We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pea Soup Andersen's Inn to your Saves list
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 E Hwy 246, Buellton, CA 93427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you need a basic clean hotel, this is a good choice. The room was clean and that was all I was looking for. They have a sorta breakfast of pastries and coffee. The location is near the freeway and a quick drive to solving.

Room Tip: Try their restaurant. The famous Pea Soup
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CenCoastSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    152
    69
    12
    6
See reviews for
91
126
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We weren't expecting much - after all, this place has been here a million years, since I was a small child, and it's just off the road yet near a tourist town (Solvang). But we were very pleasantly surprised.

For this style hotel, you expect main windows to be by the walkways, a pet peeve of mine. But no, our second floor room had the walkways on the bathroom side and the big window facing the courtyard pool area. There was a walkway on that side, sort of a balcony, but you can only walk as far as the next (would-be adjoining) room's balcony.

The room had all the amenities you would expect. Wifi was free and a little weak but serviceable. Beds were comfy, there was in-room coffee, a microwave and fridge, and the shower was excellent! Continental breakfast in the gazebo was nothing special, but it got the job done. The staff were very nice. The walls were a little thin, as you'd expect.

All at a reasonable price. I'd easily stay there again.

Room Tip: The Firestone brewery, about 1/2 mile away on the other side of the 101, was a great place for dinne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pezworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were going t stay at the Royal Danish Inn, but at the last minute we were told the price was doubling due to the holiday weekend, so we needed to find another hotel. Andersen's Inn was availabl at a very good price. The front desk staff was very pleasant, our rooms were ready and we cecked in without any problems. Rooms are large and clean. They have microwave, refrigerator and hair dryer. Hotel gives a 10% off coupon for the Pea Soup Restaurant. Great food there. One disappointing thing about Solvang....everything closes at 5:00pm. Really in a tourist town you would think that they wold stay open a little later. As the desk clerk at the hotel said "the town is for newly weds and nearly deads!"

Room Tip: Back of the hotel upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3562543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We've stayed here a few times only because everything else in the area was sold out. The rooms are very basic, clean and fairly comfortable. It is quiet given the proximity to the 101. The free breakfast is not even worth the walk to check it out, cheap pastries and beverages. The pool area is ok, they also have a recreation area that can be very loud if there are children staying there, choose a room that faces outside if you prefer the quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here for two nights as a base to tour round the Santa Ynez Valley. The location of the motel is good, right near the Freeway, but not so close as to hear it! Restaurants are within walking distance, and it is a short drive to the Hitching Post 2 and about a few miles up to Solvang. I was based upstairs. The room was a good size, and the bed was really comfortable. . The shower was strong and hot. The room seemed very clean. As with many motels I have stayed in the walls were really quite thin and I could hear the neighbours coming in and out of their room. The rooms themselves are quite old fashioned with their decor and prints on the walls. The fridge was pretty noisy and I found out in the morning it was because it had been working really hard to freeze my milk! I didn't partake in the breakfast. I would stay again, but would want a better rate for the facilities I got! I would also have given this 3.5 if it were possible!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moogharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this inn as part of an antique car tour, so we were a pretty big group. The check-in process went very smoothly, and our room was clean and ready. Since most of the tour participants (ourselves included) trailered our antique vehicles, there was ample parking for the cars and trailers. The staff was helpful and friendly. The location was perfect for all of our tours that week, and we loved being next to Pea Soup Andersen Restaurant (yum!). The continental breakfast was okay, too-- nothing big, but enough to get us to lunch. Overall, we had a great experience and would definitely stay there again. If you want to do the wine country, Solvang, etc., this inn is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrmyr971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Pea Soup Andersen's Inn was a very nice place to stay not far from the joyful town of Solvang. The rooms were clean and very nice, and the staff gave us a quiet, upstairs room toward the back. If you want to visit Solvang and save a little money and avoid some of the crowds of staying right in town, I would recommend this place because it is only a short drive up the road to Solvang. There are restaurants, grocery, and gas nearby. We did not have the continental breakfast because I was more interested in checking out the local restaurants (we were appreciative of the coupon given to us on check-in to use at the onsite restaurant). Overall, this motel was a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
3.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pea Soup Andersen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Property: Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Address: 51 E Hwy 246, Buellton, CA 93427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pea Soup Andersen's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Pea Soup Andersen's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pea Soup Andersen`s Hotel Buellton
Best Western Hotel Buellton
Best Western Buellton
Buellton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing