We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but worth the price ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel but worth the price ?”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Good hotel near SFO airport. Friendly service but expensive amenties. Good clean rooms (try to get one overlooking the airport).

Pros:
Free shuttle to airport & BART (SFO)
Nice, clean rooms with LCD TV
Nice Lounge

Cons
Free internet only in lounge.. otherwise $12.95. Considering the amount they charge for the rooms, this should be free.
No free breakfast.. Come On!
Parking - $20/day

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    696
    231
    82
    45
See reviews for
275
364
118
722
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here one night because we had a very early morning flight the next day. Proximity to the airport is the ONLY reason to stay here, and even then, I'd try the Hyatt next time. The lobby is nice, staff is friendly, but it all goes downhill from there. The room was downright DIRTY. I was really skeeved out and concerned about bed bugs (though never saw any). This hotel could/should be so much better than it is, even for an airport Marriott.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travel141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The room itself isn't bad. It was clean but was showing wear and tear. The location is good if you need to fly out the next day as its about 10 min outside of SF and just a few miles from SFO . The parking here is ridiculous for not even being in the city. Its 20 bucks a night and the lot is huge. No need for this fee. When you pull up the valet makes you give him your key even though you aren't using valet. These guys were rude every time we came through. The shuttle driver even honked at us as we were turning in since we hesitated at the light. Also we needed to stay an extra night but they tacked on an extra 100 bucks to do so even though we booked the original nights through them. This was one of the worst Marriot stays we've had.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwire25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here because we had an early morning flight out of SFO. Rather than getting up at 3 a.m. and making our way to the airport, we checked into this hotel late afternoon and got a good night's sleep prior to our trek the next morning. We used priceline.com to book and were able to secure a very reasonable rate when we named our own price.

The hotel is conveniently located and has a 24 hour FREE shuttle that leaves every 10 minutes from the lobby to SFO. It takes about 5-6 minutes to get to the airport, but the shuttle stops at all terminals - so keep that in mind when you are looking at times to leave. Also, the early morning shuttles are busy.

A few small points:

* There is no free WIFI at this hotel. Internet access is $12.95 for 24 hours - very steep!
* There is a great outdoor area outside the bar - complete with fire pits at night. Great views of planes landing at SFO. If you stay indoors, you still get great views, as the whole back wall of the hotel bar is wall-to-ceiling windows.
* There is a Starbucks in the hotel, but unfortunately it closes early on Sundays (4 p.m. or 4:30 p.m.)
* The food and drinks at the bar lounge are pricey. Not much within walking distance except other hotels.
* The pool and jacuzzi areas are all indoors, but do the trick.
* Hotel staff was very polite - doorman welcomed us every time we walked in.

The rooms are typical Marriott -nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Our room faced west, so it was quite warm when we checked in. That was resolved by turning up the air conditioner for a short while.

Overall, our stay was short, but good. I would say our biggest issue was no free WIFI, since we both have iPads, but other than that, we were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Use your Marriott card!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseekers315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, RI
Level Contributor
221 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I have stayed here several times over the years. It's a 25 year old property still in decent shape with one side giving a bay and airport runway view (far enough away, no noise at all). Rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel can be somewhat pricey so do your best to get a good rate, plan ahead if possible.
Very vibrant lobby, bar area with an in-house Starbucks. In the morning hours they have airport shuttles (a 5 minute trip) every 10 minutes. If you rent with Hertz, they have an on-property location which is ideal because it will otherwise take you 30+ minutes to drop off your car and take the train shuttle to the airport. There are numerous other airport choices, this one seems to be adequately convenient. $20 for parking, which is a blemish. No free internet/breakfast however this is status quo for full-service Marriott's. Internet speed is good. A few restaurants within walking distance but a plethora within a 15 minute drive- try the nearby town of Burlingame where you'll find several good choices. If you're a walker/runner, there is a very nice path that is pleasingly parallel to the bay, tends to get windy though regardless of time of year. If you're going to the city of SF, it's a 20-30 minute ride depending on traffic. San Jose is about 30 minutes south, again contingent on traffic. Being right off Route 101, this makes it a decent business choice if you want airport proximity and the ability to travel to the Silicon Valley area or the city of SF. There can be rush hour traffic in both directions, so this needs to be considered. Overall, a very good airport area choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edtoby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel is ok if you just want a clean place to sleep. Nothing special. Needs a little updating. Stayed here with family because downtown is so expensive. Very windy and cold. Not a bad drive into town. Bathrooms could be a updated a little. Pretty quiet and met our needs for a dependable hotel. Had take out from di Napoli on Grand one night and my daughter (12) thought it was the best marinara sauce ever! I have to agree!

Room Tip: Had a room on upper flor on bay side. No noise problem except the ancient cooling system. Room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumarielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

If one needs to stay at an airport hotel, few would be better or more fun than this Marriott overlooking the runways of the San Francisco airport. It is possible to get rooms that block much of the roar of the jets. The views of SF Bay and the beautiful walk along the water are wonderful. The room service was the most prompt I have ever experienced (one morning 6 minutes early-before my alarm!) but the food was excellent and hot. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I was attending a 1,500-person conference, which can frazzle any hotel's nerves, but not in this case. Every need was met with pleasant assistance.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators and the airport sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB_0171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlingame
0.3 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
0.3 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.4 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront

Property: San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Address: 1800 Bayshore Hwy, Burlingame, CA 94010-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Burlingame
#2 Business Hotel in Burlingame
#3 Family Hotel in Burlingame
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 684
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Hotel Burlingame
Marriott Burlingame
Burlingame Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing