We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Windows leaks cold air” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Windows leaks cold air”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We got stuck at SFO for the night due to United Airlines incompetence. United put us up in this hotel as well as the other 5 people in line before and after us.

Rooms: The windows were leaking cold air. The interior is dated. The dresser had black and wood color with different sized drawers. We moved our beds so that the kids could have a bed against the wall and it was apparent that it was rarely, if ever, cleaned. We didn't even have an ice bucket in 1 of our rooms. The heater blew warm air for about 5 mins and then we had to stop it because it started blowing cold air. We didn't call down to the front desk because they said they were fully booked and more honestly, we were just too tired to care after our 4 hour fiasco with United Airlines. But on a good note, the rooms were quiet and we couldn't hear any neighbors or street noise even being on the 2nd floor.

Staff: The lady checking us in seemed like she had a long day but the concierge was super nice. We wanted to grab some fast food so he called them to see what time they were open til and found a pharmacy in the area. We ran up to our rooms to change and when we were ready to go, he had a cab waiting for us.

Location: 15min shuttle ride to and from SFO.

Value: I didn't even pay and I felt ripped off. Maybe that is the norm with rooms in the $99 range, but I have found much better in that price range.

Reason for stars: If it wasn't so close to the airport and the concierge wasn't so nice, it would be getting a 1. I have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years and this is probably one of the less attractive ones.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feedthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan D, Assistant General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Feedthetraveller,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the condition of your room and the windows. Rest assured we are working to correct those issues as quickly as possible.

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our Concierge staff at the Crowne Plaza Hotel they are certainly a great asset to our hotel and our guests alike and I will make sure to recognize them for their efforts.

Thank you again for sharing this information with us and affording us the opportunity to improve our property further. Should you ever be returning to the area please feel free to contact me directly and I would be more than happy to make sure your stay is perfect!

With warmth and hospitality,


Brendan Dixon-Beckett
Asst. General Manager
Direct: 650.373.7054
Email: bdbeckett@sfocp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    228
    173
    97
    59
See reviews for
118
122
66
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Bad smell, cold room, noisy freeway,cold showers, blocked bath tub, drawer with a mind of its own, nasty receptionist(Leila), unfriendly security staff, lousy breakfast!

Only good thing was the driver of the shuttle bus he looked like a little helpful elf on our departure from the hotel on Christmas Eve. Luckily I managed to shower at the airport upperclass lounge which we chose to upgrade to as we didn't get much sleep at the hotel and chose to sleep on the plane.

This was a bad hotel to stay at on our last day in America!! Would not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leylahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Leylahni,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with the noise as well as our facilities and services. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We used the hotel to overnight near the airport due to an early morning flight out of SFO.
Check in was quick, efficient and friendly. The clerk said they would put us in a very quiet area of the hotel.
We were upgraded to the 8th floor. When getting to the 8th floor - the carpets were clean and looked new. When walking to our room there was a sign that said we were entering the quiet zone. The sign noted that they promised not to put any marching bands or cheerleaders in the area.
Although the room was extremely nice, clean and amenities were very nice - the room was a little small. We did order room service, and although they charge 21-23% service fees for room service, the service was quick and the food was good. They offer free shuttle service, starting at 4AM - which was perfect since we had a 6AM flight out. The shuttle driver was very helpful and nice.
I would definitely patronize this property in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrior2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norval N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear roadwarrior2_11,

Thank you for your kind words, We are happy to hear you had a great experience and that our hotel met your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Norval Nelson
General Manager
650-373-7001
nnelson@sfocp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I arrived at 11pm. there was no concierge pr luggage trolley so we pushed 6 cases to our room on floor 8.

The room had a strange smell - like smoke or burnt ash. the drawer in the cabinet kept opening on its own. I requested a change & the new room had the same smell. I asked frontdesk to move me to any room without a smell. I found the receptionist rude - that I was the only guest with an issue with the smell. (I wish I had read the review of 5 dec)

It is not my responsibility to check room to room (5 times) to report the smell. Surely housekeeping should inform frontdesk and make these rooms unavailable.

I settled on a room on floor 9 that smelt the least - the corridor smelt as did the furniture ; I wanted to check out some late night sights rather than spend the few hours i had in SF arguing with a rude receptionist and fed up security guard who was assigned to take me room to room.

The room was very cold; the air conditioning was causing the smell to intensify. The windows couldn't be opened and they weren't sound proof. So the noise from the highway was loud to keep me awake most of the night.

The hot water in shower took forever to heat up and the pressure was so weak that I preferred to shower at the airport later.

I was offered complimentary breakfast - the pancakes were partly uncooked and chewy, the strawberries and melon was unripe & the fruit bowl featured pineapple core that is normally binned.

The only thing right about the hotel was the shuttle bus guy who had a lovely smile & behaviour.

I was supposed to have a late checkout but I couldn't stay any longer

This is a hotel from hell.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sâmir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Sâmir B,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Hotel a little bit away from the international airport of SFO.
In this area are a lot of hotels, airport hotels.
Free shuttle bus from the airport.
I don`t like this hotel: location, rooms, restaurants, breakfast buffet - this all are expensive.
Ok for one night (I was waiting for my connecting flight to Honolulu) but not more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMiles30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norval N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear MichaelMiles30,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize that our hotel fell short of your expectations. We will use your comments as a tool and use them to better improve ourselves. If there is any further information you would like to share with us about your stay, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Norval Nelson
General Manager
650-373-7001
nnelson@sfocp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here twice and twice I went away without being upset about "something" the hotel did or did not do ... so I give a "A- OK" .. Will go back if in the area for a stay . The restraurant is very good if sometimes understaffed ,,, get the Jumbo Prawns ,, They Rock

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deadfreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norval N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Deadfreds,

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that our hotel met your expectations. We are also very happy to hear you enjoyed some great prawns while dining in our restaurant. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Norval Nelson
General Manager
650-373-7001
nnelson@sfocp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

One of the worst Crowne Plaza's and in fact hotel I have ever stayed.
Rooms and decor are outdated... shabby, stained carpeting in the rooms. Stained curtains. Outside hotel windows are filthy. Furniture old, chair upholestry tattered and frayed.
Poor water pressure in bathroom..
Worst of all is if you stay on the side of the hotel that has the kitchen, even 8 floors up,, the fumes from the kitchen flow right into your room.. greasy burnt smell permeates in the room.
Hotel needs a major renovation....pretty poor reflection of Crowne Plaza brand.

Room Tip: stay in the even number rooms to avoid the kitchen smells.. but then your are closer to 101 highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankk1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norval N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear frankk1220,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your experience while staying at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We are in the final planning stages for our complete renovation, which includes a complete upgrade of all sleeping rooms and public areas. We welcome any feedback that will provide us with opportunities to make our hotel a more enjoyable place to stay. We hope you will consider staying at the hotel in the future so you may be able to experience the improvements we have made.

Sincerely,

Norval Nelson
General Manager
650-373-7001
nnelson@sfocp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burlingame hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
1.0 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport
Address: 1177 Airport Blvd, Burlingame, CA 94010-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport is located next to beautiful Bayside Park just 15 miles from Downtown San Francisco and less than 2 miles from SFO. Featuring free Airport Shuttle Service as well as free Shuttle Service to/from Downtown Burlingame, free Super-Fast WiFi, Indoor Pool, 24hr Fitness Center, and the West Bay Cafe, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport - Burlingame Hotel Burlingame
Crowne Plaza Burlingame
Crowne Plaza Hotel Burlingame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing