We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food”

Porto's Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 16 Dessert in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Cuban, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This bakery has such a great variety of food and drink items, friendly staff and vibrant atmosphere. Both counters had lines back to the door the day I visited, and I was told that is common. The portion sizes are extremely generous, and most of the prices are reasonable enough that you don't have to break the bank to try several different items. The service was a little on the slow side, but given their traffic, it is understandable. Order one of several different things, then go back for your favorites!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    153
    38
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orovada, NV
Level Contributor
135 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Worth the wait, don't miss it!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I'm not a fan of waiting, anywhere, but Porto's is so worth it. You have to wait for a spot in the parking lot, you wait in line to get in the door, you wait in another line to order your food at the counter, then you wait for the food to come to your table. Porto's has the best coffee I've ever had, full-bodied, but not bitter at all. We had Cubano sandwiches, which were also very good (not Miami good, but good for California), and flan, which was divine! The cakes and pastries were beautiful works of art!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lhorow1160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great value as a bakery”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We got takeout pastries and were quite satisfied with both the selection and the prices. We went on a Sunday morning and did not have to wait. Turnovers and such were under $1, and chocolate croissant and lemon bundt cake about $1.60.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGreene16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

While visiting a friend, I was told I had to stop by Porto’s Bakery for breakfast. When we arrived, the place was packed so I thought that was a good sign of the quality of food. Unfortunately, I wasn’t all that impressed. I ordered a cinnamon bun which was served room temperature. Everyone knows cinnamon buns are best warm when the icing is dipping! I also ordered a cherry turnover which I had no complaints about. I ordered a hot chocolate as well but didn’t drink it because it was frothy – YUCK!! My friend had the Brioch which she too said would have been better warmed up. All in all, I would say this is definitely a place to pass by.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njtraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Go to this location and the one in Glendale too. Usually crowded but dont mind the wait. Everything is fresh and yummy

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto's Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Porto's Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing