the lobby across parkland affords a view of the famous approach across the Bay to SFO's main runways and the prolific bird life on and around the shores.

Our room was fine but unremarkable. We avoided the hotel restaurant only because Marriott prices are rarely reasonable and alternatives were within driving distance. I am entirely at odds with the widespread Marriott practice of closing the concierge lounge on weekends. This seems to lean insultingly towards business users who, in many cases, are not even paying for their own trip to the disadvantage of, for example, Gold members who have earned their cards with personal expenditure. However, when the lounge was open (for Thursday dinner and Monday breakfast) the food was absolutely exceptional and probably the best I have had in a lounge.

The Waterfront is not cheap but it is worth staying there if it fits your itinerary.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Oram_Eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is wonderful to hear that location worked out so well for you, and that you enjoyed our views of SFO and the bay. We are very glad that the food in Flights 101 Lounge exceeded your expectations. We also appreciate your honest feedback about the concierge lounge and your room. Your comments help us to maintain and improve our guest experience. You will be happy to know that we are in the process of a full rooms renovation to be completed in 2014, featuring new, state of the art rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
339 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful no matter whom I was talking to. Most of the staff members approached me during my stay to say hello and ask if I needed anything. The hotel is very close to the airport, which is great when you have an early morning flight out. The standard rooms are your basic Marriott style, though the bathroom was on the small side. The room service menu is a bit more extensive at this location compared to other Marriotts. That's a good thing because there are not many restaurants nearby. There is also a free airport shuttle that runs 24 hours. Although you are not too far away from the runways, I never heard a plane. There is also a nice walking path by the hotel, but brace for windy conditions. There is also a Starbucks on site.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cemckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you were able to experience our friendly and helpful staff during your recent stay, as we take great pride in our guest services! Thank you for your positive feedback on our convenient location near SFO and our room service menu. We hope to have the pleasure of your return next time your travels bring you to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, CO
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is a standard Marriott airport hotel. Everything works, airport shuttle, internet, decent food and etc... Physical plant is very well maintained but the hotel is just dated. Front office staff is very helpful and welcoming. Starbucks in the lobby offers great alternative to hotel restaurant breakfast.

The proximity of this property to SFO and airport shuttle provide major convenience when catching an early morning flight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the bay and SFO runways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are very pleased to hear that you received excellent service from our front office staff and found our proximity to SFO and complimentary airport shuttle convenient. You will be happy to know that we are in the process of a full rooms renovation to be completed in 2014 with state of the art rooms. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlingame
0.3 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
0.3 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront

Property: San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Address: 1800 Bayshore Hwy, Burlingame, CA 94010-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Burlingame
#2 Business Hotel in Burlingame
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burlingame
#3 Family Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 684
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Burlingame
Burlingame Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing