We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You'd be surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You'd be surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I didn't realize this restaurant chain had hotels as well, but based on ratings and cost, we figured this would be a good stop for dinner and sleep. We were pleasantly surprised by it all. The heated pool we sadly didn't have time to enjoy, the restaurant next door, the room with our car parked right outside, free wi-fi and then a small, but complimentary breakfast. There isn't much to Buelton and it was just a stop on our road trip, but we were quite satisfied and would definitely recommend this place for comfort. The restaurant next door has a little garden area and even a couple quarter mechanical rides for the kiddies.

Room Tip: In the back parking lot, you can park right next to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    171
    72
    12
    6
See reviews for
103
137
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The rooms are clean and the location is perfect for visiting the area if you don't want to pay the higher prices in Solvang. It is located just off the 101 and only a 5-10 minute drive to Solvang. Our stay included a continental breakfast, which I was not very impressed with. They only had danishes available (and only 4 of them), which were dry. No cereal, no oatmeal, no waffle maker. And the orange juice looked like lemon-aid, but tasted like water. Perhaps this could be expected at the end of the breakfast time, but we got there right after opening time. The beds were comfortable, but consider bringing your own pillow (mine felt like a bag of cotton balls).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KesaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed in the Buellton area for one night after visiting Santa Barbara and touring a couple local wineries. We chose the Pea Andersens based on reviews and price.

It is definitely a motel, so adjust your expectations accordingly. However, it was a good value for the price compared to others in the area. The front desk attendants were pleasant and helpful. You get a 10% off coupon for the Pea Andersens restaurant, which is next door (walk across the parking lot). There is a pool, hot tub, and putting green in the central courtyard, and parking is plentiful.

All rooms are outdoor access as would be expected of a motel. The room is dated, but it was clean and functional for our stay. The bathtub appeared to have been recently fitted / replaced. The sink is separate from the closed toilet & shower area. The room also had a small refrigerator and microwave. Be advised that the balcony is a shared balcony, which is unusual -- didn't bother us, though. Also, the room is fairly dark as there are no full size windows. There are a couple small windows at the front of the room and the large sliding door in the back. We had ample natural light in the morning but not much in the afternoon.

The continental breakfast is very simple -- danishes, muffins, toast, coffee, tea, and juice. There is a small building in the center of the courtyard for breakfast service, so we ate outside at one of the patio tables to enjoy the weather.

For passing through the area, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I've been avoiding reviewing this place because it's my best keep secret. To some its not fancy but who cares its worth it. Nice,quite,clean. Nice Jacuzzi,pool. Good pastry's for breakfast. Plus they have Pea Andersen's Resturant right next door who can top that. Off season they have good deals during the week.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicalmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
306 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

big rooms, great prices, under $100 and great pool. how we used ot travel with our parents when value meant alot. great staff let us in early, pool is huge and inviting. a regular stay for us, and can walk to Ellens. biker friendly

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

was going to stay at santa barbara but found it hard to find a room, we were so glad we found pea soup andersens inn
big clean room,great bed,great breaky, greeted by Debbie at lobby,what a lovely lady
went to the delightful town of solvang, that is a must do!!!!
10 out of 10 for this hotel
robin lerch qld aust

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lerchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is an older hotel that has been well renovated. The rooms are large, the beds comfortable, there is coffee/tea in the room as well as a small fridge and microwave. The bathroom is average size but the towels are new and fluffy. The bed was very comfortable butI would say the bed linens were average or a little on the lower end.
We were upstairs in the back so there was no street noise. However, we did have a very loud couple come in next door, late at night and it sounded as if they were in our room. Turning on the a/c took care of the problem. I am not sure whether or not you would hear normal conversations through the walls.
The breakfast is very basic but sitting out by the pool in the morning was very pleasant.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are in the back and upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAKath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
3.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#7 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
3.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pea Soup Andersen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Property: Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Address: 51 E Highway 246, Buellton, CA 93427-9723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pea Soup Andersen's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pea Soup Andersen's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pea Soup Andersen`s Hotel Buellton
Best Western Hotel Buellton
Best Western Buellton
Buellton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing