We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed their Burbank Property More Than their Downney Property”

Porto's Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 15 Dessert in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Sacramento Valley
Level Contributor
295 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 788 helpful votes
“Enjoyed their Burbank Property More Than their Downney Property”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I went to Portos Burbank property on a Monday afternoon, so I did not run into their weekend traffic. Service was quick and there were no waiting in line. I enjoyed their baked goods better than the ones I ate at their Downey Property. I recommend Portos Burbank store.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SeminarTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    158
    38
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
862 reviews
640 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Just great”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This is just an awesome bakery. I hate crowds is the only thing. This place is always really crowded. Long lines, but they move fast. Today was not crowded, and as usual, the pastries were just the best!

Helpful?
Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, great value”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I go to Portos every week for a weekly business meeting with a client. Have done so for a few years. Excellent sandwiches, moderately priced. There's always a line but it moves fast. Somehow we always manage to find a table outside. Sometimes we need to wait 5-10 minutes for a table to free up but it's not too bad. An attentive, friendly manager always ensures everything is running smoothly. I'm so glad Porto's is there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oksana4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food is Good; Bakery is Fantastic”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Porto's has a sort of cult following. It isn't a trendy or flashy restaurant, but instead a walk-in fast food establishment. There are tables and chairs for your comfort. But after you order, you're given a number, whereby you select a table that's available, set out your number and wait to have your food delivered. Good food at a fair price.

The bakery is another story. Their glass front display case is filled with sweet rolls, pastries, cookies, and numerous and delicious desserts. If you want a masterpiece cake or other type of delicious dessert, go inside the restaurant and get in line to order your custom dessert that will make eyes pop at your next party or dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sweet indulgence”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is not your typical restaurant, it is the biggest bakery you have ever seen. All at very reasonable prices. The lines are very long, but they move fast. A fantastic place to indulge in flaky pastry things, deep fried things and killer sandwiches. It will take many pages to describe, but all I say is, if I am anywhere within 5 miles of this place I am sure to swing by if I have the time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto's Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Porto's Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing