We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More food than you need but great”

Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 233 Restaurants in Buena Park
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Multyfarnham Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“More food than you need but great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Chicken, Big salad, great Bread, great staff and great atmosphere. really the best place to eat when you are at Knotts..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Una W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    258
    179
    78
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano
Level Contributor
210 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Dinner in the Universe!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

As good or better than ever. Quality has not slipped and deserves a "A+". Usually go 3 -4 times a year and never disappointed. The best fried chicken you will ever eat. Great sides and deserts all for a set price which is a great value as well. Just be prepared for long waits as seems the line never let's up for hours on end. But definitely worth the wait.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Food, But Not on Its A-Game”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have been going to Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant for at least the past ten years. It's become somewhat of a tradition to go for breakfast during the holiday season, get their great biscuits and gravy and have a hearty (and not so healthy) start to our day either at Knotts or nearby Disneyland. I can remember the wait staff always friendly and on their A-game despite staggering lines and a jam-packed dining hall. Unfortunately, this last time around, it felt like the restaurant got stuck in a rut and simply wasn't on its A-game.
We went on a Tuesday morning. There was no wait but the dining hall was moderately full. There was only one waitress attending to all the tables...about 7 or 8 in all. It took a while for our drink order, took awhile to get our food order, and our water and coffee cups required us to physically get up, find the waitress or the busboy and ask for drink refills. When our waitress returned with our food, she couldn't remember who ordered what so it became a big guessing game where the plates went. While that might not necessarily be a big deal, it was simply compounded by everything else. It just seemed like the restaurant has become comfortable in their ability to fill seats - and continue to fill seats - regardless of the quality of their service. The food was cooked well and their fried chicken and eggs did not disappoint. Their gravy wasn't as good as I remembered (seemed thinner this time around) but regardless, the meal itself was satisfying. I'm giving it 3-stars because I know the roots for a great restaurant and dining experience are there, but I think it just needs to trim up some of the dry branches to keep to the standards I'm sure Mrs. Knotts would demand.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good but not what I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We had to wait forever for a table for one thing. The food is delicious, but they gave us way too much. The place could use a facelift really bad too.

Helpful?
Thank scorpionstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California, USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Best Fried Chicken I Ever Had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Mrs. Knott's recipes cooked up and being served daily. Huge portions. One dinner plate is enough for two. Fried chicken, mashed potatoes with gravy, veggies, soup and salad and biscuits. Don't forget the slice of boysenberry pie. Very filing and delicious.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant also viewed

Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 
Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 
Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 

Been to Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing