We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great customer service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portola Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portola Inn and Suites
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Buena Park
Bellflower, California
1 review
“Great customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Portola Inn while visiting Knott's Berry Farm a couple of nights ago. I have to say that I am very satisfied with our stay.The young man in the front desk was extremely friendly and hospitable.He told us of fun things to do and great restaurants nearby.The room was clean and spacious.Free Wi-Fi is also a good feature Portola provides us with.Additionally,the breakfast they offered were just the things I like to eat in the morning.Something not too heavy,such as fruit,toast, orange juice ect. The location of the Inn is perfect.It's not on a busy street like Beach Blv but it is still close to all the attractions and restaurants that are nearby.I had a great experience here,I would definitely recommend this place with others and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you have about our Buena Park property. We are glad to hear that you found all the amenities we offer to your liking. And that your stay at our The Portola Inn and Suites was based on pure location, as we are located five minutes away from Knott's Berry Farm, and we are also located on a not too busy intersection of Buena Park. Our entire team is highly trained at providing their absolute best customer service, the same goes for our housekeeping team as our spacious rooms are always kept up-to-date and clean. Thank you again for the wonderful comments.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    74
    52
    26
    28
See reviews for
124
42
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel while we were staying in the area and visiting Knott's Berry Farm and had a great experience. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The free Wi-Fi is a great feature and the complimentary breakfast is appreciated. While breakfast wasn't a full hot food breakfast it had all the essentials; bagels, muffins, toast, fruit, OJ etc. The room was clean and a great size, not too small and cramped, but spacious with a flat-screen. Very happy with our stay and it is right around the corner from everything you could want, the restaurants and amusement parks, worked out perfectly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the feedback you have provided us and future guests. We really appreciate the kind comments you have about our Buena Park property as we are also happy to know that you enjoyed staying at Portola Inn and Suites. Yes, all of our rooms are spacious and our team members do their best to maintain a clean environment for all of our guest to enjoy. As you already know, we do offer free Wi-Fi to all our guest, have free complimentary breakfast and parking is also free. We are the ideal hotel for those who want to explore the beautiful theme parks that Southern California has to offer, as we are only five minutes away from Knott's Berry Farm, and fifteen minutes away from Disneyland. Thank you again for the wonderful comments.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We had found this property online and we thought it was a good price and the pictures looked good. However, upon arrival, we discover a whole different picture. The grounds were adequately maintained. The room pictures and pool pictures online misrepresents the actual hotel. Motel style, bad area (businesses across the street had bars on the windows). Families....stay away

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank st34k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for deciding to stay at Portola Inn and Suites during your visit to the Buena Park area. Please let me inform you that what you saw in the neighboring business is not something to have worried about since our neighborhood is one of the safest around the area. We assure you that we cater to may families from many parts of the world and that come to our Buena Park area because of the safety the city provides to all its citizens and tourists. Our room are spacious and extremely clean, as we love to keep our property as clean as possible, and by keeping a property clean and up to the standards of the pictures, we are sure to received a continuous flow of repeat guests, which we do. Thank you again for the feedback you have provided for us, we hope you will be able to visit us next time you are in the Buena Park area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hi, my name is Carlos .

I recommend Portola Inn and Suites to any one. I stay in Portala Inn and Suites on a weekly basis. I have been staying here for approximately 1 year and am always content with the service and hospitality. Darmesh and Nita are very welcoming, courteous, and professional. That is why I continue to stay here. If you are in the area consider Portola Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are extremely happy to hear that you are a continuous guest to Portola Inn and Suites. And we are also delighted to hear that the great costumer service provided to you by our team members is what brings you back every time you are in the area. As you know, we take great pride with the costumer service we offer, and from your comments, we know that our team is doing just that. Again, thank you for the wonderful comments and see you soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked for 4 days, even though we were out most of the time, I may have to say the service was Great! The guy at the counter was helpful, polite and reliable. Room was very clean, new clean and extra towels everyday. We definitely will come back in our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunice16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback on Portola Inn and Suites. We are glad you enjoy your stay at our property to its fullest and that you found our spacious rooms, towels and service to your liking. As you know we do offer free Wi-Fi, parking and complimentary continental breakfast, and we are also open twenty four hours. We are located in the beautiful city of Buena Park, and are only five minutes away from Knott's Berry Farm. Our team members are highly trained at offering great costumer service and we hope you and your family were able to received such wonderful service.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Good convienient easy to find.close to disney and berry farm.needs a little lift but ok for a stopover.staff friendly and helpful .small outside pool and spa but was used.fridge/coffee maker/microwave/ tv .lift to floors accesable

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjwmaz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking a moment out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guests with your review. Portola Inn and Suites is situated five minutes away from Knott's Berry Farm, and only fifteen minutes from Disneyland. Our property is clean as we try to maintain a clean environment for all our guest. Also our newly remodeled and spacious rooms come fully equipped with a microwave, fridge, flat screen television and a personal coffee maker. We are glad our team members shined for you during your stay and that you enjoyed your stay at Portola Inn and Suites.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Spent one night to attend a wedding in town. The rooms are very clean, large and comfortable. The staff are polite and friendly. We enjoyed our stay. However, it's frustrating when basic comforts and necessities are overlooked. Our room keys didn't work. Our TV had grainy and blurred reception and our remote did not work properly. The WiFi is extremely weak and loses connection. There were only two small hand soaps and two modest size towels in the bathroom. We actually had to go out and buy body wash and shampoo. The shower pressure is very low due largely to a low pressure head. These are all things that can easily be remedied and which I hope will be done. We look forward to revisiting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jabmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you so much for all the feedback you have provided us with. As you know all feedback positive or negative helps us improve where improvement is needed. And I can see from the kind and wonderful feedback you have provided us with, that Portola Inn and Suites needs improvements in those basic comforts and necessities that make a hotel experience worthy. Our team will work diligently on fixing this issues you encountered during your stay that way when you come back to stay with us, your stay will be one pleasure and fun. Thank you once more for the kind feedback you have provided us to improve on.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#1 of 18 in Buena Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#3 of 18 in Buena Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#2 of 18 in Buena Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Anaheim North/Buena Park
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference  Center
0.7 mi away
Radisson Suites Hotel Buena Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Property: Portola Inn and Suites
Address: 7921 Orangethorpe Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621-3436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing