We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Safari Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Safari Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Really good place to stay very friendly staff, good sized room
We stayed at 5 places on our trip to the U.S.A. and this one was by fair the cleanest

Not the newest place in the world but very good vaule for money

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    207
    82
    32
    39
See reviews for
285
118
56
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold River, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I got this room via Hotwire specifically because it had an included breakfast and was rated as a 3 star (maybe 2.5?) It is definitely a 2 star. (Exterior hallways, older property, a fitness "closet".) On the positive, check staff were very nice. Parking was free. Location is close to studios and Highway 5, 134, etc. Pool was very good temp. Bed was comfortable but pillows on the very firm side. In room coffee. Overall clean but dated room (small TV.) Negatives: breakfast is barely a morning snack (toast, mini bagel, or mini muffin) cream cheese or butter, coffee (paper cups and powder creamer) and that's it. Considering "breakfast or continental breakfast" was reason I picked hotel, I felt slighted by this.) The workout room consists of dumbells, treadmill and two exercise bicycles...pretty meager.
I can't blame hotel for the heat (it was 113 in LA that day). In room AC kept room fairly cool and was not too loud, so no complaints there. Street noise was minimal. Never heard neighbors.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeandcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We orginally had 4 nights booked, here then added an extra night at the beginning of stay. We had requested a non-smoking room, and this room we were given reeked of smoke, and we were assured this was a non-smoking room, we couldn't change room as the hotel was at capacity. Thankfully we were able to change rooms for the last 4 nights, this room was soo much better, no smell and more comfortable beds. The rooms are old, and have marks etc.. in places, but the room was a baragin, compared to rooms in Hollywood & WeHo areas. It's not a bad location either your close to all the Studios, avoid the traffic for Six Flags [further north]. We went to a few concerts aswell, one at the Staples Centre, the other at the Hollywood Bowl, and we just drove to the Universal City Metro Station, parked and took the metro -- easy and avoided all the traffic. Hollywood is only a 5-10mins, if no traffic. Parking was free, and if the lot was full, you could parking at the sister hotel, just across the street, which we used as the lot was full most nights we came home late. Breakfast was free aswell, we had one morning, but there wasn't alot of choice though. Wi-fi was free, we never used the pool, and we had a fridge. Would stay again, probably unless we could get a deal in the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

For one night in Burbank (to see the sights of Hollywood) this was a fine place to stay. The room was clean. The decor is dated, as is the exterior, but that's part of the charm of the place--it's been a set for some movies set in the 60-70s (Apollo 13). It was quiet enough that we could all get a good night sleep before our day in Hollywood/Beverly Hills.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonofAslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

A short drive from the major studio tours and other Hollywood attractions, the Safari Inn on Olive Avenue is clean, accessible and a HUGE BARGAIN. We paid $74.50 for a room with 2 Queen beds a decent-sized bathroom, in-room coffee and a fridge. Although updated, the motel (yes, you park next to your room) has a retro feel that seems just right. The pool is refreshing; there's plenty of coffee and at the argueably small breakfast bar and the staff was very accommodating.

It was about 6 blocks to NBC, slightly more to Warner Brothers - just off the 134. Although Oilve is a main thoroughfare, it wasn't noisy and the motel is close to small restaurants and other conveniences.

This was a really great option for our family trip...worth checking out.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3booths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We chose Safari Inn because we were at the end our long tour & did not want to splash out. This is a good budget hotel & we stayed there for 5 days.
The room was on the smaller side but it was cleaned everyday. The breakfast was just right & especially the toaster was a big help as we was able to toast the breads/bagels etc.
The swimming pool was small but functional. Specially my children enjoyed it immensely. The parking was somewhat of a problem specially if you are late in returning to the hotel. But the desk clark was very helpful & always directed us to a convenient place to park the car.
There are eating places nearby which is convenient. Travelling to Hollywood took us 15 mins but most of that time we were stuck in Hollywood traffic!!
We did not face any problems regarding any noise.
We liked this place & will recommend to someone who is looking for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitraurbbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

As previous reviewers have mentioned, it's a pretty basic motel and meets your needs for a short trip. They have a late check-out time so we weren't able to check in to our room earlier as they were still cleaning the rooms, but it worked out fine as we were hungry and so went to get some lunch and do some sight-seeing before returning. It's a no-frills type of place with few amenities but at least the parking was free. We didn't get a chance to swim in the pool, but it looked decent. The one positive thing I will say about this place is the location. Everything in downtown LA was accessible within a reasonable drive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetAwayFromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burbank
Holiday Inn Burbank
#12 of 20 in Burbank
618 reviews
Coast Anabelle Hotel
#8 of 20 in Burbank
354 reviews
The Tangerine
#2 of 20 in Burbank
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Portofino Inn Burbank
#14 of 20 in Burbank
178 reviews
Hotel Amarano Burbank
#5 of 20 in Burbank
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Inn

Property: Safari Inn
Address: 1911 W Olive Ave, Burbank, CA 91506-2494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Burbank
#5 Family Hotel in Burbank
#5 Romantic Hotel in Burbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Safari Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Burbank
Safari Inn Burbank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing