We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cake shake!”
Review of Portillo's

Portillo's
Ranked #2 of 235 Restaurants in Buena Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Home to America's favorite Chicago-style hot dogs, Italian beef, burgers, salads, and chocolate cake.
Buena Park, California
Level Contributor
264 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“cake shake!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The chocolate cake is out of this world. It has chocolate cake blended into chocolate shake and has me going into a chocolate coma! As far as I know, no other places in CA has this kind of shake. You gotta try it if you are a chocolate lover. The garbage salad is very good. It has cheese, salami, tomatoes, and tons of other goodies in it. It also comes with a moist poppyseed muffin.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    71
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buena Park, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not bad”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

its not a bad place to eat. kinda on the pricey side but you get a good portion. some of the guys, and myself, from our softball team will sometimes go there after a game to grab a bite to eat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank swhite3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Growing up in Chicago and having moved to California I had been searching and searching for these Italian Beef sandwiches which it seemed only Illinois had. To my astonishment I found Portillos had extended its location to Cali! The atmosphere is fun & unique with excellent service and needless to say probably the best Italian Beef Sanwhices you will ever have! Fries, chocolate shakes and hot dogs to top it off!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OahuAloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Chicago Italian Beef Sammy's in Buena Park on the Cheap”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Oh Em Gee!!! I didn't know you were in Cali and I am indebted to Yelp for bringing up Portillo's (pronounced Por-tih-lows, even though its a Spanish sounding name) on a random search. Lo' and Behold' a Buena Park location and Moreno Valley location popped up. Yelp, thank you! I thought somehow this was a strictly Chicago business, like Lou Malnati's. Having gone to Chicago on work trips, I was introduced to this place by co-workers a few years ago. It's become a habit for me when Im in Chicago to go to Portillo's and often crave it when Im home in Socal. Not anymore, I will drive the 20 miles to get to Portillo's, no lie! It's comfort food Chicago style. This place is for Chicagoans and Cali foodies who may want to discover what a Chicago Italian Beef or Hotdog is like. There are 3 things I love here:

1) Italian beef, dipped, with sweet n hot peppers. This is as authentic Chicago Italian Beef sammy can be. Wet means dipped. Dry means undipped. If I order togo, I like it Dry and take the au jus on the side. This sandwich is cheap under $4.50. Don't expect a French dip sandwich. Don't compare to any sandwich 'cause this is how it's made in Chicago, no judgements!
2) Hotdogs, any of them. My faves are the Polish, with a snap, real hotdogs. Or Italian sausage, oh yeah!!
3) Chocolate Cake Shake. Yes, you read it right, slurp!!!

If you are familiar with Portillos or Chicago, you'll know what I'm talkin' about. There's nothing comparable an experience as downing a Portillos Italian beef sammy or a Hotdog, fries and a a large Chocolate Cake Shake, after taking lactaid pills, LOL. That to me is how it's done, LOL.

They also serve charbroiled burgers here, chicken and fish entrees. I'm not a fan of charbroiled burgers so I usually don't get those. I have heard that their burgers are great. HIghly recommend Portillo's for groups, children and familiies and am glad I found it SoCal. This is a Chicago restaurant institution serving its authentic food ASIS, no comparisons. If you are interested, you can read up on the history of this place on http://portillos.com.

Loves me mah Portillos Italian Beef sammy! Cheap eats and yummy too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paolola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Italian beef!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

It's almost summer and I'm going to be eating up a storm. I loved my Italian beef sandwich. The meat was so tender and tasty! I was real beef some the usual fast food sliced lunchmeat. The bread was great and if your going to take out order the gravy on the side. My Chicago dog was good but I've tasted better. I will be back again to try more!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank doggiedaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portillo's also viewed

 
Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 
Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 

Been to Portillo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing