We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bay view - Average food”

Elephant Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Elephant Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 171 Restaurants in Burlingame
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Chinese, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Elephant Bar Restaurant is a scratch-kitchen specializing in globally-inspired dishes and traditional, American fare. Our food is all made from scratch using the best, locally-sourced ingredients available. All of our cocktails are made fresh when you order, handcrafted in-house by our mixologists. Brunch is offered on weekends 10am-2pm with brunch cocktails, patio dining, and delicious specialty brunch entrees. We've kept the same, great Elephant Bar Restaurant exclusives you've come to love...but made them better, using only made-from- scratch methods and high-quality ingredients. Better menu items, new craft cocktails, new wine list, and new brunch cocktails. We've completely evolved.We can't wait to see you soon!
atlanta
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice bay view - Average food”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Pros:
1. The restaurant has a very nice panoramic view of the bay.
2. Menu has a good variety of different cuisines
3. Reasonable prices
4. Fast service

Cons:
I ordered Grilled Salmon and Stir Fry. I asked to not have the Mandarin sauce poured over the salmon.
What I received was the Mandarin sauce poured over everything. The salmon had a good hot temperature but the bed of veggies and rice were room temperature.
I only ate the salmon, paid the waitress and left.

Unfortunately, if staying at one of the airport hotels, options for food is very limited l

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank twillis600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    264
    146
    40
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Convenient and good value”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was staying at the Marriott next door so I ate here two dinners and one lunch. the food was very good, but the service was spotty. In the dining room it was almost non-existent. We rarely sw our waiter and had to wait for everything. In the bar, the service, including food, was excellent. Most of the food has an Asian fusion bent, but there is a good variety of dishes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLKfromIda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
381 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Corporate idea of a "good" restaurant”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is one of the new trend of restaurants which is a business concept first with food as a"product". The setting is nice- on the bay with a view of landing airplanes at SFO. The place itself had a lot of money invested into it. The service people are well trained, but in a "one size fits all" kind of way. The menu LOOKS delicious. They try to meet any food preference you may have. You want chinese ? no problem Italain? here it is... Asian-fusion? got that too....etc. etc. All of it well photographed and deliciously described. Prices seem reasonable. And then there is the food itself - basically a bunch of mediocre, out of the can stuff with boring run of the mill sauces. No fresh or exciting taste in sight. I am sure it was carefully designed to look good and cost as little as possible. But it is truly average at best. The place is a soulless restaurant equivalent of a box store at the mall. It is very popular with people who obviously don't expect much from their food and for someone brought up on CHicken Nuggets it can feel as a real ste up, but if you love real food - go somewhere else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient to airport hotels”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Bay Landing Hotel, so this restaurant was very convenient to walk over to. The food is ok, nothing to get excited about, service was good, bartenders were good. We had a drink at the bar while waiting for our table.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimbo889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco area, CA
Level Contributor
193 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food, busy atmosphere, call ahead to put in your name.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The food is pretty good here. We usually go on a weekend which means it is busy! They do not take reservations, but if you call as you are leaving home they will put you into the waiting list. We always just wait in the lively bar area, even when our kids were younger, and we order drinks and an appetizer while we wait. TV's for watching sports, beautiful view of the bay/airport, within walking distance to all the hotels.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjansenavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Elephant Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing