We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Provence - CLOSED

Bistro Provence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los ANgeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

It is true that the restaurant is in a strip mall, but inside you would never know it. The owner was very attentive and charming. We never felt rushed or that we were a bother - we could have stayed all night! The food was good, but my risotto was too rich (butter and cream). I couldn't eat more that 1/3. Although we traveled 40 minutes to get there, it was worth it. A good find!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorado9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Rey, CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great find in a strip mall.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great French cuisine in a shopping center. The food is excellent, and a short but good wine list completes the experience. The service was perfect. Great place for dinner in Burbank.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank twebbmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Could be Burbank France”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Has the warm ambience, decoration and atmosphere of a small restaurant in metropolitan France. Excellent bouillabaisse, fennel crusted tuna, great crispy gnocchi with truffles riccotta as examples of classical French with a flair. Limited but well chosen and reasonably priced wine list, mostly American. A setting for a very enjoyable meal with good company.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Bistro in Burbank!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Don't be fooled by the funny location - in a Von's parking lot right off the freeway. The food is SO wonderful... the gnocchi appetizer and the farm raised chicken with balsalmic onions and garlic fries with a delicious bottle of wine is my preferred meal there... it's so good that it makes it hard to ever order anything else!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Burbankette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a great find in Burbank”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This warm and gracious restaurant, located in a Burbank strip mall, is a great find.

Food is warm and comforting and artfully prepared. The boeuf bourgignon was the best I've ever had and was so much more than the warm stew that some restaurants offer as boeuf bourgignon. Fish was presented in a Mediterranean fashion and received high praise from our non-carnivore. The Machego salad was a triumph of taste and texture.

The wine list is well chosen. We had a bottle of Frank Family Zinfandel that paired perfectly with the beef and glasses of Viognier with the fish.

Service was exceedingly warm and friendly.

The restaurant is well located, across the street from the Hotel Amarano, so one is able to do what is so rare in LA-- walk to dinner.

Helpful?
Thank DeanpW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Provence also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing