We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for wine tasting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Ft. Worth Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel for wine tasting”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this Marriott for the location. We attended the Mid State Fair in Paso Robles July 28th (to see :) Keith Urban) then we were traveling to Anaheim the next morning. I figured if we could drive awhile toward Anaheim after the concert we'd have a shorter drive. So thats how I picked the Santa Ynez Marriott. The hotel is an older hotel but very well maintained. I can see where it would be a nice place to stay after a day of wine tasting. There were too many wineries for me to count. Rows and rows of grape fields which made for a very scenic drive. Our room was a nice size with a small balcony which overlooked a Polo ranch. What we could see from outside our room was the sign for the ranch and lots of hills with a few horses. As other posters have said there is some road noise but I didn't notice it at night. It may have been because I was just really tired. I did reserve a Valley room and the cars on the one lane road going past our side of the hotel were slow moving (opposed to a highway)so they weren't very loud. The lady that checked me in was really nice . (I was the only one at the counter) We reserved a valley room with breakfast included. The meal was very good, I had a cook to order omelet from the buffet. Our waitress, Martha was really good, periodically checking to see if we needed anything. There was sausage, bacon, breakfast potatoes, oatmeal, cereal, fruit, toast and pastries. Also coffee, juice and sodas. I really enjoyed this Marriott and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disneygoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    214
    118
    45
    22
See reviews for
125
253
13
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
golden, CO
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

After reading previous reviews, I was a bit nervous but this stay was flawless. The rooms are a bit out dated (compared to Fairfields ), but the room was very clean and the beds were wonderful- typical Marriott quality!

We paid an extra $10 for both of us (husband and I) for the buffet breakfast in their lower level resteraunt- made to order omelettes were great. This resteraunt is a bit out dated also but clean and friendly staff We toured the wine country area and ate out. Burrito loco great food and cheap!!! Pool is nice (weather cold tho) Also checked out the casino in the area...

Outside is very noisy from Hwy 101 but the slider did a great job of quieting the noise to sleep. Great drink/ coffee bar off lobby also.

Concierge by lobby very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoeatout25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

This hotel is sandwiched between freeway 110 and a busy street. No matter which room you choice, you will hear the car noise. On top of the street noise, the wall is absolutely thin, from which you can hear your neighbor's conversations clearly, let alone noise from flushing toilet and taking showers. If you are a light sleeper like me, don't stay here. There are lots of nice and quaint hotels a few miles away in the town of Solvang. By the way, the hotel is right next to a McDonald, a Cinema and a motel 6, does that tell you something? This is more like a truck stop than a vacationing hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We visited this hotel as a family of five. We requested a cot at check in and were told it would be delivered to our room. We spent the day in Solvang and returned to the room late and no cot had been delivered. We called to the front desk to be told that there were not any more cots. Our room was across from a construction zone as they upgraded the workout center. We found the rooms outdated, but the upgraded bathrooms nice. The pool was empty and too cold to swim in on a July evening and the jacuzzi had an age requirement of 14 and up. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel and found ourselves eating on a card table with a table cloth with mediocre food at expensive prices. We discovered the game room down the hall on our last morning of the trip and the pin ball machines ate the last of our quarters and the last of our hopes and patience. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swimjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

General Manager and his staff should be commended for the way they run this hotel! My husband and I stayed here for three nights during one of our many tours of the Central Coast Wine Country. The staff was very friendly and service-oriented, cheerful and went out of their way to please guests. We quietly observed this as we are considering bringing groups to this hotel as it has a very central location to the Santa Ynez Valley wine region.
Clean, comfortable room, plenty of parking. Excellent location. Nice coffee bar manned by a cheerful server first thing in the morning. Large, well-tended pool. We enjoyed the stay very much and will return soon. A well-run property.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapillonHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, Ca
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The room was somewhat dated with oak doors & crown molding but the bathroom had been updated with a marble counter top & a great showerhead. The hotel states that it is a "green" hotel but the only towel rack in the bathroom is over the bathtub (on the wall opposite the showerhead.) There was not a towel rack by the sink for hand towels. Without adequate towel racks, it isn't easy to reuse towels. Our room was very clean. The bed was ok, the pillows too soft. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one night. The service was extremely slow - we waited probably ½ hour before our drink orders arrived. We heard someone say that the restaurant was shorthanded but we never received any apologies for the slow service. Despite the wait, two of us enjoyed the delicious salmon with feta cheese & spinach. Service at breakfast was fine & the fruit in the buffet was exceptionally good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

My husband and I cashed in our Marriott points to enjoy our time in Santa Ynez wine country. While the location is great, the hotel's decor is outdated, its layout is illogical, and its facilities are disappointing. It overlooks the highway, and its pool has a view of the local movie theater and very little surrounding area for lounging. There is no real landscaping around the hotel. The room we got was fine if somewhat meager in space, and the so-called upgrade to a "valley view" meant we overlooked the parking lot rather than the highway. Our bed was comfortable, and the staff was very friendly. One pet peeve was that housekeeping came every morning at 8AM (eek!). Not the resort hotel that we were hoping for. It felt like you could get a better deal and a similar experience at a lesser chain in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessorCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
3.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
6.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
2.8 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Property: Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
Address: 555 McMurray Rd, Buellton, CA 93427-9559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra comfortable accommodations in the Santa Ynez Valley Wine country. Only 3 miles from the Danish town of Solvang.Over 80 local vineyards, wineries and tasting rooms nearby in the Santa Barbara Country wine country. We also offer beautiful wedding, event, and meeting space in the Santa Ynez Valley close to Vandenberg Air Force Base. Our certified meeting and wedding planner will ensure your event is flawless. Plus earn Marriott Rewards Points and promotions with your event. The Santa Ynez Valley Marriott conveniently has a Lobby Bar, featuring Starbucks Coffee and Teas, and the Starting Gate Restaurant. You will also enjoy our gift shop and Hertz Car Rental. For your recreation, our 24 hour fitness center, outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi, with brand new lounge furniture, will keep you fit and relaxed. Established in 1984. The Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in Buellton, CA upgraded all their beds and linens to the Marriott Revive Collection, featuring ultra comfortable beds and luxurious linens. We also feature complimentary Wireless Internet in our guest common areas and in our guest rooms for those guests registered with Marriott Rewards. From September 2015 until approximately October, 2016, the hotel will be undergoing a total and extensive renovation. The new 555 Restaurant and Lounge will inhabit the new lobby greatroom, along with a newly updated double size fitness center. All guest rooms are being completely renovated from the ground up including stand alone tiled showers in 70% of the rooms, luxury vinyl flooring and a beautiful brand new full furniture package. What a way to celebrate our 30th Marriott Anniversary!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing