We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and location for a layover place to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ San Francisco Airport
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Reviewed March 31, 2014

overall cleaning was pretty good, the beds were comfortable, shower was clean and hot water was running. For the price and comparison to other hotels in the airport area this was a great choice. Hotel staff was also very helpfull and nice. The other plus is that they have a 24 hr dinner, there were not many open places at 1 am on the area.

Most nearby hotels are $60-100 more expensive. This one does the trick for less.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 966 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

After reading the numerous positive reviews for this place I was expecting my experience to be a pleasant one. Unfortunately it was the absolute worst experience I've ever had with any hotel before in my life. I'm someone that doesn't make a fuss about much when it comes to traveling. All I ask is for a clean bed, working washroom, and a secure room door that I can lock. To say this place was disgusting would be an understatement. The room smelt like rotting food or mold or something musty and gross. I tried leaving the door open for 3 hours my first morning to air it out but it didn't help at all. The beds were extremely uncomfortable with flat pillows and paper thin covers that left us freezing through the night. The ceiling was cracked and there were roaches and spiders that would fall out of the crack periodically which was especially unnerving because it was directly over one of the beds. The bathroom was also disgusting. The toilet, shower, and sink smelt like raw sewage constantly where I was scared to even brush my teeth with the water so I used bottled water. There was nowhere to park the car on a weeknight because it was full and I literally had to wait in the parking lot for 45 minutes until someone at the other end of where my room was located left. Extremely noisy in the morning from road noise, airplanes, and people due to paper thin walls.

Needless to say I was glad it was only a two night stay so I wasn't going to waste my time complaining because I doubted that any other room would be much better. This place is a dump. It's a motel not a hotel. I wasn't even going to write a review because I don't want to ruin anyone's business and since it's my first visit to California I really didn't have any other hotel to compare it too. Maybe this place is considered decent for the area but it definitely would be considered a dump to any other area I've ever visited.

The reason I feel obligated to post a review however is because this hotel charged my credit card for a full two nights stay after I left. When I checked into this hotel I showed them my receipt that stated that the room was already paid in full, months earlier. I booked and paid my reservation through itravel2000. The front desk acknowledged my reservation, confirmed to me that there were no other charges pending, and took my credit card information to file it in case of incidentals. When I checked out I brought my room keys back, once again confirmed that there was no other charges that I needed to be concerned about, and then left feeling confident that I had nothing else to worry about. After returning home from my trip I viewed my credit card history and noticed that I was over charged for a two night stay on the very day that I checked out of the hotel, the very day that the front desk confirmed to me that my credit card wasn't charged for anything. It's been 3 days since I called the Red Roof Motel and I'm still waiting for someone to get back to me. The person I spoke to over the phone was extremely rude, made it sound like I was a lying about the fact that the hotel knew about my pre-paid reservation and continued to deny that my hotel was pre-paid even though they were able to find my pre-paid reservation immediately upon check in.

So to every person who is considering using this motel and trusts the reviews I would be wary. There is no way on earth that this motel could ever be considered a decent place to stay in anyone's book. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!! I've even stayed at hostels that were better than this.

Room Tip: Bring nose, ear, and eye plugs. Rooms are smelly, noisy, and hard to look at. Bring your own pillo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank torontovegasfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI-SFO, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the San Francisco Airport Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies for the billing error, please give a call directly and I will personally assist you to resolve all your billing issues.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jack K. - General Manager
Red Roof Inn - San Francisco Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I read the reviews of this motel here on TripAdvisor and thought I was going to get a good value. I was wrong.

This is definitely more motel than hotel. It had the look of a made-over Motel 6. Our room was extremely small (the professional photos are very misleading), and the walls were paper thin. You could hear every little sound, both from outside and from the room next door.

We had just driven 4 hrs. from Reno and arrived here a little after midnight, so we were extremely tired. Unfortunately for us, it took forever to check in (there were just two people in front of us in line). We asked for the quietest room they had, but got the opposite.

When we entered our room, we found dirty towels on the bathroom floor as well as in the sleeping area. In addition, there was a used bar of soap in the shower. Further, the shower curtain rod was partially pulled away from the wall and sagging, which caused the curtain itself to collect in the middle instead of staying closed. Also, there was no hair dryer. [This alone wouldn't be a big deal, but was an additional pain in light of what I've previously noted.]

We went to the desk to complain and we asked for at least a partial refund due to all of this, but we were told that was not possible as we had booked through Expedia. We were offered another room, but as I mentioned, we were dead tired, and we already had brought all our things to the room we had.

When we checked out the next morning, I was going to tell the clerk about our room, but he didn't even bother to ask how our stay was.

We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ResearchGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI-SFO, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the San Francisco Airport Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies for the noise, housekeeping and maintenance issues.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Should your travel plan returns you to San Francisco Airport area, please let me know so that I can personally assist you with all your accommodation needs.



Sincerely,
Jack K. - General Manager
Red Roof Inn - San Francisco Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is one heck of a deal. Great location, large rooms, microwave, safe, refrigerator, desk, free wifi, the new room design, free airport shuttle and free parking. Even better a Great price. You can't go wrong.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I am a platinum with the Marriott and all that really should mean is your loyalty to their brand. I spent the last three years at the San Mateo Residence inn.I have never been so disappointed
in the way I was treated by the Manager's that work there and some of the employees. Sadly I
was even more disappointed by the customer service department. After such a horrible and a
huge amount of money spent with them I had no expectations when I came to the Red Roof in
Burlingame. I was pleasantly surprised how great the front desk staff are…and I mean all of them
and housekeeping just as wonderful. It has been over a month and I am still here. I would rate this place a ten star . Let me just say If the Marriott is a five star trust me this would then be rated a ten star. I recommend this hotel highly. Rubin Lopez is wonderful, Pretty from the from desk is a
love as well. They all are.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grinch66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is our second time here but our experience was a lot better than the first time. The 2 queens we had the last time was not so good but we had the King room this time. We stayed at the 5th floor with no view (I think it was still nice even without the ocean view). Very nice clean room, smells really good and I like the art on the wall. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room but it feels like home whenever we got back from a very long day. Parking space could be tight in the evening. There is no breakfast included at the price but there's a restaurant attached to the hotel. We ate there and we thought that it was okay but the service was great. There's also a Shell gasoline station nearby where you can buy food. Internet works fine but if you need to print out something they charge $3 for 10mins to use the desktop at the lobby.

Overall, it was a great experience. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charms F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have used this hotel many times and I find it very reliable. The hotel shuttle runs from the hotel to the airport at :25 and :55 past the hour. There is also a great little restaurant attached that is open 24 hrs and everyone is as nice as can be. I like being able to go over there and get fresh food anytime I like. Try the Pho soup

Room Tip: Stay closer to the lobby and down low for a quiter room. The higher you go and the more towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlingame
1.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
1.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,034 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Francisco Airport

Address: 777 Airport Boulevard, Burlingame, CA 94010-1921
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Price Range: $88 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Francisco Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Francisco Airport is pet friendly, family friendly and just minutes to the San Francisco International Airport (SFO). Conveniently accessible through BART to all that San Francisco has to offer including the Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf, and downtown San Francisco. When you check into the Red Roof PLUS+ San Francisco Airport, check out the fantastic new amenities in our newly renovated NextGen (R) design rooms! This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! The rooms at this 100% Smoke-Free hotel feature new, comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, new modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV, in room safes and microwave & refrigerator. This Red Roof PLUS+ also offers free WiFi, room service from 5-10pm, an outdoor seasonal heated pool, business center kiosk, coin laundry, an ATM, a fitness center (located across the street). Bus and Truck parking is subject to availability per contract with our sales office only and Park N Fly rates are available through 1-800-Red-Roof or at the Front Desk. Guest parking is available for $10 a night, no oversized vehicle parking available. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. Leaving early or arriving late we have a 24-hour on site restaurant ready to serve you. One well behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Francisco Airport Hotel Burlingame
Red Roof Inns Burlingame
Red Roof Inn Burlingame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing