We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable & friendly”
Review of Safari Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Safari Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Petrolia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable & friendly”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Very happy with this accommodation; reminiscent of a 50's style. Rooms were clean and up-to-date. Staff was very friendly and printed our boarding passes for us. We were thrilled to learn that it has been used as a film location. The Olive Bistro at the 'sister' hotel was convenient and had good food. Very close to Warner Bros Studio and the Bob Hope airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolG1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the quality of the accommodations as well as the level of customer service provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to Burbank in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    214
    83
    32
    40
See reviews for
305
121
58
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This place was just awful. There was a mistake in our booking and instead of working it out,. They decided to try and charge double. We weren't given the room we wanted. When the staff wasn't ignorant, they were obstinate.

There are better and cheaper places all over LA. I'm a native... We booked this place because of "True Romance". If you are from out of town, beware, this place is a TRAP.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. In reviewing your reservation, we noticed that it was made directly through our website which sends an email confirming your dates, rates and room type as well as cancellation policy after the reservation process is completed. We do our best to accommodate the needs of every guest in order to ensure their happiness. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

You can find cheaper and better places in Los Angeles. On the other hand, the area is safe, there are shops nearby and the staff was very nice. It is a typical motel as you have seen in movies (probably why some movies are also filmed here). The rooms were clean and the breakfast was OK (you buy it at an eatery located next to the hotel). I had problems with the WiFi, but it is not unusual with the brick buildings in the United States. I never tried the pool, but the overall impression is that this is an ok place - neither more nor less.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norwegiandude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal is and always has been the happiness of our guests. We certainly strive to ensure that each guest enjoys their stay from the comfort of their guest room to the amenities we provide and of course superior guest service. In regards to the Wi-Fi, we have recently upgraded it to ensure faster connectivity and increased speed. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay at the safari inn. The rooms have an adorable decor, they're very clean and the bathrooms are large. The staff was so sweet and accommodating. The neighboring Olive Bistro at their sister hotel was also awesome and a great feature. We had an awesome bartender and gourmet burgers were delicious. Definitely plan on coming back!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cteixeira84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks! It's incredibly rewarding to hear a guest comment on what they enjoyed about their stay. We strive to ensure every aspect of the stay is memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Burbank and our hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here for a week with my family. I would absolutely recommend it. It is a motel so it's not luxurious, but each of the rooms is nicely done. This has to be the cleanest hotel or motel I have ever stayed, the bathrooms were spotless. It's a great bargain and in a great location. Saturday night we heard a little noise from other guests, but other than that it was quiet. The gentleman at the front desk was a pleasure and very helpful, and there's room service available from the next door restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TennesseeLuv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks! Cleanliness and comfort are a priority for us as is excellent guest service. We aim to make every guests' stay with us memorable and enjoyable. We're delighted you and your family were satisfied with the accommodations and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

stayed at this location for two nights in sept. for a concert at the hollywood bowl. the room wasn't anything fancy but it was clean and i was surprised to find it quiet, considering we had a room closest to the street. the staff was very friendly and helpful. pool was clean and refreshing. it is a fine location for checking out the studios, hollywood and the bowl. numerous food options available within a short distance. easy access to the airport in burbank. one drawback would be the lack of a hotel shuttle on the weekends. they provide transportation for an individual through super shuttle during those times, which could mean numerous stops before reaching the motel. i used AAA to get a good rate. overall, i would stay here again for another concert at the bowl.

Room Tip: try to get a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall experience at our hotel. Our goal is to make certain all guests who stay with us are completely satisfied with their stay. We would like to apologize for the issue with the shuttle service as we are currently working on rectifying this. Thank you once more for providing us with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a motel, so it has rooms with outside doors. Unfortunately, that means you will hear the traffic on Olive and people in the parking lot, but if it's not a busy time than it shouldn't be too bad. Food can be ordered (or picked up) from the bistro at their sister property next door, but as others have pointed out, there are other places to get food around if you're willing to look. There was a mini fridge in the room but no microwave. I think there was a microwave in the vending area, but I didn't use it. I also didn't use the pool, but it looked nice. It has a great location - I had an event to attend at the Disney Animation Studios and was able to walk there. There is also a free shuttle to the Burbank Airport. Just make sure you make arrangements at least a day in advance.

Overall, I would say this is a good place in a nice area, but I do wish it was a bit cheaper being a motel.

Room Tip: If you want to get food from the bistro, save yourself the room service charge and get it to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariInn818, Front Office Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We value our guests and their feedback as it helps us become better at what we do. We're always finding new ways to improve in order to satisfy guests needs. Our goal is to ensure every guest who stays with us feels welcome and enjoys all the amenities we have to offer. Thank you once again for all the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burbank
Holiday Inn Burbank
#12 of 20 in Burbank
649 reviews
Coast Anabelle Hotel
#8 of 20 in Burbank
367 reviews
The Tangerine
#2 of 20 in Burbank
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Portofino Inn Burbank
#13 of 20 in Burbank
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Inn

Property: Safari Inn
Address: 1911 W Olive Ave, Burbank, CA 91506-2494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Burbank
#2 Green Hotel in Burbank
#5 Family Hotel in Burbank
#5 Romantic Hotel in Burbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Safari Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Burbank
Safari Inn Burbank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing