We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, decent rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Reviewed December 6, 2009

After much research we selected this Marriott for our short wine tasting trip this weekend. Two years ago we stayed in Solvang, but the 2 night minimum turned us off. The location is terrific, right off the 101 and only 15 minutes from most of the wineries. The room and bathroom was clean. The bed was ok: the sheets smelled like bleach, which was actually ok, but the pillows were awful. It was like sleeping on cement. The hotel dining room served a decent breakfast. The fruit was super fresh. My only negative was the rate. It wasn't really worth 180/night. A better deal would have been 130-150. Aside from that, it is a decent hotel for a decent price.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjghurani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 593 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2009

Prior to arriving at the Marriott, I had specifically requested a quiet room that did not face the freeway. When we checked in, the front desk clerk put us in a room on the freeway. When we asked to be changed, the front desk clerk told us it would be $10 per night extra for a room that was not on the freeway. My husband asked to speak to the manager. The clerk spoke the manager and said they would put us in a room not on the freeway but it would be the ONLY time we could do it. He was offensive. My husband asked if breakfast was included and he said "Not at the rate you are paying." If AAA or AARP members are going to be provided inferior rooms, the hotel should state that on the Web site. This experience soured us on the hotel and we cancelled an additional 4 days. The location of the hotel is not great. It is not within walking distance of shops and restaurants and is very close to the freeway. Even on the opposite side, it is fairly noisy. You could hear people talking in the parking lot. That being said, there were some nice things about the hotel. The rooms were very comfortable. The exercise facility was quite good. However, we would never stay there again after our experience. We wound up staying at Hotel Corque where the rooms were lovely, the service fantastic and the rate, which was less than the Marriott, included a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This hotel was beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was awesome. The bed was so comfortable and luxurious. The view from our balcony was was awesome. Made for the perfect backdrop while drinking our wonderful California wine. The free buffet breakfest that came with our package was absolutely delicious. The Marriott really made the first day of our vacation a special and memorable one.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank CKwitkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

So the hotel is actually in Buelton, not Santa Ynez.
The hotel itself is a great building and the staff provided excellent service.
But......
Our room faced Hwy 101 and we heard alot of highway noise from our room.
Be sure to ask for a room that does not face the highway.
The rooms were very clean
But......
basic, nothing special and I thought the mattress was too hard.
This hotel is better than most of the hotels in Solvang and very close to the Hitchin Post.
It is a good hotel to be based for wine tasting in the county.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SweetAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

My brothers and I had adjacent rooms that shared a balcony overlooking the valley. The rooms were large and clean. The road noise while having breakfast outside at the restaurant would be the only negative to my stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

The staff at check in were friendly and efficient. The room, while comfortable enough, had a dated appearance (apart from the bathroom) and I noticed dust/dirt around the edges of the carpet that looked like it had accumulated over a period of years. Older style CRT TV. We could not find the in room fridge that is mentioned on the hotel's website. The air conditioner squeaked for 20 seconds whenever it cycled on and off. That was fun to listen to during the night. High speed Internet was good and easy to access. That could have been a big plus if we were staying more than one night.

Twice we ended up going for a ride in the opposite direction to where we wanted to go in the elevator because there seemed to be no way of knowing if the elevator was already going up or down. We were not the only ones as other guests mentioned to us they had the same experience.

The breakfast buffet was just OK. Cereals were good and the fruits were especially good but the hot food was mostly unappealing. After we were half finished our meal we noticed the omelette station around the corner. Had we known about it first we would have preferred that, but it would have been wasteful to throw away the food we had already put on our plates. None of the staff had pointed out the dining options to us and it certainly wasn't clear if omelettes are included in the buffet. A simple "by the way, we have a cook-to-order omelette bar over there that is (or isn't) included in the buffet" would have been nice when we were being seated. The restaurant staff just seemed to take a very laid back approach and were mostly standing around chatting with each other.

I don't know if it's the lack of competition in the area but we were left with an overall impression that this hotel is only doing the bare minimum to stay slightly ahead of the other choices nearby. I expect more from a Marriott in general and I certainly expect more for the price they are charging at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Although the rate was a bit high, the property was your typical spotlessly clean and well-maintained Marriott. With free breakfast included though it made the value a bit better. You can't go wrong staying at this property.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtgraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buellton/Santa Ynez Valley
3.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
833 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
2.9 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
2.8 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Address: 555 McMurray Rd, Buellton, CA 93427-9559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range: $189 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra comfortable accommodations in the Santa Ynez Valley Wine country. Only 3 miles from the Danish town of Solvang.Over 80 local vineyards, wineries and tasting rooms nearby in the Santa Barbara Country wine country. We also offer beautiful wedding, event, and meeting space in the Santa Ynez Valley close to Vandenberg Air Force Base. Our certified meeting and wedding planner will ensure your event is flawless. Plus earn Marriott Rewards Points and promotions with your event. The Santa Ynez Valley Marriott conveniently has a Lobby Bar, featuring Starbucks Coffee and Teas, and the Starting Gate Restaurant. You will also enjoy our gift shop and Hertz Car Rental. For your recreation, our 24 hour fitness center, outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi, with brand new lounge furniture, will keep you fit and relaxed. Established in 1984. The Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in Buellton, CA upgraded all their beds and linens to the Marriott Revive Collection, featuring ultra comfortable beds and luxurious linens. We also feature complimentary Wireless Internet in our guest common areas and in our guest rooms for those guests registered with Marriott Rewards. From September 2015 until approximately October, 2016, the hotel will be undergoing a total and extensive renovation. The new 555 Restaurant and Lounge will inhabit the new lobby greatroom, along with a newly updated double size fitness center. All guest rooms are being completely renovated from the ground up including stand alone tiled showers in 70% of the rooms, luxury vinyl flooring and a beautiful brand new full furniture package. What a way to celebrate our 30th Marriott Anniversary!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing