We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Tangerine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tangerine
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I chose to stay at the Tangerine because of the price and the location. I was attending a taping of the Ellen show and was looking to stay somewhere with in walking distance and close to the airport his was the perfect place. The staff was warm and friendly, the room were decorated nicely and was very clean. The room was small but cozy with free HBO and WI-fi. There are buses right outside and is the best way to get around with out going broke. Plenty of local eatery to chose from I would definitely stay there again next time I'm in Burbank

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd fl, I stayed on the 1st and could at times hear noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    241
    38
    10
    3
See reviews for
222
259
41
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Wife and I selected cheapest hotel we could find around NBC studios. To our surprise, the Tangerine location, service and facilites were excellant. We could not have been more happy with our stay.

The personnel are very friendly and want to be of service. The rooms are clean and decorated.

We will stay there again next time we're in town. Enjoyed our visit.

Room Tip: Don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We booked this on our vacation to california. We all over the state and on our stay in Burbank we choose the Tangerine because of trip advisor. We loved it, the room was alittle small, we had 2 adults and 3 kids, 11,3 and new born, but the owners had limited space I think because they just re-did an old motel. but the place was cool, clean and convenient to the studios that we wanted to tour. the staff was great and my kids and myself LOVED the pool. We walked everywhere. We would have stayed longer but my one daughter was homesick.

Room Tip: Ask for extra pillows. We didnt and we should have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawn12505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

After reading all of the positive reviews, I didn't think this hotel (really a motel) could live up to all the hype. BUT IT DOES! My husband and I were visiting our daughter who lives in North Hollywood and stayed for six nights at the Tangerine Hotel. We stayed in a room with a king bed and what appeared to be brand new carpeting. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever had in our travels. The room features a refrig; a microwave in the lobby is available to guests Housekeeping was immaculate and the office staff was always available, very courteous and helpful with directions. There is coffee and fresh pastries every morning in the lobby.

The Tangerine is in walking distance of NBC (about one mile); we went to a live taping of The Tonight Show with Jay Leno. Warner Bros. is located just blocks away. There are lots of decent restaurants within walking distance, including the original Bob's Big Boy.

We will definitely make this our "home away from home" when visiting our daughter and look forward to our next visit. Hard to believe that the rate is almost half of the rate of the Best Western located directly across the street! If I had to say anything negative it would be the cramped bathrooms and lack of drawers. (We basically lived out of our suitcases and hung some clothes in the wardrobe.) As others have mentioned, the sink is located in the bathroom, but that didn't bother us because our room had a large counter where we had room to spread out our toiletries.

Looking forward to our return to the Tangerine!

Room Tip: If you want carpet instead of concrete floors, ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I'm not going to lie, when we drove in, we cringed a little. It's a done-up old motor hotel with back alley parking. Exterior doors. Business-type area.

But!!! It is SPOTLESS. I mean - spotless. You could eat off the floor. The staff were beyond helpful and friendly. When our key card wouldn't work, instead of just handing me a new one, the great girl at the front desk actually walked across to our room (she could still see the office and would have easily seen someone going in, just in case you are wondering she abandoned her post) and made sure it worked, which was amazing. The had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. The murals are perky and colourful. The bathroom was amazing with Grohe fixtures (wish I had those in my house!). The sink is actually in with the tub, which I would have preferred it be on the counter outside so a person could shower while someone else washes up, but that's nothing and personal preference.

TV was new flat screen with tons of channels. Yes, the majority of the parking is in an alley behind the hotel...big deal. We never had trouble finding a spot and felt safe in the area, being primarily a business area, the weekends and evenings were quiet. It's walking distance to Warner Bros, there is a Credit Union ATM across the street, and Salerno's Cafe was great for morning coffee. Don Cuco's! The mexican place next door is AMAZING. The pool - again, spotless, and heated to a lovely temperature so you can have a dip, even in February.

I am singing the praises of this tiny little place to everyone I see and am already making plans to return at least twice in the next year.

Room Tip: If you are looking for the Ritz, this ain't it. If you want clean and convenient and comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LossOfConsciousness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

It was a great hotel, nice rooms, great bedding, great location. Close to Warner Brother Studios and a wonderful coffee shop, Pricillas. Would highly recommend Pricillas, the coffee is wonderful, so much better than Starbucks. Would definitely stay at Tangerine's again. The only downfall was the parking, but if that is the worst not a bad deal. The staff was very, very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccfamily22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The Tangerine is an old motor inn that has been hipified. The rooms are your basic Super 8 with berber carpet, a comfy bed, good lighting, flat screen tv, fridge and coffee maker (with Maxwell House coffee-bleh!). The bathroom is cramped but clean. Complimentary espresso and french pastries in the morning is a nice touch, as is free wifi and free parking.

All in all, a decent place to hang your hat for under $125/night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobeginwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burbank
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,946 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hotel Amarano Burbank
#6 of 20 in Burbank
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#108 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tangerine

Property: The Tangerine
Address: 3901 W Riverside Dr, Burbank, CA 91505-4327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tangerine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tangerine Hotel is a newly remodeled boutique hotel offering its guests an eclectic and colorful backdrop that promises to enhance any visit to Burbank, Hollywood and Los Angeles. Our thoughtfully appointed rooms are a fresh reinterpretation of the classic motel room; equipped with the requisite modern amenities and quality linens, we have also introduced elements to give each room a distinct personality that we hope our guests appreciate and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tangerine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing