We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for One Night Stopover and Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great Stay for One Night Stopover and Families”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I only stayed 1 night as we wanted a place stopover en route to Big Sur. The hotel is conveniently located right off the 101 Freeway and close by Solvang and Santa Ynez.

Our room was spacious and clean with a "no frills" decor. This is definitely not a place to spend a romantic weekend by any means. However, if you have children and want something affordable and family friendly, this hotel is great. Kids will love the mini golf area and swimming pool.

Some things this Inn has that similar inns/hotels don't were a large screen door that leads into a pseudo-private patio area (with lounge chairs!) and a microwave. There is also an empty mini refrigerator and a coffee maker. Breakfast is included and consisted of various danishes, muffins and breads along with juice, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. They also give you a coupon to use towards the restaurant next door. I can see where some families would be able to spend a week or more here and still stay within budget, especially with the microwave and fridge in the room.

Our room was along the front, facing the street. To a certain extent, it was quiet in that I didn't hear any street noise. However, the walls were pretty thin, so I could hear the neighbors both next to and above me. This was the reason why I didn't give the Inn 5 stars.

As noted above, I would only recommend this Inn for families on a budget or travelers who need to spend the night somewhere relatively inexpensive and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    190
    76
    12
    6
See reviews for
120
151
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellflower, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The first thing you notice when you walk in the room is that is smells clean - not overpowering chemical clean smelling, just clean. The rooms were very nice sized, and rooms on the second story had a balcony with chairs, overlooking the pool. The room has a microwave and fridge. The pool was very clean, and there was also a lawn bowling green and little putting green. The rate was extremely reasonable and the staff was extremely friendly.

There was a great pizza place advertised in the guest info book: Gino's pizza. They delivered a great pizza and salad to our room. The breakfast was pastry fare: the danishes were fantastic!!

Two teeny tiny negatives: 1. The wifi was weak in our room (but we were still able to get online); 2. The bathroom didn't have shampoo. Not a big deal, but if you happened to be out and were relying on the hotel shampoo, you'd be disappointed.

Would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMomfromCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Yes, it's a little old but it was very nice. Our room was large with a king bed. Had a microwave and fridge. Had a patio but felt odd cause we were separated by only a small rod ironed fence. Good size pool and spa. It was very clean for its age. I would stay again but I would definitely want a room upstairs and away from the spa and pool. Kids were out very late and playing music.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs and away from the pool and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

While on a long trip from Scottsdale to San Francisco, we ran out of energy and stopped into Andersen's Split Pea Restaurant. Once sitting, we decided to find a hotel and call it a night.

After a quick search, Andersen's Inn came up with an awesome rate online. I called the front desk and got an even better rate using my Costco membership card.

Room was very clean and updated with King sized bed. Complimentary breakfast was above average; pancakes, waffles, scrambled eggs, toast, bagels, cereal, fresh fruit and fresh juice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

It is just a very average tourist hotel. Not bad or good. It is clean, fairly quiet, beds are comfortable enough, staff is nice and it close to Solvang and restaurants. It is the kind of place you stay at to use as a base of operations. Just very average.

Room Tip: I would go with second floor at the back of the hotel overlooking pool area. Seemed like the most qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurukupaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

On our annual family trip to CA, we stayed here enroute to L.A. We were pleasantly surprised by the set up of the complex. Kids loved the pool, and adjacent laundry a huge convenience. Walked over to the restaurant armed with a 10% discount coupon - make sure you ask at the front desk for that! Good choice over all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melandpascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in Buellton after a long drive up the Route 101 from Huntington Beach to Malibu and then as far could go before too tired. We stumbled upon this charming motel with friendly management and enjoyed our continental breakfast in a gazebo by the pool. The restaurant next door made it a delightful diversion to a long road trip... and yes, have the pea soup. It was amazing (and they stayed open late for us, too!)

Room Tip: If you stay in on the second floor above the lobby, you have to carry your bags up but you'll ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6andersons1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
0.1 mi away
Sideways Inn
Sideways Inn
#4 of 8 in Buellton
47 reviews
3.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
890 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pea Soup Andersen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Property: Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Address: 51 E Highway 246, Buellton, CA 93427-9723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pea Soup Andersen's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn does have a full shuttle service. We do offer wine/beer tours and wedding transportation for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pea Soup Andersen's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pea Soup Andersen`s Hotel Buellton
Best Western Hotel Buellton
Best Western Buellton
Buellton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing