We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Dirty! Nasty! Hair in the tub. Hair on the "clean" towels. The floor was filthy. I felt like showering after I showered. And the smoke smell inside the non-smoking room was disgusting. Would not stay here again. I am amazed how different this location is compared to the hojo's in Anaheim.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kws80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 626 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hojo buena park is not a place to stay. Dirty and outdated. The beds had there springs popping out and my back hurt after 4 days. The maid stole my ham for sandwiches out of the fridge. I didnt even get room service one day. The staff were so slow and acted like they didnt like there job. The free continental breakfast was Waffle, bread, rotten apples, sugar cereal. So you had to fight over the toaster, when I took a bite of toast it had a moldy smell to it. The breakfast was very disapointing when I could have paid $25 more a night.and got a warm hot breakfast somewhere else and better rooms.

Room Tip: Do not stay here......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptcbgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

We’re sorry you received accommodations that were unacceptable.
A hotel is defined by the quality of service that it provides to its guests. Because our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, We want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we’re doing right, what we’re doing wrong and how we can improve your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. We are in the process of updating our hotel and services. We look forward to welcoming you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from Howard Johnson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

this hotel its not a two star hotel its more like a dirty old smell hotel .personal do know anything about hotels just stay out motel 6 its mush more better

Room Tip: hotel super 8 in anaheim same price way much better make you feel like a 3 star hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
1  Thank saul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

We appreciate your comments, as they provide us feedback to improve our service and accommodations to our guests. We apologize for all the inconveniences faced during your stay. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred on our part, we apologize. We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I was staying in this hotel for 3 nights during my visit to Dineyland. Hotel was ok, nothing fancy, but just a class higer than the motel. The breakfast was the worst one I have ever seen, including the fruits. The air conditioner was the loudest , and i had to switch that off even in hotter times. Pillows are as hard as it can, and carpets were ok. They provided free parking, and the front desk staff were fine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karthikeyan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, Owner at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received accommodations that were unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. We have upgraded our rooms as seen in the new pictures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

DOn't know what people were talking about...except for the COLD HOT TUB this place was fine

Room Tip: continental breakfast was weak!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigSarge03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This "hotel" shouldn't be rated 2 stars! We arrived to our room and it was old, smelled like urine, shower was dirty, hair on the bathroom floor, damaged furniture, and other various spots and sticky looking stuff on the walls. I would have posted pics of the cobwebs in the corners as well, but you can't see them very well in the pics. Staff unresponsive for refund because we booked through a "third party website"

The pictures say it all!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tustin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Here at Howard Johnson Buena Park we would like to thank you for being our guest and choosing to stay with us. We do apologize for all the experience you had at the hotel. But as seen in the pictures our rooms are clean and comfortable.We would not offer a dirty room to our guests. There is some misunderstanding and we apologize again, it is never our intention to make our guest stay anything less than enjoyable. As we do not charge any guest with the third party reservation we were unable to refund as we do not have any information of your payment to the third party. But we can surely inform the third party that you have not stayed with us and so they can refund the amount you paid for the room. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to service you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here as part of an extended family group vacation to Disney and Knott's Berry and we stayed 5 nights. Got a great deal on Hotels.com.

Pro's: Inexpensive; clean; safe; refrigerator/microwave/coffee maker in the room; good showers; local restaurants are walking distance; friendly staff.

Con's: Usual with older hotels; outlets were limited and worn out so chargers would fall out of the wall. Carpet in our room was old and seemed to track dirt on our bare feet but other rooms didn't have the same issues. No elevator to 2nd floor. Breakfast was limited.

Overall:
We would definitely stay here again. The hotel is older but for the price, it beats the hell out of the Red Roof or other inexpensive hotels in the area. It seems some rooms have been renovated while others are looking a little tired. If you don't like your first room, ask for another and you may get one of the updated rooms. Internet worked well and was reasonably quick and free unlike other more expensive hotels we have stayed at in the past.

We used the hotel as a base and only spent a limited time there. Very, very close to Knott's Berry Farm, about 8 or 9 miles from Disney so it was perfect for our needs. A bit far out for Hollywood/Santa Monica/Malibu etc but LA traffic was the main issue. If you decide to stay here, bring a strip cord for your electrical needs.

All in all, a very enjoyable stay and we were pleasantly surprised at the value for money.

Room Tip: If room is tired looking, ask for another updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

On behalf of the staff and myself, I would like to thank you for your positive feedback. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Park
1.5 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#2 of 19 in Buena Park
1,663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#1 of 19 in Buena Park
790 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference  Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Buena Park
Courtyard Anaheim Buena Park
#7 of 19 in Buena Park
265 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#3 of 19 in Buena Park
820 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Buena Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm

Address: 7039 Orangethorpe Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621-3323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range: $62 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Buena Park Hotel Buena Park
Buena Park Howard Johnson
Travelodge Buena Park
Travel Lodge Buena Park
Buena Park Travelodge
Buena Park Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing