We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portola Inn and Suites
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The facility is clean and not as run down as some other small motels and inns in the area, but the over all experience was average. Positive thing was the presence of refrigerator and microwave in the room, which makes traveling easy with a kid. The channel choice on television was very limited compared to other comparable motels that I have stayed in previously at Buena Park. I also found the price to be slightly higher than comparable motels. Breakfast was disappointing (no milk or cereal, the only fruit choice was nectarines). Another disappointment was the air conditioner in the room which had no option for temperature control. Since turning it off made the room cold (I was traveling in December), I turned it on. It stayed on and I had to get up in the middle of the night to turn it off because the room was unbearably hot. I recommend this motel only if they are offering some special lower prices. You can probably find better options in Buena Park.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seharmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2012

Dear seharmd,
Thank you for taking the time to providing us with feedback on your recent stay at our Buena Park Hotel. We would like to express our apology for the inconvenience caused to you due the the A/C thermostat malfunctioning. Please know we have a full-time property maintenance crew and any issues will be resolved promptly once brought to our attention by our guests. We do put a high priority in maintaining our facility on a daily basis. We hope you will give us another opportunity in providing a memorable experience at our Buena Park/Anaheim property.
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 274 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed one night with the family in the "Family Suite." Spacious 2 room suite with one king, 2 queens, and 2 bathrooms. Great Value and very close to Knott's Berry Farm. The rooms were clean, the staff was very nice, and overall we enjoyed the Portola Inn. The beds were kind of hard, but other than that everything was great!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2011

Dear Melanie C,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at our Buena Park Hotel. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was one of comfort and enjoyment. You are absolutely correct about our Family Suites being great value for families on a budget looking for great value! The bed's have a setting that allows them to be softer. We look forward to serving you again on your future visits to the Anaheim/Buena Park Area!
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Our first visit to this hotel was in Oct, 2011. We were amazed at how big the rooms are, and how clean everything was. We screwed up majorly by staying later that month at a different hotel. It was about the same price, but the room was tiny and filthy. Me and my husband looked at each other and said.."we should've stayed at Portola." So, when we planned to take my parents to Disneyland this month, this was the place we stayed..and will be for EVERY trip we take from now on. The front desk people are SO nice! I called and changed the reservation, and the gentleman was so patient and got it all changed with no problems. The housekeeping staff is amazing. The bathroom is always spotless, and the rooms are always comfortable with clean sheets and everything we need. Everyday, we'd come back from the park to clean towels and a made bed waiting for us. There's even a mini fridge and microwave. For the price, this place is unbeatable. And as long as those great rates don't change (another favorite hotel tripled their rates on us. Pfft)...Portola is where we'll stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. It's a wonderful hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear K L,

Thank you for your outstanding review on our Buena Park hotel! We are excited to hear that you and your family had a clean, comfortable and enjoyable stay with us in one of our Deluxe King. Thank you for sharing how you enjoyed our location; we definitely are one of the closest hotels to all of the excitement in Buena Park and Anaheim! We hope to see you again on your next visit to Southern California.

Best,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed here one night on our trip to knotts berry farm. Nice and clean place for the price we paid, and very conveniently located. i do have one complaint, though....the morning before check out, the cleaning ladies came by and knocked...before we were able to get up and open the door to let them know we werent ready for them, they just burst the door open!! I thought that was very inappropriate.

Oh, and very noisy the next morning...couldnt even get any sleep.

Room Tip: dont get a room near an elevator or stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karla r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Dear karla r,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Buena Park.! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed a quality stay at our affordable rates. We appreciate your for bring the bringing the housekeeping staff issue to our attention and apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your feedback has been taken seriously and the our team has been informed. Thank you for your compliments on our great location, customer service, affordable rates and comfy beds. We do hope that you and your family will decide to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed one night, and was pleasently surprised at how nice it was for the price. Room was spacious, clean and bed was comfy.. The staff are friendly and helpful. They even offer Cont. Breakfast! I recomend Portola for anyone looking for a decent place on a budget. Which now a days, I think we all want to save a few $$. For the price and level of hotel/motel, Portola is in the top 10!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvzgetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Dear luvzgetaways,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at our Buena Park Hotel. We are delighted to hear your wonderful remarks about our property and services. We do pride ourselves on providing fabulous accommodations for budget minded travelers. It is great to know our services are being appreciated by valued guests like yourself! We look forward to serving you again on your future visit to the Anaheim/Buena Park area!
Thank You,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in the family suite and loved it. There was plenty of room and having two seperate bathrooms was very nice. My only complaint about the bathrooms was the showerhead. The water pressure was so hard it actually hurt to take a shower. I think they just need a different shower head. The service we received from Stephanie was amazing. She helped us with all of our needs and always had a wonderful attitude. We will be staying at this location again when we plan on going to Knotts.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

Dear Jon O
We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable and that you would stay with us again! It's great to hear that one of our family suites worked out perfectly for you and your family. We definitely had families like yours in mind when we designed them. Thank you for your great review and ratings. We will look forward to seeing you and your family again.
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights, great stay for the price we paid. Enjoyed the convenience and the amenities of the hotel...can't complain.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2011

Dear Linden M,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with our Buena Park Hotel. It is great to know that your stay with us was one of comfort and enjoyment. We hope you had just as wonderful time at Knott's Scary Farm! Look forward to serving you again on your future visit to the Anaheim/Buena Park area!
Kind Regards,
-Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#1 of 19 in Buena Park
763 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#2 of 19 in Buena Park
1,643 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#3 of 19 in Buena Park
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Suites Hotel Anaheim - Buena Park
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Buena Park
Courtyard Anaheim Buena Park
#6 of 19 in Buena Park
262 reviews
1.5 mi away
Knights Inn Buena Park/Anaheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Address: 7921 Orangethorpe Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621-3436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range: $70 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing