We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible, Amazing!”

Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 235 Restaurants in Buena Park
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible, Amazing!”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Food was delicious. We liked how the kids meals were not served with fries. It was a great change in pace and the kids got mashed potatoes which they LOVE. The food was wonderful. The fried chicken meals are large. (Dinner) and lunch ones perfect size. I have a club type sandwhich and am so bummed I didn't snap a picture. It was beautiful. We were told to come here as it is a great breather from the park and we are SO glad we did over the neighboring restaurant. Give em a try, it's worth every penny, bite, you will enjoy!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worstmomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    270
    185
    80
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I don't think I got the same fried chicken everyone else has had...”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My husband and I both got the friend chicken. He got the bigger chicken dinner with breast, wing, leg and thigh. It included a salad with ranch dressing, mashed potatoes and gravy, cabbage w/ham, rhubarb cherry soup.
I had the 2 piece with a breast and a leg. We split his piece of boysenberry pie. We both had the fruit punch.
Atmosphere- Grandma's house decor. Old fashioned country home. It needs a good cleaning. Our table was sticky and smelled like a dirty dish rag. Antibacterial wipes come in handy!
The waiter, Tom, was friendly and helpful.
After all the hype and reading what others say about this chicken.. I was expecting the best chicken I ever tasted, but it wasn't. Not even close. I am baffled. It wasn't juicy and it wasn't hot. It was the middle of lunch service and the food wasn't hot.
The punch was good, but very sweet. I couldn't finish one glass. I think the refills are free on the punch.
Cabbage w/ ham. I like cabbage and this tasted good.The other side option was corn.
Rhubarb Cherry (chilled soup) It was sweet and sour. More sweet than sour. I am glad I tried it.
Mashed potatoes and gravy. *sigh* I LOVE mashed potatoes, but I didn't even like these. They were very disappointing. The chicken gravy was tasty and very rich. I dipped my biscuits in it.
Basket of biscuits and jams - My favorite part of the meal.

Pie - thick crust on top and bottom. It tasted good. I wish we would have had it heated and a la mode. It would have been perfect. The crust was good. The top of the crust is a lot thicker than most pie crusts. It was tender and baked just right.

I know a lot of people love this place, but I guess we didn't have the same experience. I have no desire to go back. I'll drive to Church's fried chicken instead.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMuffinTop22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“chicken is unbeatable”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We only got togo, but the chicken was some of the best I've ever had. The biscuits were very good and, of course, the jam is awsome. I even likes the cabbage, which I've never liked before, and the country gravy is yummy. Did not disappoint

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbrum914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
203 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Simple Excellence”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Extremely simple atmosphere. Perfect. Service was fast and friendly. Chicken dinner was excellent. Great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always A Great Meal”
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We live in San Diego and whenever we find ourselves up in Orange County or Los Angeles, we always try to stop at Mrs. Knott's for dinner. This time, we were coming back from a taping of "America's Got Talent" The best time to go is during the winter months when there are fewer tourists, but I'd go in July if the opportunity availed itself. During the summer, because of it's popularity, the lines can get quite long. If you are there during the summer (or holiday periods), I would recommend eating outside the prime time meal hours if possible (or make a reservation in advance).

Our waitress (Robin) was outstanding. She went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. We always get the traditional Chicken Dinner ($15.90). That includes soup + salad + biscuits + 4 pieces of chicken (breast, wing, thigh, leg) + mashed potatoes + vegetable + a slice of pie. That's a lot of food. We always bring home (2 each) pieces of chicken, extra biscuits, and the pie in a doggie bag.

The food is always great. We've been coming here for many, many years.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDPadreFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant also viewed

Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 
Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 
Buena Park, Orange County
 

Been to Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing