We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plusses and minuses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Plusses and minuses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just like most other reviewers, I found this hotel to be a mixed bag. The lobby atrium appears to be a later addition to an older, "tired" structure. So was the wing where my room was located. It was a maze to get to and from the elevator. The view of the Bay is nice, but if your room looks onto it you better not be a light sleeper. The airport runways are active 24 hours a day. For an all inclusive experience, this hotel has more to offer than the Hyatt down the street; if you have the Marriott status, the concierge suite on the 11th floor is another small perk. Business rates are very good, but the meetings rooms are sub-par. Also, their WiFi or internet provider is a serious problem for some business computers; VPN business connections are dropped as often as several times per hour. But there's nothing within walking distance worth visiting, certainly not any of the restaurants. I have walked to Burlingame from the Hyatt for meals, to get sundries, and for excellent, locally made chocolate. It turns out you can take the airport shuttle and get off at the Hyatt. The BEST feature of the shuttle, is that it also takes you to the airport BART stop (at the international terminal, something that was not evident to a reviewer below).

Room Tip: Make full use of the airport shuttle; it's free to anyone. Go to and from the BART station at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UglyBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    568
    202
    68
    32
See reviews for
193
287
102
585
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Located outside SF Airport, this hotel is a great convention destination. No need to trek into the city. Just land, attend, fly home. The Milbrea BART Station makes it even easy for locals to get there.
It is a generic Marriott with decent rooms, clean corridors and good service. But it seems like Marriott stopped trying.
Towels were old and worn out. Soap was something Motel6 would be embarrassed to offer and the lack of a safe in the hotel room inexcusable. Noise levels at night may cause most people some discomfort too.
Not sure there are better alternatives in the area but all in all I was underwhelmed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pace_ripley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Never been a in a hotel of similar caliber and been so disgusted by the bathroom. I entered the room to find a towel thrown haphazardly on the counter and random dirt all over the bathroom -- stuff in the bathtub, on the floor, on the counter, etc. Seemed like the room was undergoing construction and no one had wiped up the dirt. It was gross and I assumed the room hadn't finished being cleaned. Took all my stuff back downstairs and they gave me a different room on the same floor, which had all of the same problems! Junk in the tub, random construction-like dust all over the counter and sink and bathroom floor, a bathmat haphazardly thrown on the counter. It seems like if the sink/tub were wiped out at all this type of stuff would have been removed, so I question the cleaning entirely. Also, the bathmat on the counter presentation seems to be deliberate but when your clean bathmat resembles a dirty towel a previous guest left on the counter your guests are always going to get a bad impression. I don't even want to take a shower in the morning. I've rinsed out the tub twice and there is still crud on the bottom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Sash242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed at the Airport Marriott Nov. 30-Dec. 2nd, 2012. This is a very nicely maintained Marriott. It's very close to the airport and has a free Airport Shuttle. My room had a view of the runway and water, and it was really fun to see the planes landing and taking off. You are not disturbed with airplane noise as the room was very soundproofed. As is usual with a Marriott hotel, the rooms are very comfortable and clean. The lobby area is very nice with plenty of seating and a lobby bar that will serve you if you are seated on the couches/chairs in the lobby. They have a breakfast buffet on the weekends (don't know if they have it everyday) that is really excellent, with upscale items like lox, asparagus tips, chicken apple sausages, and salmon cones in addition to a wide variety of traditional breakfast foods. I was staying on the Concierge floor, so the breakfast did not cost me anything, I don't know how much the buffet costs if you are not on the Concierge floor. Take not that the Concierge floor lounge is not open on the weekends, which is why I received the free breakfast buffet coupons and visited with guests in the hotel lobby. There is a walking path along the water that you can access from the hotel that will take you to several restaurants. There is a Hertz rental car desk at the hotel, but they are required to charge $20-30.00 in concession fees so it is cheaper to rent either from the airport or at the Dollar rental agency which is walking distance from the hotel, but note The Dollar agency is closed on Saturday and Sunday. It's a 30 minute drive to Fisherman's Wharf, and the drive is not bad at all, mostly freeway. I really enjoyed my stay at this Marriott. As a female travelling alone, I felt very safe and comfortable at this property.

Room Tip: Request a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patlv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
204 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very nearly every element of this experience was negative. We flagged down the shuttle at the airport, and the driver basically gave us the finger as he drove off. After a 20 minute wait I called the hotel, and was put on interminable hold. When the next shuttle did arrive, much later, the driver was equally unfriendly, and frankly, rather a poor driver. Our three other trips in the shuttle were all equally disturbing. When we finally did arrive at the hotel we had a similar check-in experience - not friendly nor professional. The hotel looks worn-out, with dirty entrance tiles, tired carpets and uninteresting decor. Many of the hotel employees were not interested in providing customer service, but rather, seemed annoyed that we were there. I imagine that this was good preparation for our room. A particular pet-peeve of mine is cheap tile with dirty and worn grout - which our bathroom exemplified perfectly. It was really rather what you would expect from an old discount motel. Room service was slow and the food expensive. However, the food was actually not too bad in flavor and presentation. The bedding didn't quite cover the bed, so my wife and I were pulling the blanket off of each other all night. The view from our room was about as uninspiring as one could imagine - "Waterfront" was not what we got to see. Listening to jets take-off rather loudly was also rather unpleasant. The "Marriott" sign on one side of the building says it best - missing a letter completely, other letters missing the cover - broken down, old hotel with really quite poor service! (A positive exception was one of the doormen/concierge, who was quite helpful) There must be better options!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulEugeneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Marriott Waterfront is comfortable and the room was clean - my first impression was that is was better than a number of other hotels I have stayed at.

But I was traveling on business as I am sure a lot of their guests are, so facilities like the wi-fi Internet connection are very important. It was terrible - it wouldn't register, then following support calls to fix this the bandwidth was close to zero and connection was intermittent.

It worked better in the lounge but I do not expect to have to go to the lounge to work.

For this reason I would only stay there again on the assumption that the Internet connection issues will get fixed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3rdimension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Ny
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Having Thanksgiving in a hotel can feel a little sad but not at the Marriott! My friends and I went on a vacation to SF and picked the Marriott for dinner. You would have never known the staff was missing their own Thanksgiving, everyone was so upbeat and nice. You can tell when a staff has been well-trained in customer service and the Marriott definitely has been. They went all out with their food displays and had a carving station with three chefs waiting. I loved all the sides! A photographer even came around to take pictures, what a great touch! My only issues, there was a woman hollering at the TV screen at the bar which I heard the couple next to us complain about and nothing was done, she may have been at the bar but we were eating $50+ dinners. Also the desserts were very commercial

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Widgeon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlingame
0.4 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.3 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#3 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
0.4 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
1.7 mi away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront

Property: San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Address: 1800 Old Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, CA 94010
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Burlingame
#2 Business Hotel in Burlingame
#3 Family Hotel in Burlingame
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 684
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Burlingame
Burlingame Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing