We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great little oddity”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ostrich Land

Ostrich Land
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: OstrichLand
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
251 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“great little oddity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place is interesting and entertaining for the kids and adults alike. As a mom, I mostly appreciated the small fee that is required. ...there are way too many things to do with Big fees. They are such weird creatures and being able to see them up close is fun.
I came here years ago when it was owned by another family...they were nice and eager to share their knowledge... The new owner would answer our questions but not much else. It just seemed to me that with a little more effort this place could really come up a notch. It's like a gift shop full of all things garish and ostrich with a back door that leads to the good part (the birds themselves) but none of it really seems like it's geared to make sure you enjoy your visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank motherHEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    110
    32
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
372 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

As many times that I have driven up to this area, either to visit Solvang or go wine tasting, I never knew about this place and it happen to catch our eye.

They have ostriches and emus, and for a small fee you can get a tray of food to feed to them. It was so much fun for everyone and will gladly do it again and highly recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DiabloDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just what it says”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Ostriches are interesting. Watching someone in your group try to feed them is funny. Imagining they are dinosaurs makes the time spent memorable! Like other reviewers have said, the girl who works there isnt very personable. The guy is very knowledgeable but still probably likes hanging out with the birds more than tourists.
Ive been to the farm a few times. Every time after the first was for the funny photos of family members trying to feed the dinosaurs and getting chaced down the corridors! Go for that reason if nothing else. Be sure to be ready with your camera or better video camera.

Helpful?
1 Thank Vanghus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“what a crazy blast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

this was so much fun and i found an awesome purse for a great deal. the ostriches are funny and cute and much more aggressive than we expected but very fun.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth It If Curious About Big Birds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is not a place where you can spend an hour of time observing the wildlife. A fifteen minutes will be enough to walk through the whole place.

I never go to zoos. Caged animals are not my thing, but since I look a bit like an ostrich myself and since the website claims that they don't grow the animals for meat, we decided to pay a visit.

The staff at the store where you also buy tickets ($4 adult, $1 child) weren't particularly friendly. I grabbed a wrong thing of animal feed and the clerk kept repeating to take a feed scoop of the shelf in a monotone, near robotic chant without saying "Excuse me" or "Sir." I didn't even realize the salesperson was talking to me at first.

They sell ostrich jerky at the store. The website claims it comes from another place which very well may be true, but animal lovers may find that a bit off putting.

Tip: the birds are aggressive and fast eaters. The feed sells for $1 a bowl. Get a few bowls. They can eat one in little over a minute.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lazybum02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ostrich Land also viewed

 

Been to Ostrich Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing