We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Much What You'd Expect from a Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pretty Much What You'd Expect from a Marriott”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

This was pretty much exactly what you expect from a Marriott - nice, comfy, clean beds with a good shower in a nice bathroom. Plenty of parking, free breakfast buffet and a decent pool. It's very easy to get to, right off the highway, but I didn't hear any highway noise at all.

My gripes are few, but I do wish I'd known before we went.
First, I found it sort of confusing to find my way around the hotel to get to the pool and the restaurants - both the signs and the directions in the hotel directory in my room were confusing and/or contradictory.
More importantly, I expected a higher level of tourist support services, given that's who is coming to the area. When I inquired about wine tour van/limo companies over the phone, the front desk pretty much blew me off and said I'd just need to hire a taxi. Some Google searching showed half a dozen companies that would pick us up at the Marriott. Once onsite, neither the front desk nor the concierge were very knowledgeable. They couldn't even confirm if any of the wineries served food and I'm sure one or both are getting kickbacks because the front desk answered "We've been sending people to X, but they all come back and say to stop sending people there because there actually is no food, so you should try Y" but the concierge insisted the X was the best place to go and our cab driver poo poohed both suggestions.

But, it was an easy location and was very close to the restaurant featured in Sideways. And as long as you know to do your own homework, it's a great option.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyuszi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    211
    118
    45
    22
See reviews for
125
248
13
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

To be honest we chose the Marriott simply because it had the best pool within miles of Solvang. Out priority as we have 4 kids. When we arrived we found the grounds clean and the staff was nice.

A few observations however should be noted. We had asked for an adjoining room and had a confirmation from the hotel staff. We also asked not to be put near the exit, ice machine. When we checked in, they did not have our room’s adjoining, but quickly found 2 rooms adjoining. The bad news they were near the exit and next to the maid laundry area, so we heard doors slamming promptly at 7am every morning.
However, we are easy and were thankful we were accommodated with a adjoining room

He rooms are neat and clean and the maid service was good.
We did have a problem with Room 103 where something each morning at 10am would back-up in the pipe system and overflow into he sinks. We had to call maintenance twice and the maid service twice. While they came out and cleaned up the sinks, they never fixed the problems so the carpet on the floor in room 103 next to the bathrooms was always wet and we had visions of whatever was on the floor constantly stuck to our feet. We are not ones who always look for free comps when things go bad, but at these prices and the Marriott reputation we would have thought someone would have made overtures due to the wet floor and plumbing issue.
We were surprised that no one from the front desk seemed to address this personally with us when we left the messages. We had conversations with maintenance and hotel maids.

The pool was nice, and the breakfast was very good. We would have given this a higher rating if not for the daily plumbing back-ups. I’d still say if you find yourself out near Solvang, the Marriott is still a good choice because there is nothing else around. And it does have a big pool.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

Nice hotel with all amenities. Staff was very nice. Rooms were a bit dated design-wise (oak mouldings & spray-on acoustical ceiling), but were fine, with a full-size couch to sit on and spotlessly clean.

WARNING! Do NOT take a room facing the freeway side of the hotel. The noise is very intrusive, and I'm not particularly noise-sensitive. Rooms on the other side are very quiet, if slightly darker.

Very convenient for wine-tasting and Solvang. Much cheaper than hotels in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfoartboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

"Buellton" perhaps unfairly conjured up images of a bad truck stop. Although the Marriott is literally overlooking the 101 freeway, the Spanish-themed building and overall ambience was nicer than I had expected. The hotel is next to the local movie theater, which while not scenic is convenient for catching the latest movie.

Rooms were average and there is a separate game room with pool tables, etc. for kids on the first floor. I found the location to be a nice base for going both to wineries and over to Solvang for a day trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isherwood61
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

The Santa Ynez Marriott provides a convenient full service hotel with easy access to Santa Barbara County wine country. My wife and I used it as a base to explore the area. We found that it had most of the amenities that we count on with Marriott.

The hotel is generally clean and quiet even though it is very close to Highway 101. The breakfast buffet with omelet bar, included with our suite, was excellent. The lunch and dinner menu were standard, but did not include many vegetarian options, so we did not eat those meals at the hotel. There is a full service Starbucks in the lounge which converts into a cocktail bar in the evening. The pool and outdoor Jacuzzi were well heated and maintained. There is a tennis court and a fitness center with a sauna. Parking was ample. A first run movie theater and McDonalds are right next door. The hotel includes a Hertz desk, which was a nice back up for our rented car.

We reserved a Jacuzzi room and ended up in the "Fantasy Suite." The room was nice and large. It included a heart shaped tub with jets in the bottom. An adjoining patio was dirty and unkempt. What had been designed to be a garden oasis had been allowed to deteriorate into a bed of weeds. This is the first time I have run into such a gaffe with Marriott. Surely the Santa Ynez hotel can remedy this disappointing feature of the hotel's premiere room.

The Marriott's location facilitated our exploration of the area. We visited several wineries and drove the scenic byways, but the real high point for us was the La Purisima Mission State Historic Park in Lompoc (yes, we are history nerds). The park is a 15 minute drive from the hotel. The mission, restored by the CCC in the 1930s, offers a new visitor's center, gift shop, guided tours and miles of gentle hiking trails. We spent parts of two days there, absorbing the history and natural beauty of the area. The park is threatened by budget cuts and could be closed in July 2009 depending on the decision of the state legislature. That would be a tragedy.

The hotel has not updated its televisions and has a peculiar array of cable channels - AMC was listed but not available.

I think the Santa Ynez Marriott is a good option for first time visitors to the area. I enjoyed the hotel's amenities and would have enjoyed it even more had our patio been what it could be.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isherwood61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYVM, Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, July 12, 2009
Thank you for staying with us and the nice review! We are located directly off of Hwy 101, which you mentioned was very convenient for visiting the local vineyards in the Santa Ynez Valley. And as you mentioned, the highway noise is not an issue at all.
We do apologize your Fantasy Suite patio garden was lacking in appearance.. We are currently making many extensive environmentally friendly changes to the hotel, and one of them is changing our patio gardens to a drip system. During you stay we were in the process of removing the old garden, and putting the new eco-friendly drip system and garden in. Come back and see us soon, and we'll show you all the great changes we have made to help the environment! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

i've stayed at this hotel at least 4 times in the last 2 years and it is by far the worst run marriott i have ever been to. Poor survice, worst organized, worst run hotel. I am a gold card member, not that this sould make a difference but, believe me it won't help at this hotel. I was on the phone for over a 1/2 an hour last night trying to get my resveration in order and never did make it. I'm staying at the Fess Parker Inn thank you.
sorry but i love the Marriott but never again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCJustMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed here for one night enroute from LA to Monterey, CA. It was about a three hour drive from LA airport to the hotel up Highway 1 and location wise was a good place to have our overnight stay. Hotel check-in was straightforward and staff were friendly enough but didn't recognise our Marriott Gold Membership.

We had a standard King Size Bedroom - room was clean and pleasant enough but bathroom was extremely small.

We ate dinner in the hotel bar/restaurant - ordered two burgers and fries, one plain no cheese and one no mayo or bacon - despite being very quiet (we were the only people ordering) they cocked up our order and we had to send the food back!!!

There was a nice pool area but we didn't get to use it due to the short stay.

There is a McDonalds Restaurant and various other chain restaurants within walking distance.

In the morning we drove the short ride (10 mins) to Solvang - a quaint Danishesque town with lots of tourist shops and eateries.

I probably wouldn't stay here again as the hotel is immediately off the freeway and not in the hills as I had somehow been led to believe from the hotel website.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie99uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
3.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
6.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
2.8 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Property: Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
Address: 555 McMurray Rd, Buellton, CA 93427-9559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra comfortable accommodations in the Santa Ynez Valley Wine country. Only 3 miles from the Danish town of Solvang.Over 80 local vineyards, wineries and tasting rooms nearby in the Santa Barbara Country wine country. We also offer beautiful wedding, event, and meeting space in the Santa Ynez Valley close to Vandenberg Air Force Base. Our certified meeting and wedding planner will ensure your event is flawless. Plus earn Marriott Rewards Points and promotions with your event. The Santa Ynez Valley Marriott conveniently has a Lobby Bar, featuring Starbucks Coffee and Teas, and the Starting Gate Restaurant. You will also enjoy our gift shop and Hertz Car Rental. For your recreation, our 24 hour fitness center, outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi, with brand new lounge furniture, will keep you fit and relaxed. Established in 1984. The Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in Buellton, CA upgraded all their beds and linens to the Marriott Revive Collection, featuring ultra comfortable beds and luxurious linens. We also feature complimentary Wireless Internet in our guest common areas and in our guest rooms for those guests registered with Marriott Rewards. From September 2015 until approximately October, 2016, the hotel will be undergoing a total and extensive renovation. The new 555 Restaurant and Lounge will inhabit the new lobby greatroom, along with a newly updated double size fitness center. All guest rooms are being completely renovated from the ground up including stand alone tiled showers in 70% of the rooms, luxury vinyl flooring and a beautiful brand new full furniture package. What a way to celebrate our 30th Marriott Anniversary!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing