We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and Amenities, Oh Boy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location and Amenities, Oh Boy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've stayed at this lcation twice while visitng the area for wine tasting, sight-seeing, and gambling. It's location is perfect. It's only a 10 minute drive to Solvang and about 20 minutes more to the Chumash Casino. The scenery on both drives is beautiful. There are great food choices nearby such as Paula's Pancake House and The Hitching Post II. Firestone Brewery is just up the road.
The hotel is well equiped with everything you may need. The service is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hi sarahross,

It's great to hear that you have stayed with us twice, and that your experiences here were to your liking. We are glad you had the opportunity to explore the casino, the wineries, and nearby restaurants. If you plan to return in the future, we would love to have you join us for lunch or dinner at the Starting Gate. Thanks for staying with us, and we hope to accommodate you again soon.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    207
    117
    45
    21
See reviews for
122
242
13
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Marriott in Buellton is a lovely hotel. Our room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. They also have very nice soaps and shampoos. I admit I am a fan of those, and the Marriott has good ones. Check in was quick and easy and all the staff I had dealings with we're polite and helpful. I would suggest not taking a room on the first floor as I was awakened at 2:00 in the morning by some idiot who thought it would be fun to walk by and pound loudly a couple of times on the sliding glass door that leads to the common areas. On Friday and Saturday nights they have free cookies in the lobby which are amazing. My son was devastated that he got the last cookie and he could only have one. One of the front desk staff told me people work those nights just to get the cookies. So if you're there on a weekend don't miss them. Also if you are here you have to go to Anderson's and have the pea soup and onion bread. It is so yummy. The soup was actually the reason we stopped here on our way to San Fran. We had it for dinner and picked up a couple of quarts on the way out the next morning.
My only complaint besides the 2:00a.m. pounding is the cost. It was pretty expensive for Buellton. Maybe in L.A. but Buellton? No.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor-slider leads out to common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear susanono,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate you staying with us on your way to San Francisco. Anderson's is a popular area attraction so it's great to hear that you were able to stop in and try their famous soup. We apologize for the noise inconvenience you experienced, but are glad you enjoyed the services and amenities we offer. We hope to see you again during your next trip through the area.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a king suite (408) with separate bedroom (door between living room and bedroom) and comfortable sofa sleeper. Unlike many home sofa sleepers, this one you could actually sleep on without breaking your back and could easily accomodate adults. There was 1 bathroom,but 2 separate vanities, separated by doors which makes it much better with anyone with teenagers.

The included breakfast was good. There were many local pastries plus bacon, sausages, potatoes, u cook waffles, fruit, cereal and cooked to order omlettes.

The property has a nice size pool and firepit surrounded by comfortable outside chairs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jefinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hi jefinsd,

Thanks for staying with us. We are pleased to hear that you and your group enjoyed our hotel. It sounds like our location was very convenient for your trip. It's great to know that you had a good night's sleep on our sofa sleeper and fared it much better than others. We hope to be your preferred hotel when you return to the area to explore more of what the Santa Ynez Valley, Solvang, and Buellton has to offer.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

(all 4 travelers in this group agree)This hotel has very clean rooms, very attentive and friendly staff as well as a great workout room, dry sauna and a nice pool. We stayed here for two nights, the hotel was always clean, our room was taken care of nicely and the breakfast was delicious and fresh. This hotel has high quality bedding, and the housekeeping staff seems to be focused on detail and cleanliness. did not have any worries about staying in this room. The location is great for taking day trips to vineyards, Solvang, Los Olivios and Santa Barbara and cycling trips throughout the beautiful Santa Ynez area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustCBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear, JustCBE,

Thanks for staying with us. It sounds like you and your fellow travelers thoroughly enjoyed your time at the hotel and in the Santa Ynez Valley. We want to make sure that our guests have just as good of an experience inside the hotel as they do touring the area. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, and are hoping to see you return in the near future.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We only spent one night in this very nice hotel as we were on a tour but this is a place to spend more time and enjoy the beautiful surroundings and visit the local vineyards in your car or take a Classic Car Wine Tasting Tour, go horse riding, visit the Danish Town in downtown Solvang which is about 3 miles from the hotel, where Denmark has been recreated with picturesque buildings and windmills, quaint shops featuring Danish imports, bakeries selling typical Danish pastries, charming coffee shops and restaurants offering Danish fare. The hotel’s “Starting Gate Restaurant” offers an excellent cuisine and excellent service and you can sample the lovely local wines. It has a swimming pool, fitness center, gift shop, a nice lobby with complimentary WiFi Internet, a bar and Starbucks. Good, bright rooms and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Sylvia9933,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to coming back. We are glad you were able to join us for a meal in the Starting Gate Restaurant! Next time you return, we would be happy to help you arrange for a wine tasting tour, horseback riding, and discuss other areas with attractions that you may enjoy.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were touring some wineries in the "Sideways" territory and chose Marriot as it was walking distance from the Hitching Post restaurant (see other review). The service was not unfriendly, but the staff was a little dull. The room was on ground level, which was convienent and we were not there for the view. The pool area was large enough and the pool itself heated and ok, but the nearby heavily trafficed local main route was a little annoying. Expensive for the quality. Next time I would rather choose Los Olivos (really small town) or danish Solvang for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egotrippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperienceMgr, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Egotrippi,

We appreciate you staying with us. It's great to hear that you were able to tour some of the wineries featured in "Sideways", as they are very popular attractions. We apologize that our staff did not deliver the level of service you expected. Your comments will be communicated to staff members to be sure that future stays will be improved. We would be happy to make accommodations for your next trip in a different area of the hotel to escape the highway traffic.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My family and I were supposed to stay for the weekend but cut it short. One night was enough. Not only did the rooms need renovating but service @ reception needs improvement as well. The hotel did not give us our Marriott Gold Elite benefits until we asked for it even though it clearly states our status on our reservation. The property just seems very dated despite the renovation to their lobby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvlevrywer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Experience Manager at Santa Ynez Valley Marriott, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear lv2trvlevrywer,

Thanks for sharing your experience. It's disappointing to hear that service was less than what is expected. We value all travelers, especially Marriott Rewards Members, and apologize for any inconvenience that you encountered. Your comments will be shared with the team. If you return to the area again, we would love for you to give us another try.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
6.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
2.8 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ynez Valley Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Valley Marriott

Property: Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
Address: 555 McMurray Rd, Buellton, CA 93427-9559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently under extensive renovation. Loud noise disturbance from 8am until 6pm seven days a week until approximately October 1, 2016. Sporatic water shut off's Monday through Friday 9am until 5pm. Ultra comfortable accommodations in the Santa Ynez Valley Wine country. Only 3 miles from the Danish town of Solvang.Over 80 local vineyards, wineries and tasting rooms nearby in the Santa Barbara Country wine country. We also offer beautiful wedding, event, and meeting space in the Santa Ynez Valley close to Vandenberg Air Force Base. Our certified meeting and wedding planner will ensure your event is flawless. Plus earn Marriott Rewards Points and promotions with your event. The Santa Ynez Valley Marriott conveniently has a Lobby Bar, featuring Starbucks Coffee and Teas, and the Starting Gate Restaurant. You will also enjoy our gift shop and Hertz Car Rental. For your recreation, our 24 hour fitness center, outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi, with brand new lounge furniture, will keep you fit and relaxed. Established in 1984. The Santa Ynez Valley Marriott in Buellton, CA upgraded all their beds and linens to the Marriott Revive Collection, featuring ultra comfortable beds and luxurious linens. We also feature complimentary Wireless Internet in our guest common areas and in our guest rooms for those guests registered with Marriott Rewards. From September 2015 until approximately October, 2016, the hotel will be undergoing a total and extensive renovation. The new 555 Restaurant and Lounge will inhabit the new lobby greatroom, along with a newly updated double size fitness center. All guest rooms are being completely renovated from the ground up including stand alone tiled showers in 70% of the rooms, luxury vinyl flooring and a beautiful brand new full furniture package. What a way to celebrate our 30th Marriott Anniversary!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Ynez Valley Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Santa Ynez Valley
Marriott Hotel Buellton
Marriott Buellton
Buellton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing