We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Struggled with this one...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Santa Clara, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Struggled with this one...”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

So I struggled with this review. The employees work really hard to make your stay nice, but the actually accommodations are lacking.

First off, I have to say the staff is friendly and helpful! Everyone works to make your stay enjoyable. Unfortunately, when you consider other Level 6 Marriott hotels, this one definitely needs to be refreshed. We had a Queens Suite up on the top floor. The room was nice and the beds were comfortable, but everything was dated:

What Works Well:
1. The room had three sinks, a microwave and a mini-frig. With the heat of the valley, you definitely need to stock up the frig with water!!! It was really nice to have these amenities.
2. If you have read my other postings, you will know that I like my room COLD!! The air conditioner, while a bit loud, definitely worked!
3. Location to everything! Close to wineries, Solvang, and Santa Barbara.
4. Breakfast!!! Being Marriott Gold, I got complimentary breakfast! The omelet bar is really nice and the there is plenty of food and selection.
5. Room was clean and housekeeping did a good job of cleaning!

What could be improved:
1. The overall decor is dated. The carpet looked like it was new, but reminded me of carpet from an 80's conference. Horrible geometric patterns with very bright colors.
2. Room decor is also dated. Carpet and the dark wood trim everywhere. The only thing it was missing was paneling and it would have been a basement from Wayne's World.
3. No instant hot water. If you take the mountain pass to Santa Barbara through Solvang, you will pass by a reservoir. It is so low. I felt bad about having to let the water run before I got hot water knowing there is a going to be a huge water crisis this winter if we don't get rain.

Overall, I would stay here again, but compared to some other places I've stayed at, I can't give it a high rating.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room AWAY from people with pets (barking dogs).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi A W,

Thank you for selecting our hotel for your travel accommodations and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us and future travelers. We do strive to provide our guests with the best travel experience possible and it sounds as if we delivered! In particular we are happy to hear that the details of your room, our prime location and breakfast offerings made your trip that much more enjoyable. Be assured that we will share the noted aspects of your stay that were not to your liking with our team. Please keep us in mind for your future trips to the area, as we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    217
    118
    45
    22
See reviews for
126
260
13
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at the Santa Ynez Marriott for years! We love the Santa Rita Hills wine area. We always dine at the Hitching Post down the road. Solvang is near by for great pastries as well. The rooms are always clean and cozy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Cheryl J,

Nothing makes us happier than hearing a review such as yours from an honored returning guest! We would like to thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback and share your travel details with us. It sounds as though our convenient location and our rooms provide you with a great travel experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for many future stays!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This would be a 4-star if it had a lounge, but it really wasn't needed. We were halfway through our California vacation heading from San Fran to San Diego, and this was a perfect spot for our family. I think we were in a standard room, facing a road but could see the hotel garden below and a bluff beyond the road. 3rd floor, can't remember the room. Great room layout for a standard double, I am a gold marriott member so they gave us vouchers for breakfast - which was great for the kids. Perfect location for trips to wineries and local sites. Weight room was good size, better than average. We enjoyed the game room (ping pong, pool, juke box, and pinball) one night - nice break. We were also able to enjoy the brick oven pizza on one night which hit the spot (taste and convenience). We would absolutely stay there again. Great location for local wineries. Hit the Ostrich farm - lots of fun!

Solvang was ok, but we had been to Helen GA so were ready for the touristy vibe. Fun to see, eat some candy/baked goods.

Great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLBIZTRVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi FLBIZTRVL,

We are delighted you and your family chose to stay with us during your recent travels south! Thank you for sharing your experience and taking the time to make note of the details that made your stay enjoyable. We do strive to provide a top-notch guest experience and it sounds as though we delivered. It’s great to hear that you were able to enjoy many of the aspects of our hotel that make it special including our outdoor pizza night, our game room and our proximity to the fantastic surrounding area. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another great stay!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is located in the beautiful Santa Ynez Mountains, just minutes from Solvang.

Rooms were clean and large with a great view. Hotel restaurant was delicious for dinner and the free buffet breakfast was delicious with tons of options and even a made to order omelette bar!

Pool area was large, tons of chairs and a great hot tub, plus tons of water toys for the kids.

Staff was friendly and helpful with recommendations and directions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayLou80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
LindsayLou80,

We are delighted you chose to stay with us during your recent travels! Thank you for sharing your experience and taking the time to make note of the details that made your stay enjoyable. It sounds as though you were pleased with your room accommodations and with our menu options and quality. It is also great to hear that our pool area and kid friendly accessories made your trip a memorable one! Should your travels bring you back to our area, we look forward to the opportunity to host you again!

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here one night and it was really nice. I only have one complaint and that was I could here snoring/coughing in the room next to me. Now, I had a sleepness night to begin with because I had a little too much wine and they may have made me hear it more than normal. But otherwise, they gave me a great room. I happened to be in a group of rooms that shared a patio area and had tables. You were out front and saw people checking in but it was also fun to watch them. These would be great for a large group staying together. Rooms 208, 210, 212, 214. The pool was nice but not very deep. It had 2 shallow ends. The hotel is good location for wine tasting and lots of places nearby for food.

Room Tip: Rooms 208, 210, 212 and 214 have the large shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itzatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi itzatrip,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us. While we are so pleased to hear that your overall visit was a positive experience for you, especially your room and our pool amenities; it is disappointing to know that you were not able to enjoy a great night’s sleep however. Be assured that your feedback regarding the snoring situation will be shared with our team for future better guest stays. We hope you will consider staying with us again for an even longer stay, should your travels bring you to our area in the future.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you want to explore the region (Solvang, Santa Barbara, Santa Ynez Valley, Los Padres national park) this is the place to be. We booked late and fortunately they still had a room available. Because it was a Saturday night it felt like we paid for the honeymoon suite.
The hotel is good, clean and staff is kind.

We slept like babies and after a good night we continued our trip North. There is not much to say rather than that it was a good typically Marriott experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barlin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi Barlin63,

It is wonderful to hear that you were pleased with your travel to our area and that we were a part of it! It is always great to hear that a guest was able to get a good night’s rest and that you found our staff’s generous hospitality and our proximity to the local areas to your liking. Thank you for taking the time to give your detailed review and share your experience. We look forward to the opportunity to host you once again should your travels bring you our way.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed at this property for one night on a business trip to the area.

Pros:
- comfortable room with all the standard amenities
- nice common areas, including a lovely patio w/ gas fire pit
- very pleasant and tasty breakfast (breakfast (a la carte or buffet) was included w/ my room rate, but apparently not all room rates include breakfast)
- ample parking
- easy highway access, good location, close to several tasty restaurants

Cons:
- some areas of the hotel seemed a little worn, e.g. hallway carpets, bathroom fixtures
- a bit pricey for what you get

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for any business travelers staying for a few nights. It did seem like there were a lot of tourists staying in this hotel as well, but it didn't seem crowded or loud when I stayed in August of 2013.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi HCS,

Thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent business travel accommodations and for taking the time to share your experience with us and future travelers. We are delighted that our accommodations met your expectations, especially our evening fire pit and breakfast offerings! Hopefully our location and spacious property also helped make your trip an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
3.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
2.9 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
403 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
901 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Property: Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
Address: 555 McMurray Rd, Buellton, CA 93427-9559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra comfortable accommodations in the Santa Ynez Valley Wine country. Only 3 miles from the Danish town of Solvang.Over 80 local vineyards, wineries and tasting rooms nearby in the Santa Barbara Country wine country. We also offer beautiful wedding, event, and meeting space in the Santa Ynez Valley close to Vandenberg Air Force Base. Our certified meeting and wedding planner will ensure your event is flawless. Plus earn Marriott Rewards Points and promotions with your event. The Santa Ynez Valley Marriott conveniently has a Lobby Bar, featuring Starbucks Coffee and Teas, and the Starting Gate Restaurant. You will also enjoy our gift shop and Hertz Car Rental. For your recreation, our 24 hour fitness center, outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi, with brand new lounge furniture, will keep you fit and relaxed. Established in 1984. The Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in Buellton, CA upgraded all their beds and linens to the Marriott Revive Collection, featuring ultra comfortable beds and luxurious linens. We also feature complimentary Wireless Internet in our guest common areas and in our guest rooms for those guests registered with Marriott Rewards. From September 2015 until approximately October, 2016, the hotel will be undergoing a total and extensive renovation. The new 555 Restaurant and Lounge will inhabit the new lobby greatroom, along with a newly updated double size fitness center. All guest rooms are being completely renovated from the ground up including stand alone tiled showers in 70% of the rooms, luxury vinyl flooring and a beautiful brand new full furniture package. What a way to celebrate our 30th Marriott Anniversary!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing