We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, disappointing hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portola Inn and Suites
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hotel online looked much better than it was. The service was mediocre, and what they call a breakfast was laughable. We booked two nights, the person at the front desk did not have our reservation, we asked if we could cancel then, he said no because he did not want to call his manager for consideration. All in all the service was poor, the room was loud, the breakfast sucked, and the pool was small. The location on the other hand was very good.

Room Tip: Don't expect much from the pictures online, this hotel will disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are extremely sorry to learn that your experience at our hotel was not one of satisfaction. Please know we have a 24-hr prior to arrival cancellation policy and therefore we couldn't cancel your reservation. We will look into the reason for your missing reservation. I hope you will provide us with another opportunity to showcase our very best to you.
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 274 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

Portolla Inn
The area is nice & clean and the outside of the Inn is well kept. It's the type of place where the doors to rooms are exposed to the outside, not in a hallway.

When we checked in, the office manager was hard to understand not only because of a slight accent but because he was mumbling. I'm not really sure if I need to pay now or later for the extra day I'm staying. He really didn't say anything, but did remind us when breakfast was and to use the pool. The staff consists of mostly Indian men who are all men of few words.

The pool is literary next to the side walk & main road by itself in the parking lot. There is no privacy wall separating us from people walking by, only bars and some palm trees.

The rooms are nice & basic. The cleaning lady had just finished and the room smelled super chemically. I'm pregnant so the smell bothered me. We had to open the window and put the AC fan on blast to neutralize the smell. We kept the AC on the whole stay because the smell is too strong. They should switch to a more green product.

Breakfast consisted of really dry small muffins individually wrapped, granola bars, and a slices of white sandwich bread. You could toast the bread and put butter and/or jelly on it, if you want. Also, they provide styrofoam cups of orange juice they store in a fridge and hot potted coffee. The breakfast area isn't enough to sit 10 people so you gotta take it back to your room. Its also the same area where you check-in/out so its cramped & awkward. We were hoping for a more filling breakfast since it helps cut back on costs for vacations.

The wifi cuts in and out and doesn't have a strong signal at all. We couldn't use our ipad & psvita like we wanted to for hulu & Netflix.

The price I paid through Expedia was $60/night. It really is what you pay for is what you get. Overall, it is super basic and isn't too horible, amenities aren't great, definately a two star hotel. Its in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneCoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear JoanneCoon,
Thank you for providing us with such detailed feedback on your recent stay at our Buena Park Hotel. It is great to know that our clean, comfortable and safe accommodations were to your liking. With regards to the Wi-Fi issue you had, please know we recently upgraded our entire hotels Wi-Fi systems and typically there are minor glitches when a large overhaul of this magnitude takes place. We have resolved all the minor issues and we do apologize for failing to meet your expectations with regards to the Wi-Fi. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Anaheim/Buena Park area.
Thanking You,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The online pictures were a lot different than in-person. We were very disappointed. We booked for two nights but ended up only staying one. When we went to ask for a refund for the second night, we expected a battle, but instead they seemed to not be surprised - didn't even ask us for a reason why. Made us wonder if that was a regular occurrence.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayhemRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear MayhemRanch,
It is unfortunate that we were not able to go above and beyond your satisfaction during your recent stay at our Buena Park Hotel. Please know we have a very strict policy for refunds and we have a less then 2% refund request during the entire year. We pride ourselves in offering great amenities, comfortable accommodations, and friendly service at a great value. We hope you will provide us with another opportunity to serve you again.
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

i really enjoyed staying there, while we were visiting disneyland, great breakfast, very clean rooms, very friendly front desk, easy to find and fairly close to disneyland, 8 min by car.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Dear Lena I,
We are pleased to hear your wonderful remarks about our Buena Park Hotel. Our hotel is known to provide clean, comfortable and friendly accommodations at a great value! You are absolutely correct about our central location to Disneyland and Knott's Berry Farm. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Anaheim/Buena Park area!
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Hotel staff knows the meaning of customer service and friendliness..room was very clean and even smelled clean..Requested 1st floor and received it...Great being able to park at door for loading and unloading each morning and evening (parking lot well lit) Spent 4 nts there and plan on returning in the fall..Already shared our Disney experience and extreme pleasure of finding a clean, affordable hotel with family and friends.....Thank you Portola Inn for completing our Disney Vacation with good memories

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor, but elevator in center provides good acces to 2nd and 3rd floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear Cyndi S,
We are pleased to know that you and your family has a wonderful time on your Disney vacation. It is great to know that our Buena Park Hotel was the perfect hotel for your vacation! We pride ourselves in proving with clean, comfortable and friendly accommodations at a great value. We look forward to serving you again on your fall visit to the Anaheim/Buena Park area!
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

before we booked at the portola inn I carefully read all the reviews. we did not experience any of the issues that were mentioned. We booked the family suite & couldnt of been happier. The staff was very pleasant, the continental breakfast was perfect (toast, danish, granola bars, fruit, juice ,& coffee) we slept great on the beds & the room was extremely clean. we are very picky about where we stay & all agreed we would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcauble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear jcauble,
We are delighted to hear your positive remarks about our Buena Park hotel. It is great to know that your stay with us was one of comfort, enjoyment and satisfaction. Our family suites are a perfect fit for family vacationing in Southern California. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Anaheim/Buena Park area!
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The inn was surprisingly good...The location was great, close to everything (Disney Land, the airport, restaurants, etc...). The room was clean and didn't smell like cigarettes (unlike the last place I had stayed in). I also thought the staff was cool and friendly!

I'd stay again...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Dear Peter M,
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Portola Inn and Suites! We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was one of comfort and enjoyment. You are absolutely correct about our great location! We are walking distance from great restaurant selections like Black Angus, Fudruckers, Korean BBQ, etc. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Orange County!
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#1 of 19 in Buena Park
779 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#2 of 19 in Buena Park
1,647 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#3 of 19 in Buena Park
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Buena Park
Courtyard Anaheim Buena Park
#6 of 19 in Buena Park
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Suites Hotel Anaheim - Buena Park
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference  Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Address: 7921 Orangethorpe Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621-3436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range: $67 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing