We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something to do once”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tonight Show with Jay Leno - CLOSED

The Tonight Show with Jay Leno
Attraction details
So Cal
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Something to do once”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I've lived in Burbank for several years and never been to see the tonight show. I decided to take my wife and some friends and made ticket reservations.

The bad: The wait to get in is a little long and you have to stand outside. We also had to park about three blocks away. Next you walk to another line and wait some more. Once inside, the seating seems to be random, so there is no guarantee you will get a good seat by arriving early.

The Better: After being seated for about one half hour, Jay comes out and talks to the audience, takes a few photos with lucky folks near the front rows and generally talks and answers questions. A while after that, the show actually starts. Our show featured nobody interesting for me personally, but the audience seemed to enjoy.

The whole process from arriving to leaving took more than 4 hours, and to me that is too much time to give for the results, buy hey it's free, so no big loss. It's one of those things you probably should do once if you get a chance, but don't set your expectations too high.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    59
    16
    6
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Been There Twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

It is a little wait in line, but well worth it. I even saw Ringo Starr once. Jay is always funny, and the show moves along quickly. All concerned are very polite and welcoming. It has been a while since I was there, I put the earliest date available below, but I know Jay hasn't changed his staff so it will be every bit as exciting and enjoyable as the two times I was there. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chuck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Utah
Level Contributor
147 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Another check on the bucket list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Seeing the tonight show was fantastic but it does take a bit of sacrificing. First, be there early. Plan for it and make it happen, then you won't be left standing outside. We got there around 1245pm and were numbers 10 and 11 for the Newt G show. Yes they will make you stand in line and then sit for an hour or more but it gives you a chance to chat it up with people around you. We spent nearly two hours talking with a family from Australia it was fascinating. The bathrooms are in a trailer off the parking lot. Honestly, I just needed to go, didn't need to have a butler there handing me a towell, so it was grand. Seeing the production happening right before you is amazing, especially watching all the complexities of the camera crews, the guys with the cue cards, the way that the audience becomes a part of the show and of course lets not forget Jay and the guests. It was much more scripted than I anticipated but then again for the money they put into it, a live taping needs to be done right. Not sure that I would come back for a second time unless the guest was an absolute can't miss, but seeing it once is definately worth the half day or so it will take to make it happen especially if its on your bucket list.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BrotherBoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Long uncomfortable wait but fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

A very long, non-glamorous wait! If you have to use a restroom during this 1-3 hour wait there is a outhouse in a trailer :( you will spend this time either standing or being shuffled around to sit cramped together on wood benches. Although the tickets are free the parking is not and the "good seats" are only available after the show for the next day to try and get you back I guess. It was fun to see the show live they really work the crowd but don't expect any tshirts or anything for your massive wait and sore hands from clapping as they only toss out 2 or 3! It's a great thing to do once as the wait and the very "cool" staff that shuffle you around and yell instructions aren't worth ever doing twice;(

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best show in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Love Jay Leno!!! He always is professional, one continuous taping, no retakes.... Johnny Carson would be proud.... Love the show

Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tonight Show with Jay Leno also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing