We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Tasted Like Burnt Plastic” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mo's - CLOSED

Mo's
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food Tasted Like Burnt Plastic”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stopped in for lunch. Should have known not to eat there when I noticed I was the only person there. Ordered the steak w/ grilled vegetables and mash. Fake mash was inedible. Grilled veggies literally tasted like burnt plastic. They were blackened and absolutely foul. Inedible. Missed an entire day of important meetings the next day due to major gastrointestinal upset. Avoid!

To the staff: When someone only eats about 10% of their food, you should at least ASK the customer if there was a problem with the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, MA USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly, good food, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We sat at the copper bar, watched in amazement as Amy, the only bartender, handled the entire restaurant. The food was delicious, the prices moderate, and the owner for 18 years, I believe his name was Mark, was very friendly and welcoming. We were glad we'd found it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeagullInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mo's good food and 60's atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food is good and tasty while the restaurant was a throw-back to dining in the late sixties. My advice is to sit at the copper bar and enjoy your meal there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David4advice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I like Mo's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

... But somedays I'm not sure why. I go to Mo's when I'm in town. It's convenient. It's friendly. The menu is varied. The food is ... OK. Not great. Somedays better than others. And when it's an off day, like yesterday I think that $70 plus bucks for a so so dinner for two is WAY too much. No matter how old school LA casual, I'm a neighborhood joint in Toluca Lake and you never know who might show up it is. The chicken picatta was moist and tender. The grilled veggies were significantly under done, under seasoned and barely warm. At $17, this is nothing to write home about. Drinks are OK and at less than $10 each are a good deal by LA standards. Salads are big and have been quite good in the past. I will go again. But I will also be looking for another friendly stand-by to compliment this somewhat less than reliable, venerable I joint.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaAnne1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a burger!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Mo's used to have a "burger bar" where once your order was served up you'd dress up your burger as you wished and add a few side salads. That's gone now, but the burgers are just as tasty and now they come to your table ready to eat with a couple of side salads that are really good. Their menu is more than burgers, of course, but if you want to satisfy an urge for a meaty (or not-so-meaty, as they have other options for our burger than beef) burger, this is your place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skiddered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing