We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Carson City
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible place”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hojo buena park is not a place to stay. Dirty and outdated. The beds had there springs popping out and my back hurt after 4 days. The maid stole my ham for sandwiches out of the fridge. I didnt even get room service one day. The staff were so slow and acted like they didnt like there job. The free continental breakfast was Waffle, bread, rotten apples, sugar cereal. So you had to fight over the toaster, when I took a bite of toast it had a moldy smell to it. The breakfast was very disapointing when I could have paid $25 more a night.and got a warm hot breakfast somewhere else and better rooms.

Room Tip: Do not stay here......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptcbgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We’re sorry you received accommodations that were unacceptable.
A hotel is defined by the quality of service that it provides to its guests. Because our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, We want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we’re doing right, what we’re doing wrong and how we can improve your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. We are in the process of updating our hotel and services. We look forward to welcoming you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from Howard Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    148
    134
    90
    127
See reviews for
361
90
34
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

this hotel its not a two star hotel its more like a dirty old smell hotel .personal do know anything about hotels just stay out motel 6 its mush more better

Room Tip: hotel super 8 in anaheim same price way much better make you feel like a 3 star hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank saul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We appreciate your comments, as they provide us feedback to improve our service and accommodations to our guests. We apologize for all the inconveniences faced during your stay. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred on our part, we apologize. We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buena Park hotels

San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I was staying in this hotel for 3 nights during my visit to Dineyland. Hotel was ok, nothing fancy, but just a class higer than the motel. The breakfast was the worst one I have ever seen, including the fruits. The air conditioner was the loudest , and i had to switch that off even in hotter times. Pillows are as hard as it can, and carpets were ok. They provided free parking, and the front desk staff were fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karthikeyan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, Owner at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received accommodations that were unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. We have upgraded our rooms as seen in the new pictures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

DOn't know what people were talking about...except for the COLD HOT TUB this place was fine

Room Tip: continental breakfast was weak!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigSarge03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This "hotel" shouldn't be rated 2 stars! We arrived to our room and it was old, smelled like urine, shower was dirty, hair on the bathroom floor, damaged furniture, and other various spots and sticky looking stuff on the walls. I would have posted pics of the cobwebs in the corners as well, but you can't see them very well in the pics. Staff unresponsive for refund because we booked through a "third party website"

The pictures say it all!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tustin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Here at Howard Johnson Buena Park we would like to thank you for being our guest and choosing to stay with us. We do apologize for all the experience you had at the hotel. But as seen in the pictures our rooms are clean and comfortable.We would not offer a dirty room to our guests. There is some misunderstanding and we apologize again, it is never our intention to make our guest stay anything less than enjoyable. As we do not charge any guest with the third party reservation we were unable to refund as we do not have any information of your payment to the third party. But we can surely inform the third party that you have not stayed with us and so they can refund the amount you paid for the room. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to service you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here as part of an extended family group vacation to Disney and Knott's Berry and we stayed 5 nights. Got a great deal on Hotels.com.

Pro's: Inexpensive; clean; safe; refrigerator/microwave/coffee maker in the room; good showers; local restaurants are walking distance; friendly staff.

Con's: Usual with older hotels; outlets were limited and worn out so chargers would fall out of the wall. Carpet in our room was old and seemed to track dirt on our bare feet but other rooms didn't have the same issues. No elevator to 2nd floor. Breakfast was limited.

Overall:
We would definitely stay here again. The hotel is older but for the price, it beats the hell out of the Red Roof or other inexpensive hotels in the area. It seems some rooms have been renovated while others are looking a little tired. If you don't like your first room, ask for another and you may get one of the updated rooms. Internet worked well and was reasonably quick and free unlike other more expensive hotels we have stayed at in the past.

We used the hotel as a base and only spent a limited time there. Very, very close to Knott's Berry Farm, about 8 or 9 miles from Disney so it was perfect for our needs. A bit far out for Hollywood/Santa Monica/Malibu etc but LA traffic was the main issue. If you decide to stay here, bring a strip cord for your electrical needs.

All in all, a very enjoyable stay and we were pleasantly surprised at the value for money.

Room Tip: If room is tired looking, ask for another updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
On behalf of the staff and myself, I would like to thank you for your positive feedback. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We just stayed here for 3 nights for our mini-break to Dineyland. Great location for the theme parks. Hotel was clean, nothing fancy, but suitable for our needs. The continental breakfast was the worst I have ever seen, totally inedible, even the apples were gross. That wasn't a huge deal, since right down the street there are plenty of restaurants. The pool should be heated, my kids were very dissapointed that the pool was too cold to swim in. The hot tub is tiny, but adequate. The air conditioner was the loudest I have ever heard, it made this huge clicking, whooshing sound when it would shut off, woke me every time. The walls are very thin and you can hear footsteps above you. Overall, a good deal on a great location. Just keep your expectations as low as the price. :)

Room Tip: Try to get upstairs, otherwise you hear stomping from above you a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taramike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
As General Manager of the Howard Johnson Buena Park, I would like to truly thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We do realize that you have many options here in Buena Park, but we are so pleased that you stayed with us and we were able to accommodate all of your needs and look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#2 of 19 in Buena Park
721 reviews
1.5 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#3 of 19 in Buena Park
1,578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference  Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#1 of 19 in Buena Park
784 reviews
1.8 mi away
Knights Inn Buena Park/Anaheim
0.8 mi away
Portola Inn and Suites
Portola Inn and Suites
#16 of 19 in Buena Park
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm

Property: Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm
Address: 7039 Orangethorpe Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621-3323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Buena Park Hotel Buena Park
Buena Park Howard Johnson
Travelodge Buena Park
Travel Lodge Buena Park
Buena Park Travelodge
Buena Park Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing