We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tangerine Hotel to your Saves list
Tangerine Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3901 W Riverside Drive, Burbank, CA 91505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

What I loved most: convenient to Burbank Airport, clean rooms (decorated super funky), great food within walking distance - oh, and free espresso/cappuccino machine in the lobby :) What may be difficult for some but was not an issue for use: No elevators (it's only 2 stories, but dragging suitcases up a flight of concrete steps is difficult and/or a hassle for some people), minimal parking (if you get lucky enough to get a spot, don't drive anywhere for dinner - you could be out of luck when you return) and a small pool (but nice and clean - just be willing to share). My daughter and I loved it and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hnewheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Reserved a room last minute with my parents. Luckily there was one more room available during the 4th of July weekend. The price of the hotel room per night was what I had expected considering it was reserved on the same day of our arrival.

Upon arrival I noticed the parking in the front was very limited. There were 4-6 parking spaces, which were all occupied (even the handicap spaces). I had to drop off my parents and the luggages so they can go ahead and check-in while I find parking elsewhere. Going around the hotel I discovered there was parking available behind the hotel itself. So that was a relief.

Check-in was smooth. The receptionist was busy on the phone with another customer but she was courteous enough to make eye contact and to tell us to please hold and she'll get to us (with a smile). Good customer service there. We were hoping we would get a first floor room as my mom has difficulty going up/down the stairs. Unfortunately, they did not have two beds available on the first floor. So we ended up with a room on the second floor.

The room itself was decent. It had all the amenities we needed including a coffee maker and a mini-fridge. The TV had a lot of stations, which I really liked. The A/C was somewhat weak. It was a scorching day in Burbank and the A/C set at 61 degrees still felt a bit humid/hot inside the room. But it was still tolerable. At night I slept with no blankets on me. The bed itself was comfortable and the lighting was adequate. It was a pleasant and quiet room so that was a huge plus. For breakfast, they did provide coffee/tea and Porto's pastries, so that's another plus.

To me, there were two things lacking about the hotel. First, the parking. We went out for dinner one night and upon returning there were no parking spots available. Luckily, I was able to fit at a narrow space between another car and a garbage can. We had a small economy car. The second thing I was not too crazy about was that there were no elevators. My mom had difficulty climbing 15 steps and she had to climb the steps at a slow pace. The hotel is not really handicap friendly.

Walking to the parking lot, we did see the inside of one downstairs room. The room was not carpeted (like the second floor room). The concrete floor was stained and it was actually cooler. The wall was painted nicely and there was a wooden decorative piece in the corner that added character to the room. I wish the upstair rooms were similar. Next time I will have to reserve a room downstairs. The pool was small but worth using in the scorching summer heat. But you have to be patient to wait your turn as there's a lot of families using it.

Driving to the hotel was a bit challenging as well. But once you know where to go it gets easier to navigate around town. Anyway, this part of Burbank is difficult to go around due to the streets that criss-cross or cuts off. The hotel is close to a cafe, Bob's Big Boy, a Mexican restaurant, Bank of the West and is a short distance to a grocery store (Von's).

I would stay here again but this time I would definitely request a first floor room. Also, I would probably make sure I get back to the hotel room early so I can get a good parking spot.

Room Tip: Get back to the room early so you can have a good parking space especially during holiday weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safford, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Don't judge a book by the cover. This little gem doesn't look like much from the outside but you will be surprised when you get in your room. We only spent 1 night here but wish we could of stayed longer. Minimal parking in front but the back alley lot is safe and easy to get to.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Isabella, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Tangerine Hotel for 1 night while attending a Dodger Game. This little hotel is awesome. The room décor is awesome with comfortable beds and great linens. Perfectly heated and very clean pool. Wonderful coffee machine in the office that makes regular coffee, cappuccinos and latte's. They also provide a wonderful assortment of pastries. This hotel is in a very quiet location and the staff was very friendly. It only took us 10 minutes to get to the Dodger game from this location. We will definitely be going back to this Hotel. I highly recommend this Hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Recently stayed for three nights and it was wonderful. The outside does stay true to it's name - the outside is pained with tangerine orange accents. It also looks like a converted motel. However, the rooms are modern and very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. They offer complimentary Porto's bakery pastries every morning. There is a nifty coffee machine in the lobby open 24/7. There is also access to a laptop and printer 24/7 at no additional cost. The pool is small, but heated to a comfortable temperature. There are plenty of good food places and small businesses to explore within walking distance (highly recommend Varnish Nail Bar). Minutes from WB studios and Universal Studios. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator, so if you can't navigate stairs easily, ask for a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PineappleGirl206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very hip little motor court, in the middle of Burbank studios, restaurants, shops. Walk everywhere!
Rooms are recently refurbished, extremely clean and comfortable.Kamal was very nice and helpful. Large (empty!) fridge, cable TV, free wifi, coffee,plus Porto's famous pastries in the lobby for breakfast! We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanneburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently. The hotel is what you might call a boutique motel. It's decorated to a modern if arty standard, but hey this is L.A.!

Rooms are clean and we'll decorated. Flat screen TV and mini fridge. Coffee facilities too.

There is also a small pool area too which is nice.

Reception is like a small hotel reception with its flat screen TVs and seating area. A limited range of pastries and coffees are available here in the mornings to take away.

Parking and wifi is free.

Location is ideal for Universal studios, Warner Bros and the Hollywood Bowl. There are also some great restaurants in walking distance.

Recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ImprovisedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burbank
Hotel Amarano Burbank
#5 of 19 in Burbank
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
The Garland
#11 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,199 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangerine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangerine Hotel

Address: 3901 W Riverside Drive, Burbank, CA 91505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Burbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tangerine Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tangerine Hotel is a newly remodeled boutique hotel offering its guests an eclectic and colorful backdrop that promises to enhance any visit to Burbank, Hollywood and Los Angeles. Our thoughtfully appointed rooms are a fresh reinterpretation of the classic motel room; equipped with the requisite modern amenities and quality linens, we have also introduced elements to give each room a distinct personality that we hope our guests appreciate and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Tangerine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing