We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel for Airport Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 24, 2014

If you find yourself in the middle of a long stop over, this place can serve you as a shelter. This is an airport hotel and is just ok for a bed for one night. The place is old and looks like it requires lots on maintenance and urgent face-lift to get up Crowne standards. Bathrooms are outdated too, and does not provide enough pressure in the shower.

On the good side, staff is very friendly and informative. The hotel provide free shuttle to the airport and to the local shopping area. Beds are comfortable. Again, if all you need is to rest after a long trans pacific flight, this place might do the job, providing and good bed, tv, decent ac, a shower and a toilet. I booked it because I found an 80 USD per night deal. I would not pay more than 99 per stay.

Tip: Open Crowne membership account to get the free Wi Fi, Otherwise they will charge you 9.99 per day.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms on the highway side. Otherwise, you will feel like in front row at a Nascar rac...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank XORDEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear XORDEP,

Thank you so much for taking your time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted to hear you found our staff to be friendly and informative during your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary airport shuttle; as well as the complimentary Burlingame Trolley. I’m sorry to hear that we didn’t quite meet your expectations for a Crowne Plaza. Rest assured we are taking all necessary steps to ensure that our guests all have positive experiences during their stay with us. We’ve taken the first step and have begun our hotel renovations. We are very excited about the renovations we have planned and would love for you to come back and experience the changes when they are complete. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

With Warmth and Hospitality,

Brendan Dixon-Beckett
General Manager

T: 6503737001
E: Brendan.Dixon-Beckett@interstatehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 738 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Close and convenient to the airport. The staff are fairly helpful and accommodating.

The rooms are rather small and outdated. I would expect a Crowne Plaza to be of a higher caliber. Seems like an old Holiday Inn to me.

The restaurant is nice and the food quite good. A co worker had breakfast and stated the food then was mediocre and extremely overpriced.

I will return to a Hilton property on my next visit here to SFO.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Ian P,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are delighted about your positive comments with our convenient location. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable guest experiences and on this occasion we apologize we did not exceed your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wow, I have never experienced such poor placement of a hotel as this one. If we hadn't arrived at midnight and were totally exhausted we would have had the energy to relocate for the night. Our room was quite expensive ($300+) but luckily we used mileage points or I would have demanded our money back. Our suite was facing the freeway; unbelievable level of noise in the room. I think the actual freeway lanes were within 100 yards. We could hear the trucks and cars zooming by even with earplugs. I'm not sure how this hotel has managed to stay in business without installing soundproof windows like other SFO hotels we have stayed in. I can only think that the rooms on the other side of the hotel must be less affected. Best avoid this hotel if you actually want to sleep.

Room Tip: Request room as far away from freeway as possible.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank pepperanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear pepperanella,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hotel is not quite up to Crowne Plaza brand; however, the best I've ever seen for having two chairs which allow people with ambulatory problems to easily enjoy the hot tub and pool. So excellent for elderly or those with some physical problem.

Good service.

Freeway noise in the rooms was not good. Dirty windows.

Could not find out about shuttle service to get there; however, they have an extensive shuttle and excellent service.

Overall, ok.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from freeway noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

During our family tour through California the Crowne Plaza was our last stay. We chose the Crowne due to its close proximity to the airport plus the fact it was so close to the city ( 30 min drive). The staff was very friendly and helpful from our arrival. Noticed our younger children ( 8 and 10) and moved us to a room that was more comfortable for us.This room was not available when we had booked on line. This effort of asking us if we were happy did not stop there. Every day we were asked if our stay was going well. CJ one of the employees was remarkable! He went above and beyond to be sure that we would be returning guests. Look forward to coming back next year. Thanks again CJ and all the staff at the Crowne, Burlingame.

Room Tip: Corner suite was quiet since the elevators were further which meant less traffic.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prinder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is a less than 10 minute drive to the San Fran Airport. It's right off the interstate, so it makes it easy to really get around. For work (traveling in and out of the airport late at night/early in the morning) this hotel is pretty good. There's also a free shuttle to the airport.

The rooms are nice. They are big for San Francisco. I had some trouble getting the AC to work properly at first, but was able to get it resolved. Rooms are updated, bed was very comfy, and the bathroom was spacious.

There's a restaurant in the hotel. I didn't eat there, but had some wine one night. The restaurant is pretty big with a spacious bar, but you really feel like you are in a hotel. There is a glass wall separating the restaurant from the lobby hallway, which reminds you that you are in a hotel.

The one downfall is there is nothing really close by to this hotel. You can't walk to restaurants or shops, and even within a very short drive there's not many options. If you are going to San Francisco for fun or a longer trip I would recommend staying in an area that offers more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel has lots of facilities, pool, spa, gym and so on. We lived on the tenth floor, there wasn't much view, but the room is clean and big, the beds were comfy, pretty nice! It is also located near the airport, there is also a small town which is about 10-20 mins drive. It's a really good hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Cam C,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and were able to take advantage of our location proximity to the downtown Burlingame area. If you are ever back in the area, we would love to have you stay with us again.

With Warmth and Hospitality,

Brendan Dixon-Beckett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burlingame hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,012 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
1.0 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport

Address: 1177 Airport Blvd, Burlingame, CA 94010-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range: $122 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport is located next to beautiful Bayside Park just 15 miles from Downtown San Francisco and less than 2 miles from SFO. Featuring free Airport Shuttle Service as well as free Shuttle Service to/from Downtown Burlingame, free Super-Fast WiFi, Indoor Pool, 24hr Fitness Center, and the West Bay Cafe, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, IHG, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport - Burlingame Hotel Burlingame
Crowne Plaza Burlingame
Crowne Plaza Hotel Burlingame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing