We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INTRUDER IN OUR ROOM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portofino Inn Burbank
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Reviewed July 13, 2012

- - My wife and I attended the 4-day S. Calif. Genealogy Jamboree this month, and stayed at the Portofino Inn. Burbank for 5 nights. This expensive Jamboree has the best speakers and includes 3 lavish meals per day, so we were there from 7:30 A.M. to evening, all 4 days. We're also Green Party members, so the first two mornings we hung our sign on our room door knob, "We desire no maid service in this room today." The Portofino has Mexican maids, and the sign is printed large and bold in both English and Spanish. Thus our room was not cleaned after our first 2 nights.
- - Desiring room cleaning and new linens for our third day, we removed the door knob sign the second night. But returning to our room that evening, we found the room untouched. I called the young man at the front desk to inform him of the oversight, but oddly, he began a long series of ever-changing stories, the jist of which were that it was our fault. "Why did you put a sign the first 2 nights, and not the 3rd night?" he demanded. Well, I said, the sign clearly states, "no maid service today -- no servicio de criada hoy."
- - His final and most persistent blame-casting attempt was his insistance that we were in the room with the door bolted when the maid (criada) came on 3 different occasions to clean it, knocking and then attempting to enter with her pass key each time, but not able to enter because of the interior-locked deadbolt. He stuck doggedly to this story, and simply would not believe my repeated assertions that we were not in the room.
- - When we called him to report the room not serviced, all we expected was a simple "Sorry sir, I'll talk to the maid tomorrow and make sure it doesn't happen again." That would have been the end of it. Mistakes happen. No big deal. What ended up was us having to give him the names and cell phone numbers of our numerous colleagues, to serve as eye witnesses that we had remained continuously at the Jamboree that day. Yet he was uninterested in calling them.
- - The only conclusion we can make is that, since he said he was with the maid when she tried to enter the double-bolted room, was that there was an INTRUDER in our room. Due to his odd and emphatic behavior, we reported it to the Burbank Police (who declined to come).
- - It's not a BAD hotel, but if you stay there I would keep an eye on the young man. He is an East Indian -American of nice appearance, and was the only person at the front desk during our stay.
- - I tried to post the above review on hotels dot com, but apparently they do not allow negative postings, and the above was, not published. I received no notice of this censorship, but I checked the hotels dot com site a week later and it had not been posted.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dgdgdgfhhf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 185 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

A group of us stayed at here for only 1 night as a stop over to pick up hire cars and continue onto a music festival.
The staff here were amazingly helpful. They helped us find shops and a Mexican place for dinner. We had bought a bottle of wine and we asked for a bottle opener, they didnt have one but went out and bought one for us!
The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. I had a great night sleep.

Several days later we came back to Burbank to drop off the hire vehicles, and asked if we could get a room just for showers and to relax for a few hours before we headed to the airport, again the staff were very helpful and made this possible.

Would stay here again if ever back in LA.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammyhbne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I had a lovely 10 day stay. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them to help you with. Very clean and nice rooms. On a major road but was not bothered by any noise. Great location.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viscountess50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

A gem of a property in an odd neighborhood in Burbank. Clean, no frills and inexpensive. For travelers on a budget, this is a great place. Rooms are simple - queen bed, an easy chair, dresser and desk. No pool, no pets. Go to a fancier place when your ship comes in!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STLtravelerRBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I reserved four rooms for a family gathering in the area. The outside is rather old and unappealing, but the rooms have been remodeled very nicely and the beds are very comfortable. Didn't have a problem with noise. The little diner attached is very old fashioned and used for TV and movie locations. In fact, the next day it was to be closed for filming a "Desperate Housewives" scene. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SantaCruzCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I chose this motel based on reviews that gave it kudos for refurbishing that was very well done....and it is! BUT...when it came to bedtime, between the tweakers upstairs doing god knows what and the neighbors tv, i had to turn to ear plugs and sleep aids. That is the one thing i value most in a motel is quiet, ok a 'motel' so moderately quiet.... It is a beautiful little refubrbished roadside inn with the best little coffe shop around in front called Frank's. Again, good location and a nice place to unwind but not to sleep, on the night we stayed anyway.

Room Tip: ask for a room AWAY from anyone else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oleoiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I am working at a 5 star hotel chain and not used to staying at motels. Portofino Inn was a nice surprise. They recently renovated their rooms and the clientele is middle-class tourists and business men. Room was good size and up-to-date, nice decor. I stayed with them for 7 nights on leisure as I was visiting my friend in town. During my whole stay, Housekeeping was great and consistent, flawless!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatVanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResolution, Manager at Portofino Inn Burbank, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review of your experience during your stay at our Inn. It was our pleasure in having you as our guest. Opinion of our valued guests helps us in providing fantastic hospitality and service to each of our guest. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burbank hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Burbank
Holiday Inn Burbank
#12 of 20 in Burbank
673 reviews
0.7 mi away
Safari Inn
Safari Inn
#3 of 20 in Burbank
723 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burbank Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles Burbank Airport
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Burbank-Glendale
0.7 mi away
Burbank Inn & Suites
Burbank Inn & Suites
#14 of 20 in Burbank
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Inn Burbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn Burbank

Address: 924 W Olive Ave, Burbank, CA 91506-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burbank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Burbank
Price Range: $116 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portofino Inn Burbank 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portofino Inn is a 50 room Hotel/Motel that is located in the heart of Burbank, we are only a few minutes away from the Disney studios, Warner Brother Studios, short drive from Griffith Observatory, Hollywood sign, Magic Mountain, Down town Los Angeles, Hollywood, Universal Studios and only 9 minutes away from Bob Hope Air Port... Portofino Inn offers King, Double Queen, (Smoking and non-smoking) Queen Handy-cap as well as a King non-smoking with a Jacuzzi. We are family oriented as well as great for business travelers, stay from one night and extend your stay as long as needed. Portofino Inn - Burbank is under NEW MANAGEMENT as of Jan. 2015. Please give us the pleasure to meet your hospitality needs and allow us the opportunity to earn/keep your business. We pride ourselves in the level of customer service we provide to each and every one of our customers. Every customer is our most important customer. Alfredo, Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Portofino Inn Burbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Inn Burbank Hotel Burbank
Portofino Hotel Burbank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing