We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in SFO, eat here!”

Elephant Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Elephant Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 172 Restaurants in Burlingame
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Chinese, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Elephant Bar Restaurant is a scratch-kitchen specializing in globally-inspired dishes and traditional, American fare. Our food is all made from scratch using the best, locally-sourced ingredients available. All of our cocktails are made fresh when you order, handcrafted in-house by our mixologists. Brunch is offered on weekends 10am-2pm with brunch cocktails, patio dining, and delicious specialty brunch entrees. We've kept the same, great Elephant Bar Restaurant exclusives you've come to love...but made them better, using only made-from- scratch methods and high-quality ingredients. Better menu items, new craft cocktails, new wine list, and new brunch cocktails. We've completely evolved.We can't wait to see you soon!
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stuck in SFO, eat here!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our flight was cancelled so we stayed at the Westin and had a stewardess recommend the Elephant Bar. Its about a 5-10 minute walk down the road by the bay to the restaurant. We sat at a window table and watched the planes land which was fantastic. You'll have an unobstructed view of SFO.

The food is good. I think 3 out of 4 of us had a stir-fry kind of dish. All were tasty with plenty of vegetables. There was a great mixture of people--families, couples, etc. Our children thought it was pretty neat. I'd strongly recommend it especially if you are stranded at SFO!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WCO6Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    272
    149
    42
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ideal for happy hour”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Good appetizers and dishes; favorites: ahi tuna, chicken marsala, artichoke dip and burger especially. We bring our wines and corkage fee is pretty reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChitoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place by airport”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Had a few appetizers. Salmon tempura was very good, and the asian tacos. Avoid app. sampler especially the coconut shrimp.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank scholl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Elephant Bar”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Elephant Bar in Burlingame, CA (right by SFO airport) is fantastic. The restaurant has a great view of water and planes coming for landings. The atmosphere is absolutely wonderful. It is great for kids (my son included) because they get to enjoy seeing the planes.

The food quality is good and well prepared. I have never had to return a dish.

The server staff is the only hit or miss. Most of the time I have had great service from the server staff. Really friendly, accurate and have great smiles. The only exception was the last trip, which was medicore. It took the person a long time to get our drinks and take our order. The person didn't really come by to ask how our food was. But, the atmopshere was still very nice and made up for it.

All that said, overall, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GSteuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Right on the bay - great location.”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had cocktails at the bar and a couple appetizers. Busy place, I think in large part due to the bay front location and it's proximity to some hotels. Cool circular bar with tables around the ring. An OK draft beer selection, mostly national brands with a couple local California craft brew selections. The food was good and the menu is has plenty of items.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Elephant Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing