We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far from town close to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Certificate of Excellence
Juazeiro do Norte
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Too far from town close to airport”
Reviewed December 6, 2009

If you're looking to see San Francisco sights don't stay here. Stay in town. Drive is far and congested.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    297
    97
    27
    22
See reviews for
244
197
59
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

The hotel is very clean and up-to-date. I used the business center, and they had it well-supplied with items I needed. The breakfast had very good choices. The hotel is in a good location if you are flying. The only glitch we had--we had made reservations for two beds. When we got to the room with all of our things, there was one. I went down to the desk, and the clerk immediately apologized and gave us a new room on the same floor. He also handed me a jar of macadamia nuts because we had been inconvenienced. The price was good, I felt, for a location near the airport.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed at this hotel as a stopover prior to an Asian trip. We were picked up by free hotel shuttle at the airport. Check-in was easy and the staff offered us great suggestions for dinner. Our room was large and spotless. We had overpacked and were going to send extra baggage back home, but when I told the staff about it, they volunteered to hold our luggage until our return three weeks later. The next morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast in their beautifully appointed breakfast room. The breakfast is included in your stay rate.
The airport has a Bart station so we took the hotel shuttle and went into the City prior to our leaving for our trip.
Upon our return three weeks later from Hong Kong we were warmly greeted, given our left luggage and immediately given a room although it was early morning pre-check in.
We were more than happy with this Hampton Inn, and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We chose this Hampton Inn due to its proximity to the San Francisco Airport (we had a really early flight.) I am glad we did. The hotel was very clean. The rooms were spacious. Our room had a microwave and small refrigerator so we could prepare breakfast before we left (we had to leave before the free continental breakfast at 6 am).
The hotel was only one mile from the airport and we actually had a view of the bay from our window. The staff made sure that if we needed anything it would be taken care of.
The only down side is the hotel didn't have a pool. Since we were staying for one night and leaving early this didn't matter.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlannedSpontaneity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

If you don't mind driving, then this is a GREAT hotel choice in the SF area. The hotel is about 20 minutes in medium traffic into SF city center. I've driven the route on the weekend and weekday mornings and nights.

There's an In-n-Out very close by. There's also a Hawaiian BBQ and Panera in the same mall.

The hotel has very good staff (front desk, housekeepers, dining area) and most are professional. There is free breakfast - 2 choices of hot items, variety of breads, cereals, muffins, danish, fruits, juices, coffee, tea. Very clean and great dining area. Night time there are complimentary cookies at the front desk.

Rooms are good. They're clean and newer than most hotels of the same class. The HVAC unit is new and works well. There's free in-room WIFI. The beds are good - they're a little on the softer side but good. There's three pillows ranging in firmness. The comforter and sheets were white and clean. The bathroom was clean as well. Newer toilets and shower heads. Good water pressure. No vents in bathroom, tho. Also, bathroom door is on an automatic closer - we propped it open.

Gym is small. One piece of treadmill (broken), stairmaster (good), stationary bike (didn't use), and set of dumbbell (broken). Also, variety of medicine balls. Water and towels provided.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roberee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
170 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I actually booked my stay at this hotel under the misapprehension that this highly-rated hotel was one of the nicest properties available near the airport. One should always remember that the ratings system really are about whether a particular property offers value relative to its offering.

Once I thought about the rating, having arrived at the hotel, however, the high ratings seem fair - just remember that the Hampton Inn brand is the no-frills version of a Hilton hotel. The room is large, clean and has all the essential amenities one expects. The breakfast was basic but reasonable and nicely presented. It wasn't especially memorable, but perhaps what one can say is that the standard actually seems high given that most guests are probably transient for just one night and don't often return. I thought it was a pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Public_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Just south of SFO there are a number of "airport" hotels. The Hampton Inn is very satisfactory, but nothing special. It is quite inexpensive (especially by San Francisco standards). It is lacking in ambience -- basically a two-story motor lodge, where you park next to your room. (So it a very easy in & out.) However, right across the street (Old Bayshore Hwy) is the parkway running along the SF Bay marshes and a very nice Marriott. The Marriott has a huge lobby bar (floor-to-ceiling windows -- great view), with a limited menu. The Marriott also has a Starbucks. (The Westin is comparable to the Marriott in terms of amenities, but it is on the opposite side of the street from the parkway, so lacks the great view.)

The Hampton Inn serves breakfast in the morning, although the room is small. The beds and linens have been upgraded. The bathroom has a full set of toiletries. I did not attempt to use the room's internet access. It has no room service (no restaurant, just the breakfast room). The HVAC works on a thermostat fairly well. The sound insulation (airport) is fine.

Bottom line -- the Hampton Inn is a very satisfactory place. If you want something nicer and with more amenities, go to the Marriott or the Westin. If you want to save $50/night to spend on something else, it is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JP&mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlingame
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
981 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
0.3 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
Address: 1755 Bayshore Hwy, Burlingame, CA 94010-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Burlingame
#4 Business Hotel in Burlingame
#5 Romantic Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South Hotel Burlingame
Hampton Inn And Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
Hampton Inn Burlingame
Burlingame Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing