We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't understand the rave reviews”
Review of The Tangerine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tangerine
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It was fine. Yes, it was clean, staff were pleasant, and the room was spacious (though weirdly set up so you can't see the TV from the couch). And it was convenient for my visit to Warner Bros. Aside from that, I don't get what others found "cool" about the place. I agree with the reviewer who basically said, "this is just a motel." Ditto. Stay here if you want a decently priced place in this vicinity, but don't get your hopes up for something special. Also, know that you'll be carrying your own luggage, so if you're on the second floor (as is recommended to manage noise), understand that you probably should pack light. Oh, and the internet is hopelessly slow.

Room Tip: I asked for a second floor, quiet room and they were completely accommodating. I'm a very light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopazTunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 732 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

I want to rate this hotel a 10 ! From check in to check out the staff was friendly , rooms are very clean, the best restaurants, juice bars, Starbucks, cafes within 1-3 blocks in walking distance., Warner Bros is 3 blocks away, Universal is a 40 min walk...the best. I did not have a car ( mainly because parking in the LA area is tough and expensive., so walking was essential for me. The pool was very nice. Every morning the hotel had fresh pastries from a local bakery for the guests along with a great hot beverage machine you can have your choice buy simply pushing a button ( Coffee, lattes, Tea, , etc ). Fitness room not on the premises, there is a gym near Starbucks , however they wanted $20 a day. I did a lot of walking in the area for exercise.Very safe area, I was traveling solo visiting my son who lives in the area ..... do not think twice , stay at THE TANGERINE

Room Tip: ask for a room that you may see then pool and daylight , some rooms are hidden in a walkway from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Style and cool on a budget, great location, friendly staff and wonderful lobby coffee options. The Tangerine has a fun, hip vibe that works. The reviews of others brought us here on vacation and we couldn't be happier. Only the lack of a security chain/bar on the door keeps me from hitting the 5 star button.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighwayPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Tangerine Hotel was super clean and staff was very nice and friendly.
Warner Brothers Studio VIP tour was interesting. You could walk there if you wanted to. Parking was very convenient at the studio though. Glad we went early. Started getting warm by the end of the tour. Breakfast across the street was okay. Had a spinach omelet that had a few too many onions for my liking.

Room Tip: We stayed right next to the pool but had no problems with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading the good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were very impressed with the room, the comfy bed, the air conditioning and the very friendly and helpful staff. We extended our stay for a second night so we could continue to explore the area and have a great home base to come back to. We highly recommend The Tangerine :)

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a newly renovated motor hotel in Burbank that we stayed in for 2 nights in late April.
Love all the counter space in the room, air conditioner kept the room really cool and love
having a refrigerator. The Mexican restaurant next door is just amazing! Walking to margaritas doesn't get any better! And the food is excellent! Walking is easy everywhere-more restaurants,
Falcon Theatre, and free parking. Would stay here anytime again!

Room Tip: It's two story and no elevator, so if you have a heavy suitcase, request a first floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooksief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Near major studios - walk to Warner Brothers. This motor-court style property has been totally and tastefully renovated with quality fixtures and amenities. There are a variety of good restaurants in the immediate area listed, with directions, in a provided area information sheet. Each room has a refrigerator, safe, and flat screen TV. All rooms are courtside and exposed to a busy street, but fairly quiet at night. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was small, but very well appointed. Burbank airport (BUR) is less than 15 minutes away - LAX about 40 minutes. Without a doubt the best property renovation of this style property we have ever seen. We will stay here again and recommend to other singles/couples who need a well done property in this location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burbank
The Garland
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,210 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hotel Amarano Burbank
#7 of 20 in Burbank
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Safari Inn
#3 of 20 in Burbank
752 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#140 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tangerine

Address: 3901 W Riverside Dr, Burbank, CA 91505-4327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Price Range: $208 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tangerine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tangerine Hotel is a newly remodeled boutique hotel offering its guests an eclectic and colorful backdrop that promises to enhance any visit to Burbank, Hollywood and Los Angeles. Our thoughtfully appointed rooms are a fresh reinterpretation of the classic motel room; equipped with the requisite modern amenities and quality linens, we have also introduced elements to give each room a distinct personality that we hope our guests appreciate and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tangerine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing