We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I've Been Mocked for my Love of Mrs. Knotts”

Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 235 Restaurants in Buena Park
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
544 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“I've Been Mocked for my Love of Mrs. Knotts”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I am unashamed to declare my love for the Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant. I love it! I don't mind waiting over an hour in line for dinner. Heck, it's part of the experience. I love every single course, with a special affinity for the delicious chicken noodle soup. I've made many trips just for the chicken restaurant.

Unfortunately, my boyfriend and his father do not share the same sentiment. I took them to Mrs. Knotts (after spending a whole trip hyping it) after a long day in the theme park. We waiting a mere ten minutes, which is an unheard of short wait and were seated.

Admittedly, service was very slow. They were near closing and we had a newbie server. The food came out a little cold, including the boysenberry pie served with ice cream.

They will never come back and I have endured much mocking over it. In particular, they thought that the chicken breast were an unnatural, baseball shape. I have to admit, they looked funny.

I think by now, everyone in England knows about the terrible experience at the chicken restaurant. I, for one, will definitely return. I still love the place!!!

Please visit my blog for all things theme park and trips!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    264
    182
    80
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Mrs. Knotts Service and Chicken dinner are really excellant. Only thing for us is to avoid the small area up the stairs on the left and the small room on the right. The trays for the dirty dishes are right there and the bus persons throw the dishes in and sometimes empty one tray of dishes into another and the commotion is the only thing I find in an otherwise great eating experience. Buttermilk biscuits, fried chicken and mashed potatoes, the pie, and leftovers always goes home with us because we have no more room! Mmmmm!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ran051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch was excellent”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I had the Champagne Sunday brunch. It was WONDERFUL. We had reservations for noon but arrived an hour early. They allowed us to check in and were seated within 5 minutes. The selection of foods was amazing and everything was so good. We will definitely come back for this the next time we are in that area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lots of food, good value”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went for dinner and waited about 20 minutes. There is so much food in the chicken dinner! Salad AND soup, rolls, mashed potatoes, corn, several pieces of chicken, and pie. The chicken was very good. Pay the extra dollar for the berry butter, it is outstanding. I took it and the leftover rolls back to our hotel room and had them for breakfast the next morning. The boysenberry pie was delicious and not to be missed. For the amount of food you get, it is not expensive. The atmosphere is like a step back in time, this is an old-school restaurant, but cute. You can tell the focus is on the food which didn't disappoint.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvAZTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was very disappointed in this place. I had heard wonderful things about their fried chicken, and being a fried chicken fanatic, I had to try it. I found the chicken very dry and tasteless. The mashed potatoes were like paste and the corn without any saving grace. Even the biscuits were below par. The best parts of the meal were the salad and the cherry pie.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asteinharter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant also viewed

Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 
Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 
Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 

Been to Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing