We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Buena Park
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“quiet night”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

DOn't know what people were talking about...except for the COLD HOT TUB this place was fine

Room Tip: continental breakfast was weak!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigSarge03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    143
    127
    88
    119
See reviews for
340
88
34
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This "hotel" shouldn't be rated 2 stars! We arrived to our room and it was old, smelled like urine, shower was dirty, hair on the bathroom floor, damaged furniture, and other various spots and sticky looking stuff on the walls. I would have posted pics of the cobwebs in the corners as well, but you can't see them very well in the pics. Staff unresponsive for refund because we booked through a "third party website"

The pictures say it all!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tustin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Here at Howard Johnson Buena Park we would like to thank you for being our guest and choosing to stay with us. We do apologize for all the experience you had at the hotel. But as seen in the pictures our rooms are clean and comfortable.We would not offer a dirty room to our guests. There is some misunderstanding and we apologize again, it is never our intention to make our guest stay anything less than enjoyable. As we do not charge any guest with the third party reservation we were unable to refund as we do not have any information of your payment to the third party. But we can surely inform the third party that you have not stayed with us and so they can refund the amount you paid for the room. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to service you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here as part of an extended family group vacation to Disney and Knott's Berry and we stayed 5 nights. Got a great deal on Hotels.com.

Pro's: Inexpensive; clean; safe; refrigerator/microwave/coffee maker in the room; good showers; local restaurants are walking distance; friendly staff.

Con's: Usual with older hotels; outlets were limited and worn out so chargers would fall out of the wall. Carpet in our room was old and seemed to track dirt on our bare feet but other rooms didn't have the same issues. No elevator to 2nd floor. Breakfast was limited.

Overall:
We would definitely stay here again. The hotel is older but for the price, it beats the hell out of the Red Roof or other inexpensive hotels in the area. It seems some rooms have been renovated while others are looking a little tired. If you don't like your first room, ask for another and you may get one of the updated rooms. Internet worked well and was reasonably quick and free unlike other more expensive hotels we have stayed at in the past.

We used the hotel as a base and only spent a limited time there. Very, very close to Knott's Berry Farm, about 8 or 9 miles from Disney so it was perfect for our needs. A bit far out for Hollywood/Santa Monica/Malibu etc but LA traffic was the main issue. If you decide to stay here, bring a strip cord for your electrical needs.

All in all, a very enjoyable stay and we were pleasantly surprised at the value for money.

Room Tip: If room is tired looking, ask for another updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
On behalf of the staff and myself, I would like to thank you for your positive feedback. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We just stayed here for 3 nights for our mini-break to Dineyland. Great location for the theme parks. Hotel was clean, nothing fancy, but suitable for our needs. The continental breakfast was the worst I have ever seen, totally inedible, even the apples were gross. That wasn't a huge deal, since right down the street there are plenty of restaurants. The pool should be heated, my kids were very dissapointed that the pool was too cold to swim in. The hot tub is tiny, but adequate. The air conditioner was the loudest I have ever heard, it made this huge clicking, whooshing sound when it would shut off, woke me every time. The walls are very thin and you can hear footsteps above you. Overall, a good deal on a great location. Just keep your expectations as low as the price. :)

Room Tip: Try to get upstairs, otherwise you hear stomping from above you a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taramike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
As General Manager of the Howard Johnson Buena Park, I would like to truly thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We do realize that you have many options here in Buena Park, but we are so pleased that you stayed with us and we were able to accommodate all of your needs and look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I chose this hotel for a weekend trip to take my son to Knott's Berry Farm. The location is great. They offer free parking and I felt safe leaving my car out. They have many restaurants around the area. They offered a continental breakfast. It included a waffle maker, both hot and cold cereals, fruit, toast, juices, and coffee. Breakfast was busy in the morning and you could not take your food to your room which was kind of a inconvience considering at certain times all the tables would be full. They didn't monitor the breakfast as far as you could have taken the food to your room. The staff was friendly had no problems communicating. Also they simply charge for the room no authorizational holds on your card. I think this is great. I would stay again.

Room Tip: I would request a room on the 1st floor since I only saw stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
We do our best to anticipate the needs of our guest and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to serving you again. See you during the next Spring Break!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Just got back from my spring break vacation going to Disneyland, the hotel was pretty clean and was in a part of town with a lot of places to eat that you could walk right over too. i was surprised to find out that there was a mini fridge and microwave in the room along with cabinets and an eating area. No view though which wasnt what we were really there for. It was nice to have a shuttle take us to Disneyland but the only time it would come and go was 930am, to 1030 pm at night which meant if we didnt get a taxi we would of had to stay there for 13 hours which is pretty long. Towels could be better, complimentary breakfast could be alot better, but still free, but overall it was great for 40 bucks a night. Alot nicer than a motel 6.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbigail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We booked for 3 nights during the Presidents Day weekend. Unfortunately for us we had an emergency and had to head back home to Las Vegas after one night. Amy, the Manager, was understanding and without hesitation, refunded me the two nights I was not to stay even though I used Wyndam Rewards to book it without cancellation refunds. She said "It doesn't make sense for us to charge you if you won't be staying here." The room was just what we expected for the price - $50 per night. It was basic and clean with a small fridge and coffee maker. The spa was being fixed but the pool was clean and decent sized.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
1.5 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#2 of 18 in Buena Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#3 of 18 in Buena Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#1 of 18 in Buena Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Inn and Suites
Portola Inn and Suites
#15 of 18 in Buena Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference  Center
1.8 mi away
Knights Inn Buena Park/Anaheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm

Property: Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm
Address: 7039 Orangethorpe Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621-3323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Buena Park Hotel Buena Park
Buena Park Howard Johnson
Travelodge Buena Park
Travel Lodge Buena Park
Buena Park Travelodge
Buena Park Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing