We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bare Minimum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portola Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portola Inn and Suites
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bare Minimum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Like what most of the other reviews have said, Portola is really your basic inn. The bathroom, the vanity and the overall room was decently clean except for my only pet peeve, the carpet. The carpet is really dingy and dark, I stepped on it with my feet and it felt dirty and left black marks. I read in one of the management's comment that they steam clean it twice a month. I would really hope that they start steam cleaning more often or invest in new carpet because it was really dirty. Other than that, location was good, the mattress was comfortable, the flat screen TV a plus (lacking in channels) and the internet worked fine. I didn't buy breakfast because I read it wasn't worth it (eat at Fresh Bagels and Cafe instead).

Room Tip: + Good price + Good hotel for only sleeping - Not much of a getaway for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at Portola Inn and Suites. We are glad you enjoyed our new televisions and you'll be happy to know that we are in the process of getting a better, high definition channel line-up. If you were not aware, we do provide free continental breakfast. We are happy that the new wirelss access points that were installed a few weeks ago gave you no problems when connecting to our wi-fi. Once again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you next time you are in the Buena Park area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    74
    52
    25
    25
See reviews for
122
41
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here while dropping daughter off to college. Didn't use pool. Stayed in January. Very basic motel. Large room, clean. Very appropriate for the price. If you want simple and clean and inexpensive this is your place. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momtraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We are glad to hear you had a pleasurable experience while staying at Portola Inn and Suites. Thank you for your feedback and as you were aware, the prices of our rooms are affordable and cheap. We hope you got to enjoy our free amenities, such as free Wi-Fi, continental breakfast and parking. As you may have been aware, all our rooms have been completely updated with flat screen 37-inch televisions and new bed layout. Again, we are glad you had an enjoyable experience while at Portola. We hope you will be able to stay with us again next time you are in the Buena Park area.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nice hotel, reasonably priced with outstanding value. The room was clean, and well organized. Staff was very friendly and efficient. Hotel was easy to enter and exit with resterants and businesses located nearby. Would stay here again shold the need arise.

Room Tip: All rooms were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaz1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Portola Inn and Suites. As you were aware, we have remodeled our rooms with 37-inch flat screen television in every room. We hope you were able to enjoy all the free amenities we offer, such as Wi-Fi, Parking and continental breakfast. And once again, thank you very much for the great review you have on our hotel.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Check in was easy as was finding the hotel. The rooms we had 320a and 320b were clean and always serviced to a high standard. The beds were warm and extra blankets and pillows were provided as necessary. The room also has heating and cooling which worked well.

Cons- The free wifi was terrible!!!! Barely worked and when it did it was super slow. When we asked for help we were told it was working fine.
The towels were like sandpaper and very small.
One night the room keys wouldn't work (for no apparent reason) so we had to return to reception twice.

We didn't eat at the hotel...though breakfast was included. We paid less than $1000 AUD for 5 people in two room for a week. If you are in Anaheim for the theme parks and don't mind a short drive (less than 15mins) I would recommend this hotel.

Sizzler is just across the road, Denny's down the street aswell as a Target.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to reception (I believe the internet works better there)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Mallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Portola Inn and Suites. We are very happy to hear you had an amazing week while staying at our Buena Park property. As you found out, the rates of our rooms are economical, where any family can save money while enjoying their time at any of the nearby theme parks, such as Knott's Berry Farm, Disneyland or Universal Studios. Thank you once again for your review.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

After reading several good reviews my husband and I made a reservation at the Portola for 11/30-12/2/12. I was not expecing luxury but I felt like we had gotten a good deal. I was sorely wrong. We arrived late at night and checked in around midnight using the night window. As I was checking in I could hear people from rooms nearby screaming at each other. Check-in was fast as I had already paid and we went to our room- a corner room on the second floor. As soon as we walked in we were very dissapointed. The room had a strong musty smelled- we booked a non-smoking room but it stilled had a strong smoke smell. The carpet was disturbingly filthy. It was almost black! The sheets were stained and had several black marks, lke they had been run over. We dids not even shut the door before we turned around and left. I immediately went to check-out and the lady at the front desk offered us another room but my husband was not comfortable with me staying in that motel the next day while he was at work. She kindly gave us a full refund without any issues and was very apologetic. We then went aroundthe corner to the Courtyard Marriott. The extra $150 dollars at the Marriott is worth the peace of mind. I would never recommend the Portola to any of my friends or family but if you must stay there then bring your own sheets and towels and do not forget to pack your flip flops!!!! I should have taken pictures but we high-tailed it out of there pretty fast!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjdewey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Let me start by apologizing for the experience you had while checking in at Portola. Please be aware that what you experienced is not the typical ambiance one would expect to see at our property. At Portola Inn and Suites, we try to give our guest a pleasurable and relaxing experience. That is why we have a 24-hour front desk shall any issue arise any time of the night. Again, please accept our most sincere apologies and we hope you'll give us another chance so that you can see all the improvements we had made since your last visit.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Excellent value. We took a family suite and this was perfect for us; two adults and two teenage kids.
No issues with cleanliness, as other review indicated.
No traffic noise either. Glad of the elevator with heavy luggage!
A fridge and microwave were appreciated, though no laundry facilities.
Proximity to Knotts Berry Farm made it perfectly located for my family and I was not prepared to pay 50-75% more to stay at the Knotts Berry Resort Hotel.
Forget the free breakfast, go to IHOP just down the road!

Room Tip: Family suite gives the convenience of being close but two sleeping areas/rooms give the privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and are very happy to have been part of your vacation plans. As you were aware, all of our rooms have many amenities such as microwave, mini-fridge, Iron, Iron board, coffee maker-all free of charge!. We hope you were able to take advantage of our free Wi-Fi also. We thank you once again for the great review you have on Portola Inn and Suites, and we hope you will consider us on your next vacation plans.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed for 8 nights at Portola. The room was spacious, clean and there was fridge and microwave. The location is great. Near malls, restaurants and parking is easy to find at any time. The best of all is Mr Pattel. He was always willing to go the extra mile to please the guests. He helped me with directions, held a book I ordered for 2 weeks prior to my arrival, lent me a scale (to check my suitcases weight) and our morning chats over breakfast were a good and pleasantable way to start the day. Thanks so much for the lovely stay. Luis

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fulfaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are delighted to hear about the great experience you encounter while at Portola Inn and Suites. Thank you for the wonderful compliments you have about our rooms. As you were able to see, all of our rooms do come with a fridge, microwave, Iron, Iron board and coffee maker. You'll be happy to hear that we also have a 24-hour front desk and yes, there is ample parking space at our facility. I will personally let Mr. Patel know about the great compliments you have about his service. Thank you again for the amazing review!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#3 of 19 in Buena Park
4.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#1 of 19 in Buena Park
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference  Center
0.7 mi away
Radisson Suites Hotel Buena Park
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Anaheim North/Buena Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Property: Portola Inn and Suites
Address: 7921 Orangethorpe Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621-3436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing