We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice and would definetly stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Certificate of Excellence
AZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice and would definetly stay again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Very clean and updated bedding and linens. Stayed two different times, quiet clean and great price. Didn't use the pool, but it was sparkling.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liv2trvl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynn069, Manager at Pea Soup Andersen's Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you for the kind words and so look forward to return to Santa Ynez Valley, and especially to the Inn. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    187
    75
    12
    6
See reviews for
113
148
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We were looking for basic accommodations for one night on the road, nothing fancy, but clean, quiet and a good bed. This fully filled the bill. There is also a decent sized pool which was great for families with children. Ask for an upstairs room and you will have two chairs and a small table on a balcony. The breakfast is very limited - muffins and so-so coffee, but rooms have microwave ovens and fridges, so you can bring yogurt, etc. if you plan ahead. All in all a good alternative to more expensive places in Solvang to see the area.

Room Tip: Ask for an unstairs room, facing west if you arrive in the afternoon and would like some sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

My husband and I were doing a little sightseeing in the area over the 4th of July week-end. We stayed at Pea Soup's on Saturday night July 2. We checked out Sunday morning thinking the free continental breakfast was the worst part of the stay. (it was bad) We both started itching and scratching and sure enough we had the tell tale clustering straight line bites all over us. We called the hotel manager to alert them. She said they had not had any problems before and that she would go check the room and call us back...well we never heard from her. Our Dr confirmed bed bug bites and Orkin checked our house...none there and Orkin treated our luggage. Those bugs had to come from the hotel. Be aware!!! The bites are awful!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LLJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Irwin, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Initially I was hesitant to stay here as it looked a little run-down while viewing online. Also, it's called Pea Soup Andersen's which just seemed weird, but after researching other options and reading reviews I decided to give it a go. My husband and I are both glad we took a chance. The hotel is really more of a motel and you certainly will not confuse it with a resort, but it was very clean, the rooms were spacious and it is incredibly convenient to winery hopping. The hotel has a nice pool, hot tub and even a laundry room if you find yourself in need of running a quick load. There is no breakfast, save for some juice, coffee and pastry, but there are two really great breakfast places within walking distance (Ellen's and Mother Hubbard's).

If you are looking for a home-base, so to speak, to drop your bags and sleep comfortably between wineries and eating this is a great place. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 32litgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Not bad for the price. I can see that the rooms have been somewhat remodeled, but our room still had the tube TV compared to the flat screen that was in our room. I just felt fortunate to get a last minute room for a Saturday night at a decent price...so the nice clean rooms were a bonus.

The free breakfast was just baked goods and coffee, but that was fine enough for us. I would recommend walking next door to pick up a cup of split pea soup instead.

I would also recommend getting a room on the second floor. The ceilings are thin so we heard all the walking that was going on upstairs. Also, it can get chilly at night, so you might want to close the windows above the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimmykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Cute Danish theme but it ends there...
Pros:
-cute theme
-large room
-Clean sheets
-Next to Slovang
Cons:
-Dirty rooms (hair in bathroom, soap wrappers left in shower and brown splatters left on bathroom wall)
-Loud, you can hear other guests
-Slow wired internet
-ancient appliances
-Bad coffee and horrible breakfast (no fruit available)
-way over priced

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

I have stayed at this motel at least three times in the past year and I would recommend Pea Soup Andersen's to anyone. If you're in the area for wine tasting, it's centrally located to the Lompoc wine ghetto, and the wineries in Santa Rita Hills and Santa Ynez. This is my "go to" hotel when I want something nice but inexpensive for a 3-day weekend.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
0.1 mi away
Sideways Inn
Sideways Inn
#4 of 8 in Buellton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
3.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pea Soup Andersen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Property: Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Address: 51 E Hwy 246, Buellton, CA 93427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pea Soup Andersen's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pea Soup Andersen's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pea Soup Andersen`s Hotel Buellton
Best Western Hotel Buellton
Best Western Buellton
Buellton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing