We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice HOTEL managed by very good People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portola Inn and Suites
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Reviewed July 3, 2013

It was my first experience in hotels in California and I am very pleased to say that it was great. The rooms are good, could be better, the service in general is good too.
But what I think is really important is the people that manages this hotel. Both of them were very kind, and all my family received an outstanding service. The simply solved all our issues. And I personnaly saw that It wasn´t an exception. They work gently an give that non valuable servce thet makes the difference. Congrats

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank for the feedback you have provided for us on your recent stay at Portola Inn and Suites. And thank you for deciding to stay with us during your Southern California vacation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our immaculate property and that our costumer service shined for you and your entire family. We hope you did noticed the brand new flat screen television we have upgrade our rooms with, along with a personal coffee maker, fridge and microwave. Once again, thank you for the feedback.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 274 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

The front desk person was probably the most friendly hotel receptionist I've met. He put us in a quiet corner room. The room was clean. We didn't spend much time at the hotel, but it suited our needs. There was free wifi and lots of TV channels. We left too early to have the continental breakfast.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank blondeluvasing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We are glad to hear of the magnificent costumer service you encountered while checking-in to Portola Inn and Suites. And we are also happy to know that you liked our spacious and immaculate rooms. As you have mentioned, we do offer free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast-freshly brewed coffee included. All of our recently remodeled rooms come with a brand new bedding package, flat screen television, microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker. We also have a twenty-four hour front desk. Thank you once more for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I planned a last minute Disney trip for my birthday and we were looking for a non expensive hotel but not a uncomfortable one like a best western so we trusted on the reviews and photos of this one. I was surprised that it look just like the pictures, so clean, quiet, big room with mini fridge and microwave, and I loved the bed! I've never slept in a bet that comfy in a economic hotel. The only thing I didn't like was that they say they have WiFi but it doesn't work at all, everything else was great for the price.
Oh! and it really is close to Disney, so is great because we got out of there around 1 am and it was less than 10 min away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikaMHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for taking a minute of your busy schedule to provide us with you feedback on your recent stay at Portola Inn and Suites. And we are also very happy to hear that you decided to celebrate your Birthday at our hotel. We are glad to read that you found the hotel to your liking, and that you liked the free in-room amenities we offer. Yes, we are only ten minutes away from Disneyland, and only five minutes away from Knott's Berry Farm. Thank you once again for the wonderful review. We hope to see you next time you are in the Buena Park/Orange County area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Me and my lady went there for a bit and it was nice. They have upgraded their television to a flat and the rooms are big. They are also by many places in which to grab a bite, but they only thing that was missing was room service. No one really delivers there so you have to get up and go get your on food which i didn't like but what can you do.

Room Tip: book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to provide us with your feedback on our property. We are glad you enjoyed our newly remodeled rooms, that are fully equipped with a flat screen television, coffee maker, microwave, and fridge. At Portola Inn and Suites, we take great pride with the cleanliness of our rooms, and as you were able to experienced, our rooms are as clean as possible. Please know that there are several restaurants that do deliver to our hotel. Next time you stay at Portola, let our front desk team member know so they can refer you to a restaurant that does deliver to our Buena Park property. Again, thank you for your time in the writing of this review and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My Husband and I were very skeptical to stay here after reading the reviews. It is with great pleasure to say when we got there we were very shocked. They had replaced the carpet in all the rooms and it was a great hotel to stay in and located within 30 minutes of all the attractions. We will be staying again and the staff was very nice as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

It is with great pleasure and joy that we thank you for your kind review on our Buena Park property. You will be happy to know that you are one of the first to enjoy the upgrade of carpets in our rooms, and by the wonderful review you have given us, we are glad to know this upgrade if found favorable. As you may have already known, all of our rooms do come with a brand new flat screen television, microwave, fridge, Iron, Iron board, coffee maker and hair dryer. Also, we are about five minutes away from Knott's Berry Farm, and walking distance to many nearby restaurants. Thank you once again for the wonderful review and for taking the time to provide us with such review.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hotel was alright. I was expecting a little more from the looks online. The pool was lame. Small pool with a small jacuzzi. Surrounded by a sad lonely area. The room was clean. I have to give props for that. Loved my king bed. Their free breakfast was hilarious. I was looking forward to scrambled eggs, pancakes, orange juice and fruit. But they had packaged bread, bitter coffee, old oranges and you had to toast your own bread. Let's just say I'm glad I didn't stay another night. I guess when you often stay at up scale hotels you expect hotels like this to be the same

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you very much for taking a moment of your time to provide us with you feedback on our Buena Park property. We are glad to hear you liked the cleanliness of our rooms and that the king size bed was to your liking. All of our rooms do come with a microwave, fridge and flat screen television. The rooms also come with a personal coffee maker, Iron, Iron board and a hair dryer. With the new amenities and upgrades that will soon come to the hotel, we hope that you will be able to stay with us next time you are in the Buena Park/Orange County area so that you may provide us with your input on those upgrades.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

For $ 51.50 a night the hotel does what it promises: it is clean, well located, rooms even have a microwave which is very convenient. I must complain about the wi-fi though because it is VERY slow.

Location is also good because it is a mile away from the highway. I must complain about the wi-fi though because it is VERY slow. However, that particular block is really depressing. I expect that will change when they build the shopping plaza next to the hotel. I think that will brighten the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmokatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for deciding to stay with us during your visit to the Buena Park area. And thank you for the review you have provided us and all future guest to read. As you have mentioned, our room rates are very affordable and all of our rooms come with a flat screen television, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, Iron and Iron board. We are about 10 minutes from Knott's Berry Farm and also a couple of miles away from Disneyland. We hope you can stay with us next time you are in Buena Park/Orange county.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#1 of 19 in Buena Park
748 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#2 of 19 in Buena Park
1,629 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#3 of 19 in Buena Park
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Suites Hotel Anaheim - Buena Park
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference  Center
1.5 mi away
Knights Inn Buena Park/Anaheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Address: 7921 Orangethorpe Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621-3436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range: $74 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing