We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Buena Park
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    148
    130
    90
    123
See reviews for
354
89
33
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fallon, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

So, my first impression of the room was "what a dump"! Apparently they have only remodeled some of the rooms. Our room was not a remodeled one. The room was CLEAN, which is very important and never saw a bug. There were small holes in the ceiling, there were spots on the walls that had been patched but not painted. Really, you couldn't paint the fixed patches? The WIRELESS DOES NOT WORK in the rooms that are not near the lobby. What else? The staff was pretty decent, had one guy ask me how old my laptop was because "it was so heavy" LOL, it is only 2 years old, haven't felt the need replace it yet, thought it was kind of a rude question. Towels are extremely thin, the beds were OK, was worried when I first sat on it but I slept fine. Air conditioner worked well, was not excessively noisy. Oh almost forgot, came back from Universal Studios close to midnight second day we were there and our keys did not work. Apparently they had been keyed wrong. Trust me I was tired and very irritated by that. Overall, if your expectations are not high you will be OK. But it would be a really decent place to stay if they would remodel all the rooms.

Room Tip: Try for a remodeled room close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelz1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

First off let me say that for this hotel to be a Howard Johnson hotel it lacks expectations. We booked this hotel last minute and unfortunately we stayed here. I was very disappointed when we got to our room. It was outdated. Nothing nice at all about this hotel. I regret paying to stay here what a shame. Please remodel this hotel. It is horrible. Toiletries sucked and so did every detail of this room & hotel. The a/c was as loud as a motorcycle driving by, literally. Never staying here again. On the other hand staff was friendly.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Disneymommy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Check in was friendly. Hotel is on a good location for disney and other amusementpark. Citadel outlet near by. Hotel is old, although rooms are big enough. But rooms need an update. We used it on our way out of the city.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank queenie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

the hotel was just ok. the room was clean enough, better than expected for a budget hotel. its very close to Knottsberry Farm and 15 mins to Disney. The breakfast wasnt anything to brag about, but there are waffles. the room had a fridge and micro for your restaurant left overs and keep sodas cold. The room wasnt ready when we arrived around 1pm so we went to Downtown Disney to the Rainforest cafe. Service and food was excellant. Got an appetizer for my meal and it was alot.

Room Tip: dont get a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patric b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#2 of 18 in Buena Park
711 reviews
1.5 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#3 of 18 in Buena Park
1,557 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#1 of 18 in Buena Park
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference  Center
1.8 mi away
Knights Inn Buena Park/Anaheim
0.8 mi away
Portola Inn and Suites
Portola Inn and Suites
#16 of 18 in Buena Park
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm

Property: Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm
Address: 7039 Orangethorpe Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621-3323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Buena Park Hotel Buena Park
Buena Park Howard Johnson
Travelodge Buena Park
Travel Lodge Buena Park
Buena Park Travelodge
Buena Park Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing