We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of food, good value”

Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 235 Restaurants in Buena Park
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lots of food, good value”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went for dinner and waited about 20 minutes. There is so much food in the chicken dinner! Salad AND soup, rolls, mashed potatoes, corn, several pieces of chicken, and pie. The chicken was very good. Pay the extra dollar for the berry butter, it is outstanding. I took it and the leftover rolls back to our hotel room and had them for breakfast the next morning. The boysenberry pie was delicious and not to be missed. For the amount of food you get, it is not expensive. The atmosphere is like a step back in time, this is an old-school restaurant, but cute. You can tell the focus is on the food which didn't disappoint.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvAZTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    272
    189
    82
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, CA
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was very disappointed in this place. I had heard wonderful things about their fried chicken, and being a fried chicken fanatic, I had to try it. I found the chicken very dry and tasteless. The mashed potatoes were like paste and the corn without any saving grace. Even the biscuits were below par. The best parts of the meal were the salad and the cherry pie.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asteinharter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“I dream of this chicken. Every piece was cooked perfectly.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

It's probably a good thing I live halfway across the world or I'd be here every week. Every piece of chicken, no matter the size and part, was cooked to perfection. Evenly crisp yet very tender and juicy inside. I don't know how they do it. Every item was delicious. From the soft warm bread to the just-right mash and tasty soup. We're not into sweets, but the pies were good. I was all prepared to have to doggy bag a piece of the chicken as I saw on neighbouring tables how much food was served for the chicken dinner I ordered... But it was so good I only had to pack the pie. I finished everything else.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowCombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Three adults shared the chicken dinner - we ordered an extra salad. Everything was delicious, arriving very quickly. Loved the boysenberry punch and the pie! My son devoured two baskets of buns. We went for lunch about 1 pm and didn't have to wait for a table.The waiter was very attentive and made the suggestion to share as he knew that the portions were quite large. I would definitely recommend that you try this restaurant.The gift shops that are connected to the restaurant have some very interesting souvenirs - we bought tea and jam to bring home.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank samanthandtravismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Outstanding Customer Service”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stopped at Mrs. Knott's after a day of exploring Knott's Berry Farm. While we only sampled the pie and ice cream we enjoyed our snack, although next time I would definitely save room for their famous fried chicken...it smelled amazing. The highlight of this review is the excellent customer service we encountered, during the meal my partner left her wedding ring on the table and forgot it when we left. We returned to the restaurant a couple hours later and spoke with manager on duty, he had the ring and returned to it to her upon her description. The manager informed us that the server had turned it in to him when she found it, we were extremely grateful (beyond the sentimental value it was a very pricey diamond ring). We offered a cash reward and the manager declined, stating that he would like us to remember the wonderful customer service and return to his restaurant again. Thank you Mrs. Knott's Restaurant, your staff are amazing and honest!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winter_Grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant also viewed

Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 
Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 

Been to Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing