We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portola Inn and Suites
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I booked this hotel through Priceline for two queen beds, upon arrival I was given one queen and a roll out. I was told by the front desk there wasn't two queen beds available, after trying to figure out a solution all they could offer me was two uneven cots thrown together with an old queen mattress that they pulled out of storage this process took a very long time and made an extremely uncomfortable uneven bed. They only included two pillows after asking I also had to ask for towels and was not provided with coffee cups in room. Very disappointed in both the hotel and Priceline. The showers and floor were not very clean. Breakfast offered a variety of muffins and bagels along with mini juices and fresh apple and oranges, however when bagels were available there was no cream cheese available and when cream cheese finally became available no bagels. I wouldn't recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DisneyTraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at Portola Inn and Suites. Here at Portola Inn and Suites, we take a feedback good or bad into great consideration, as all feedback helps us improve the condition and service of the hotel. Please apologize us for not having the room you had originally booked. It does not look professional when things such as the one you experience occurs to our valued guests. I have already talked with our front desk agents so this does not happen again. I have also conducted a meeting with our housekeeping team and have retrained them on the amenities a room must have before making available to rent. Please give us another opportunity to stay with us and see all the improvement we have made thanks in part to the feedback you have provided for us.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Portola Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 273 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

We arrived on Thursday July 3rd. We did arrive before check in time so they let us pre-register, and were told they would call us when are room was ready. This was fine with us knowing it was super busy. We took our kids to the beach and had fun. Our phone never did ring. So around 2:30-3:00PM we headed back to our room check in is listed at 2:00PM. Our room was not ready, the front desk girl said it would be 30min. so we let our kids swim 1and half hours later we are told its ready. Next our key will not work so frustrated. I walk back to office only to receive new keys that are not working. The girl at the desk was really no help at all. This went on for 45 more min to try and get in our room finally she came to help and figured out it was her fault(duh)
The room was only ok. The desk chair has someone else's hair all over (gross) our shower tub was falling apart. The bed was comfortable. We did like that the suite we were in could fit our group of 8 ( one was a baby) the breakfast was a joke! Plastic wrapped bread and muffins. The pool was nice and clean. Parking was ok but when full it's crowded. With just a little more money I recommend staying at the Marriott across the street. They serve a much nicer breakfast. That will help with the more money part! I will never stay here again and I will never recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mbjcmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for taking a moment out of your busy schedule to provide us with your experience here at Portola Inn and Suites. We would to to apologize for all the inconvenience you encountered during your stay at our Buena Park property. It was very unprofessional of our guest service representatives to not keep you and your family updated on the condition of your reserved room. We always follow specific set of rules when it comes to keeping our guest up-to-date with the condition of their rooms. We will retrain our team members so this does not happen again, as you and your family were patient enough to wait for your room to be clean, and then patient enough to walk back and forth to the lobby to get your room keys activated. Again, sorry for the inconvenience and once more accept our apologies.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at Portola Inn during a mega road-trip vacation that including eight different lodging accommodations and found this hotel to be exceedingly average. Its location was okay but a little too far from Knott's Berry Farm to walk to the park with two children (just over a mile of busy streets), so we still had to drive to the park and pay for parking. The pool was small and clearly visible from a busy road, so we didn't utilize it. The parking lot was cramped and filled with extra cars, so we struggled to squeeze our car into a space at the end of each day.

When we arrived around 11pm the first night, our hotel room was ready for us, and we had no problems getting into the room. There was a hotel room party going on downstairs (our room was upstairs and, thankfully, a decent distance from the room) with some very loud, drunk people. Fortunately, our children were very tired, so we took them up the stairs instead of the elevator (that was closer to the party room) so they didn't have to witness much of the unacceptable public behavior. And, thank the heavens, the room was far enough away that we didn't have to worry about the noise, although the direct upstairs residents must have had a rough night.

The room overlooked a busy street, and the bright hotel sign blared in our window, but this wasn't a problem. The street noise drowned out the party noise and the street sign functioned as a useful night light. The room had a fridge, which we used, and the complimentary Internet connection worked well. Although furnishings and decorations were on the lower, budget level in quality, and the room felt dark and dingy, everything appeared clean and worked fine, which is what you would expect for the money paid. The breakfast was worthless, consisting of plastic wrapped bread, bagels, Danishes, juice and milk in tiny boxes, and atrocious coffee ... definitely not enough for an action-filled day at Knott's Berry Farm. We skipped it and grabbed breakfast and coffees at a restaurant down the street.

All in all, the hotel room was what you would expect for the price but the location was a little too far from the park to be considered walking distance and the complimentary breakfast was not enough to be used as a breakfast. Also, any hotel that does not stay on top of visitors' cars filling up their lot and parties in hotel rooms going until late in the night is not catering to families like ours. Although the price was good and the room acceptable, we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for providing for us such a detailed review on your stay at Portola Inn and Suites. And please let me state that what you experienced during the night you checked in is not what you will typically find at our property, as we do cater to families from around the world, and we try to provide for our guest a serene place for them to rest. But again, there are going to be instances were some of our guest service representatives will forget the training that was given to them, and allow such things to happen at our property. For that reason, we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have gone over retraining our guest service representatives and we assure that the loud party that you happening when you were there will not happen again. We thank you very much for all the feedback and this feedback will help improve how we manage the property. We truly hope you will be able to stay with us on your next visit to Buena Park.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 8 days, while on holiday. Room was tidy, clean and comfortable. Great location with Knottsberry farm within walking distance, as well as other attractions like, Medieval and Pirates, Titanic, Bodies exhibition, Wax Museum and Buena Downtown Mall. We used public transport, and the bus was 250 meters from the hotel. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much when it came to helping us with directions, timetables and bus routes. Dennie's is just down the road and you get 15% off with your room key, and Sizzler's across the road and Fudruckers, Asian and a mini mart 100m away. Definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor straight opposite the spa and swimming pool, which was great for night time af...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you so much for providing us such a detailed review on our property during your recent visit to Portola Inn and Suites. You have mentioned all the great things that make us a preferable hotel in the city of Buena Park. Please know that all our rooms are spacious, immaculate and you cannot beat our room rates. We offer free Wi-Fi, parking and complimentary continental breakfast every morning. Our property has a pool and a jacuzzi tub for all to use. As you have stated, we are located five minutes from Knott's Berry Farm, and those tourist attractions you mentioned are also within a ten minute drive. Our multilingual team members are always ready to assist you with any concern and question you might have, and we are open twenty-four hours. We hope you will be able to stay with us next time you visit the city of Buena Park.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a nice, clean hotel in the middle of the S. Calif. entertainment district. We have stayed here several times now and have enjoyed each stay. Very convenient and close to all the fun stuff. Parking very close to the rooms. Pool clean and well liked.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for been a continued guest to Portola Inn and Suites. Yes, our location is ideal to those who want to explore the wonders that Southern California has to offer. We are a five minute drive to Knott's Berry Farm, as well as Medieval Times and the Buena Park Mall. At the same time, we are only twenty minutes away from Disneyland and about twenty-five minutes away from Universal Studios Hollywood. As you can see, all our rooms a fully furnished with a flat screen television, microwave, Iron, Iron board, coffee maker, fridge. We also provide all our guests with free Wi-Fi, continental breakfast, and parking (which it just steps away from the entrance to the rooms). Thank you again for the wonderful comments and for been a returning guest.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great stay..arrived at 3 pm ..staff got us in quick! Easy parking, close to Knotts. Super price and very clean, well organized staff and really easy parking...no charge! Great room, comfortable, quiet and all things necessary..Frig too! Great Sizzler across street..best donuts around corner from Construction site (new tall center) quiet though! Multilingual staff, 4 language staff! I figure Knotts gets world travelers..just a word...Disney $$$ but worth every penny..Knotts.$ simple.

Room Tip: Elevator if you need and all rooms seemed equal in access and noise. Not giant rooms but great for...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the opportunity to use this mode of media to inform us on your experience at Portola Inn and Suites, which is located only minutes from Knott's Berry Farm. We are delighted to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay at our Buena Park property and that our multilingual team members shined for you during your stay at our property. As you were able to find for yourself, we are ideally located to such attraction places as Medieval Times, Disneyland and Universal Studios Hollywood. Many restaurants and clothing stores are also within a ten minute radius from Portola Inn and Suites. We hope you were able to take advantage of our free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast and we hope to see you once more on your next visit to Buena Park.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

It was comfortable stay in Portola Inn for 5 days with really good price. Just 8 mins driving to Disneyland. Our family loved the comfortable beds. During the stay, there was something weird fire alarm at 1:00AM. Other than that, everything was really really good. Good location! Great price through the website!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ_Jung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for taking a moment out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guests with your feedback on Portola Inn and Suites. We are glad to hear that you chose to stay at Portola Inn and Suites based on two important things and that is location and room rate. As you just mentioned above, we are located less than ten minutes away from Disneyland and only five minutes from Knott's Berry Farm. We are located near many restaurants, and about a mile from the Buena Park mall. The room rates here at Portola Inn and Suites are affordable, and all our rooms are up-to-date, spacious and are always kept super clean by our wonderful housekeeping team. We hope you will be able to stay with us on your next visit to the wonderful city of Buena Park.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#1 of 19 in Buena Park
735 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#2 of 19 in Buena Park
1,610 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#3 of 19 in Buena Park
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference  Center
1.5 mi away
Knights Inn Buena Park/Anaheim
0.7 mi away
Radisson Suites Hotel Anaheim - Buena Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Address: 7921 Orangethorpe Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621-3436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range: $69 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing