We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst shower head”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything was ok except the water from the shower head way too little. Can't even wash my hair properly. Free shuttle service to the airport, and was quick and frequent. Tv in the room was a bit old and volume was bad. Room service is not 24 hrs and t stops at 11pm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Sylvianni,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am pleased that you have given us high scores on Location, Sleep Quality, Cleanliness and Service. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so. However, I would like to apologize apologize for any inconvenience the bathroom conditions may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 759 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here only for one night as we were going to leave SF. The hotel is near the airport and there was a free shuttle service that we used for going to the airport. Our room was quite big, and we didn't encounter any problems at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank_Jr_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norval N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Frank_Jr_II,

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Norval Nelson
General Manager
650-373-7001
nnelson@sfocp.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

For my corp rate of $135 per night, I do not expect duct tape on the guest room floor carpet (floor #4) as well as tissues and debris littering the hallway... I was also disappointed to be told by the front desk agent, Charles, that I could not request to NOT receive a daily newspaper. This apparent "service" is apparently mandatory for Priority Club members... so much for trying to conserve paper and go green.

However, my greatest challenge - and the determining factor to whether I return - was my experience in the hotel lounge. I arrived with a colleague to sit at an empty bar. While very quiet (Monday night, 10pm, 9/24), the bar top was dirty with sticky food items. I ask the bartender (Rowena) to wipe it off and she grabbed a handful of bar napkins and brushed over the area... needless to stay, the sticky stain remained. When our bill came, it was $15 (two glasses of wine). My colleague left a credit card and I inserted $10 cash. Rowena returned the folder with a credit card authorization slip for $15 and no cash. When we questioned her, she advised us that she "assumed" it was a tip for her as that is what her "other customers often do". Really?? I find it hard to believe that ANYONE at the Crown Plaza Burlingame leaves Rowena a 75% tip!! She continued to defend herself by rudely telling us that we had not advised her any differently (umm, she couldn't ask if she didn't understand what is typically pretty normal for other servers). When we requested that she simply refund the card, recharge $7 on it and provide the change from the $10 bill to pay for the second glass (as necessary for our expense accounting), she claimed it was not possible in the system and couldn't I just "pay my friend the $10 and leave it on her card", etc. etc. She even told her colleagues (two males) that "this is CRAZY!" Amazingly, after nearly 10 minutes and lots of mumbling under her breath, she finally refunded the original charge (although she could not provide a receipt so hoping that the refund is truly accurate).

In an economic climate with so many service-oriented people willing to work, I am appalled that Rowena continues to represent Crown Plaza. I am certain there are more service oriented, professional job seekers in the Bay Area. As a former restaurant owner and hotel manager, I believe there is absolutely no excuse for rude, accusatory service and blaming the guest.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLLTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear LLLTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of our hotel. I am glad that you found our location satisfactory enough for your needs. I regret your experience at our lounge and would like to offer my deepest apology regarding your experience with our staff. Rest assured the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

do not accecpt a room on the top floors as they are only single glazed and you can hear the freeway outside your window. I got room 234 and that was reasonable. For some reason it is telling me i have to have 200 characters as a minimum in this review hence the extra words

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank dp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear dp123,

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience due to the outside noise. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences and your comments will certainly be looked into.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hot/cold cups provided for beverages in our room were faulty and or flawed. Hot tea spilled on both my wife and daughter. After paying a $18.00 parking fee I was locked out of the parking lot prior to my departure. I brought this to Managements attention, only not to be taken serious. I will not stay at this chain ever again as my family travels on a regular basis.

Sincerely,
Raymond L. Baldonado

Room Tip: Stay at another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAYMOND B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear RAYMOND B,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for four nights. It was ok. The room was a little small and dated. We were able to use the airport shuttle to get to the rail system which enabled travel to downtown. If you need a place to sleep, the price was right and the staff was pleasant and helpful.
Think "airport hotel" and you wont be dissatisfied.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hofman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norval N, General Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Hofman24,

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you encountered no problems during your stay. Please know that we strive to give each of our guests a great experience and if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable upon your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Norval Nelson
General Manager
650-373-7001
nnelson@sfocp.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We've stayed here a few times before and a couple of years ago, the property was under new management and seemed to be improved despite the poor reviews it received back then. Fast forward to now and once again the the property is under new management (or was recently bought) and this time, the staff seemed like they didn't want to be there or was just disgruntled about working. David, the person who checked us in didn't even have our confirmation number on-hand and was going to overcharge us as if we had walked in w/out a reservation. When I figured out the overcharge and called the front desk, he told me to print out my reservation, and walk it down to the front desk. I asked him if I could just show him my email and he said that he needed it to be printed out. Huh? That was the start of our stay at this hotel.

My husband called room service requesting some plates and forks and my husband said the person on the phone sounded like he didn't even want to be there. This is such a big difference of experience from what we've had in the past. The only reason I'm giving two stars is because Leila, the night front desk clerk, was the only person who seemed to care about her job and she helped get the overcharge sorted out.

Lack of customer service will kill a business, especially a hotel. We were scheduled to stay here again soon but I just canceled the reservation and decided to pick one of the many hotels along Old Bayshore Highway or Airport Blvd. We're paying almost $100 more at another hotel but if that $100 means a better experience and happier employees, than it's worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank mktg_vixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear mktg_vixen,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad you were satisfied with the assistance provided by Leila during your stay and that she was able to address your billing concern. My deepest apologies for the disappointment and issues you had with the service. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burlingame hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
0.9 mi away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Francisco Airport (SFO) - Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport

Address: 1177 Airport Blvd, Burlingame, CA 94010-1909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range: $90 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport is located next to beautiful Bayside Park just 15 miles from Downtown San Francisco and less than 2 miles from SFO. Featuring free Airport Shuttle Service as well as free Shuttle Service to/from Downtown Burlingame, free Super-Fast WiFi, Indoor Pool, 24hr Fitness Center, and the West Bay Cafe, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport - Burlingame Hotel Burlingame
Crowne Plaza Burlingame
Crowne Plaza Hotel Burlingame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing