We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian restaurant/Deli/market”

Pinocchio Italian Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 427 Restaurants in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
orange, ca
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Italian restaurant/Deli/market”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Wanted a sandwich other than the typical chain. Of course I consulted the Yelp and was not disappointed. Got here early enough to beat the crowd and find a table.

I had a roast beef with Swiss sandwich.. Very simple prep, Meat, mayo, mustard and a marinated tomato mix. The bread is awesome, soft on the inside and crusty on the outside. There are a selection of sides of which you get a choice of 2. They also have a steam table which holds alot of hot entrees which looked great.

Service was prompt, and many of the regulars are greeted by name. There is also a large Italian Deli/Market side.

Overall great value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fmationg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    37
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Flavor-free”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This used to be a wonderful restaurant that had the very best lasagna in Burbank - 20 years ago. I used to eat there every week, for lunch, take out, dinner. It must have changed hands because they do not seem to know how to make Italian food any more. The last 3 times I've eaten there, the lasagna had no flavor whatsoever, except for the taste of old cooked hamburger meat that had sat in the fridge for too long before being used. Disgusting. I gave it 3 tries, weeks apart, before saying this about my previously favorite Italian food in Burbank. The food does not look fresh in the tray either. The tables are always a problem, falling apart, dirty, and the seating areas are filthy on the walls. Awful tea. Note to restaurant: You cannot depend on yesterday's reputation. The pictures on the wall of old Burbank do not influence the taste of the food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank starzcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food if it's fresh”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

this place wants to be an authentic italian restaurant but it fails. the food is not italian really, and it's very greasy. the place itself is very dirty including the kitchen. they have an "italian" deli, which seems to have good products, but it's obvios they don't know how to store them. For example, they have a great parma proscuito, but when you taste it, you notice immediately it has not been properly stored as it is dry and the salt in it cristalized.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fernando K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent, fun but relaxing, convenient good shop next door”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is an old favorite with many in Burbank. I'll admit we've encountered the rare occasional problem, but local restaurants seem to have a really hard time finding competent cooks and staff. This one does a better job than many by far. The food is nearly always great and, since you can see most of the food ahead of time anyway, you can pick what looks best. They have a nice variety of options, and everything seems pretty healthy too. On one side of the restaurant is a surprisingly well stock shop which has a deli counter with some great meats, cheese and appetizers; a bakery counter with lovely cookies and pastries; a gelato station; and a grocery section with all sorts of things, at good prices too. You can even get your basic milk and eggs etc. here. There is parking in the back and on the side of the building. There is a small outdoor patio. This is a good place for take-out, families, couples, dates, or parties.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hap P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and Experience”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

When I went here, my usual logic is that the food had to be fresh since theres a long line. And I'm so tired of corporate restaurants which are identical in every city - Olive Garden, Outback, etc..., with those, you get off a plane and its the same in every city. I like mom n pop places! Friday night at 9 I found this gem after leaving Disneyland. My kind of place - very reasonable, hot and good. It was busy and families were eating Gelato out front. Come dressed as you are and get in line while they load your plate with lasagna, meatballs and bread. Nothing fancy, or pretentious. Then peruse the biscotti, cookies, cheeses, wines and other items in the attached Italian market. Was very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dudesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinocchio Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pinocchio Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing