We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth star for price.”
Review of Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colony Inn
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Reviewed January 13, 2012

An average hotel, much like anywhere else we've stayed over our month in USA. So, 3 stars for average. But add to that an extra star for cost (we paid $55 per night) and proximity to Knotts.

Minor issues with hand basins not draining well but of no significance. Friendly staff, nice basic continental breakfast and large spacious room.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Organs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 64 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

Initially went to Portola motel, which was a major disappointment (the room smelled of sweat and the bathroom was the worst), bailed on that and went to this motel, and it was a major upgrade in price, cleanliness, and location.... we will be back again if in the area...very happy with the decision. Our trip to Knotts was saved because of this.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bemindful01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel has been renamed to Colony Inn and unfortunately the new management and name didn't put any money into it. The rooms were poorly cleaned with a lot of lint and noticeable dust. The sheets were worn and definitely many years old. There were no Geese harmed in the making of their tiny pillows. Honestly, the pillows you receive on the airlines are more comfortable than these ones. On a positive note, the gentlemen at the front desk were kind. The only reason we stayed here is because the Knott's Berry Resort was fully booked.
I rated this hotel 2 stars only because it is right across the street from Knott's Berry Farm, which is about the only thing going for it. If you are going to spend the majority of your time out and all the other hotels within walking distance are full, than this one will serve its purpose.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3r1ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

It's a perfect stay and the manager was very helpfull. I reserved for me and my children that hotel beause is near the park Knott's berry farm. At the front desk you can reserve the tickets and pay by cash with special price and also I pay for Sea World and Universal Studio. I will come back again with a family group.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The Room was around $55 right across Knotts next to a Walgreens. The room was spacious with a microwave and fridge, the bed was typical, comfortable enough, Wifi and the offered a continental breakfast( toast, muffins, cereal, oj, apple juice and coffee ) I really don't have nothing bad to say about this motel except that they can use more employees for better service. I mean, if I was in the area, this would be the place for me.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Raw_BZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I saw some horrible reviews & a few good reviews about this motel before I checked in cos I needed to visit the Knott's berry farm during the memorial week end. As this motel was conveniently located minutes of walk away from the park, I took the chance with some skepticism. To my pleasant surprise the service was pretty good, the room was quite spacious with comfortable beds with many amenities at your disposal. free breakfast (Cannot grumble at all for what I paid!). All in all it was a pleasing experience. I believe the management has made an effort to improve the standards of the hotel.
I truly understand that everyone cannot be pleased. But I truly was pleased & I am so glad that I stayed. For the 69 bucks I paid, I need I ask for anything more? Hell no!!!! I 'd gladly go back there again for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John77SanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

FYI: Do Not Be Fooled By The So Called Great Reviews!

CONS: pubic hairs & long hairs embeded into all of the bedding, heavy stains on all bedding, walls dirty, t.v didnt work, found baby roaches in the bath room at nite, one bed had a huge indent on mattress, pillows were stained yellow, mattress stained, people living at the hotel SO Loud at nite.

PROS: close to knotts( about 5-10 min walk), free parking, managers at front desk friendly.

We are not picky people of course things are not going to be perfect, but this was beyound ridiculous. We did not check out because it was 9pm when we got to our room and our 3yr old was passed out cold after a long day at knotts, thank god we brought bedding from home in case we needed extra. That nite we complained to the manager and he gave us a 50% discount, even after that trust me it was still not worth it.We won'tbe staying here ever again.

Breakfast: blueberry & banana nut muffin, oj, apple juice,milk,lucky charms,corn flakes

We Recommend: RAMADA AT THE MAINGATE DISNEYLAND wehave stayed here several times and have always been completely happy

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumkin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#2 of 19 in Buena Park
1,626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#3 of 19 in Buena Park
803 reviews
1.5 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#1 of 19 in Buena Park
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn Buena Park/Anaheim
1.4 mi away
Portola Inn and Suites
Portola Inn and Suites
#16 of 19 in Buena Park
274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Buena Park
Courtyard Anaheim Buena Park
#6 of 19 in Buena Park
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Inn

Address: 7800 Crescent Ave, Buena Park, CA 90620-3950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range: $73 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colony Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Park Super 8
Quality Inn Buena Park
Buena Park Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing